Rocks Vrs. Marbles


Rocks Vrs. Marbles

Did you play with rocks as a child?  Did you use them for stacking to build a wall for a fort, or did you search for the perfect flat stone for skipping across the lake?  If you’re a girl, they most likely turn into some fancy dish on the menu for an imaginary family’s evening meal.  There was wonderful contentment with the rocks in my hand until the day I found a marble in the middle of them.  It was like I uncovered a magnificent buried treasure dropped long ago by a pirate as he carried his box of jewels away from his latest siege.  As I picked up the marble to dust it off, my eyes and heart skipped with amazement.  In the polishing process I saw many beautiful colors and layers unfolding.  Holding the marble up to the sun, I discovered a whole new array of colors dancing in the center.

From the pile of dirt the marble is found in to the hands of the adventurous child, there’s wonder and excitement in finding this gem.  It’s quickly spit shined and vigorously polished and scrubbed until all can see the rare find.  This is not just a mere rock to be tossed into the river.  No, this one is different.  This one is tried and tested as the embedded earth is chipped away and it’s splendor is revealed.  It’s carefully washed in the pure water of the flowing stream.  It’s then cradled in the palm of the of the one who’s heart leaps with joy as it’s carried home.  The marble gains a place in the child’s room and heart the rocks never could.

What causes a child’s heart to treasure this unique little stone?  What eyes does he or she see through?  Maybe, if just for a moment, they’ve gained the eyes of our heavenly Father?   Could this be how God views us?  At first glance we appear as every other rock, but God in His love and zeal for us knows there’s much more there than a dirty stone.  There’s a beauty hidden underneath.  So He chips and scrapes and allows the heat from being in His presence to cause the beauty to shine.  Awww…  This is the way it was intended to be, He says with a smile.  He purges the effects the world has had on us then holds us up to The Son.  Many will look his direction with His light shinning through us.

I remember my mom coming home with a shiny new bag of marbles.  To this day I still do not know how to play the game.  I took all my time searching each one for it’s own rainbow of colors.  Not one was the same but all were beautiful.  I don’t fully remember what the trade off was that day but I never went back to the pile of rocks.  I now held in my hands something of great value.

How often do we refuse to trade our old for God’s new?  He wants to take our pile of rocks and replace them with something beautiful.  Something that will cause our eyes to dance and bring lasting joy to our heart.  How can He give us this hope if our hands are full of plain ole rocks?  We cling to what we already posses but if we will learn to trust Him and allow Him to cleanse our hands of the old, He will hand us a life full of wonder and color.

Dear God,
Do not let the spirit of fear keep me from all You have for me.  I want to surrender my pile of rocks.  I want to surrender the things and thoughts I have acquired for the life You’ve established long ago for me.  Help me.  Show me how.  Protect me.  Lead the way.

“To console those who mourn in Zion, To give them beauty for ashes, The oil of joy for mourning, The garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; That they may be called trees of righteousness, The planting of the LORD, that He may be glorified.” ~Isa. 61:3

If we do not surrender our ashes how can we grab hold of the beauty?

Shannan Parker
8/30/2009

6 Comments

  1. Rob said,

    09/12/2009 at 11:50

    Awesome Shannan!
    We feel more like Charlie Brown at halloween (all I got was a bag full of rocks) than King Soloman. But that’s the trade God wants to make with us, if we’ll just accept it. Thats the hard part, accepting it.
    thanks for this post Shannan, brought me back to “playin with marble days.”

  2. 09/12/2009 at 11:50

    praise GOD THIS IS SO POWERFULL. GOD IS A AWSOME GOD!!!

  3. kimberlywenger said,

    09/14/2009 at 11:50

    I’m so happy that you’ve finally started a blog! WooHoo! Wonderful first post. 🙂

  4. Gary Wallbaum said,

    10/16/2009 at 11:50

    Wow. Before I could read your blog, I was stopped by the title. What a foundational truth. We’re going to have take the time to digest what you said.
    …so personal and revealing… and so full of insight into the ‘truths’ of life. Thank you for letting us see into your precious life. May God richly reward you.

    We love and appreciate you,
    G&B

  5. DrT said,

    01/13/2012 at 11:50

    I was trying to find the ‘about’ page. I just wanted to say howdy and to let you know the gravatar pic you chose is really fantastic, you can see the light of God shining right through you.

    • 01/15/2012 at 11:50

      Sorry DrT. I’m a little slow at the “about me” page. I figure I tell all as I write each blog. I did just attach a link to a brief testimony on YouTube. Thank you for the kind compliment, it is the greatest I can receive – Christ being seen in me.


Leave a Reply

