COCOON TO FLIGHT 2/19/2009


COCOON TO FLIGHT 2/19/2009


Romans 12:2

“Do not be conformed to the patterns of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.”

I’ve learned today the Greek word for transformed is metamorphoo.  It’s closely related to the English word metamorphosis.

The word metamorphoo (0r Metamorphosis) makes me think of the process in which the crawling caterpillar becomes the beautiful butterfly.  The butterfly no longer has to crawl and wiggle it’s way through life, but now it can truly fly.  It doesn’t have to wonder any longer what it must be like to soar upon the wind like the birds of the air nor dream of a day when he doesn’t have to taste the dirt from the ground on his lips.

I wonder if this caterpillar fights the cocooning stage the way we fight growing up?  Does he delay the process as long as he can to stay a caterpillar for one more day?  Or does he trust the God who created him so absolutely that he anticipates the day God envelopes him and rearranges his very being?  No doubt being confined and isolated to that little sack is lonely.  Then add the discomfort of the complete remolding, reconstruction, andreworking of life as he’s always known it.

During the chrysalis or metamorphosis, the young caterpillar’s existence is put to death.  All the while there’s a new life,a new purpose in the works for this tender little being.  The caterpillar is strong and uses many muscles.  He has a mouth to chew on leaves and vegetation for food and a digestive system to comply.  When he is transformed to be a butterfly, all that changes completely.  Now he has a long snout like a trunk to suck and feed on honey.  He literally becomes a new creation.

There’s a deep sense in me that feels this is what my trip to France is all about.  I’m isolated and alone.  I’m in a foreign country where I cannot speak a word of the language with the exception of a sad attempt at a hello, thank you and a good bye.  It’s been raining the last two days so I am confined to my room.  No TV, no cell phone, and for the most part no internet.  Just me and silence.  Quiet is unknown to me.

I have moments of anxiousness and discomfort or, to be completely honest, the silence screams at me.  I can’t get up and clean to tuck away emotions.  I cannot call a friend and I can’t run home to my familiar bubble, but I have a greater gift to unwrap here than anything I can create on my own.  I am becoming more and more aware of God and His love for me.  I am in awe to the fact thatHe wants me to love Him back.  He loves to hear my voice and listen to my silly requests.  They’re not silly to Him.  I have had my life striped to nothing, yet I am more blessed than the wealthiest of men.  I am pursued, I am wooed, I am loved by God Himself.

The first night here I cried as I laid my head on my pillow.  I chose at that moment to be real with my emotions of feeling totally alone.  I took my heart again and handed it to God for His protection.  I asked Him to guard it and keep it until He felt it safe to give away.  I then asked God to hold me while I slept.  Some of you may think I’m crazy, but in that moment God wrapped His strong arms around me and I slept.  I slept like I never do, soundly for 11 1/2 hours!  I never heard the traffic on the street or the other guests in the hotel starting their new day.  God gave me rest like only He can.  He’s so good to me.

The last two days have been amazing in this cocoon.  Digging deep into emotions has caused some very tender spots to be brought to light and nursed.  God’s voice is quick to respond, “I am here.  I have called you to this place, not to cause you harm but to restore the broken places.”

Dear God,
“Thank You for seeing me.  For loving me.  For growing and allowing me to become the woman You’ve created me to be.  Transform me.  Metamorphoo me by Your Holy Spirit.”

Is this my cocoon?  No doubt one of many, but can I possibly come through this as God’s beauty and free to fly?  If I allow Him to have His way, maybe I can have the privilege of somehow reflecting His amazing glory and character?  Like the tadpole who changes into the bullfrog: once he inhaled the murky water of the pond but gave it up to allow the God of all creation to have His way.  Now the strong bullfrog is free to breathe deep the fresh air.

2 Cor. 3:17-18

“Now the Lord is the Spirit; and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is liberty, (Freedom).  But we all, with unveiled face, beholding as in a mirror the glory of the Lord, are being transformed, (Metamophoo) into the same imagefrom glory to glory, just as by the Spirit of the Lord.”

I don’t want to just get by in my walk with Christ.  I want to truly know God.  I want Him to transform my mind and heart.  I want Him to lead me to His truth.  After all, if we are called to love God with all our heart soul and mind and to love our neighbor as ourselves, how can we if Love Himself does not dwell in us?

Shannan Parker

2/19/2009

2 Comments

  1. MOM said,

    09/23/2009 at 11:50

    I like you writeup, There is a lot of meaning to what you wrote. God does have His hand on you. Love You

  2. 08/17/2011 at 11:50

    […] I will set my mind on all the victories I’ve tasted today.  He holds tomorrow.  Will I be transformed in twelve weeks?  I hope so, but the transformation will certainly not be […]


