My Birthday Thanks!


My Birthday Thanks!
(Oct. 9, 2009)

Oct. 9th was a date I was not looking forward to this year.  Are you ready for this?  Brace yourself now because I’m only going to say this once.  This is the day I turned 34.  Okay, from now on you know me as forever 29, Ha!  I was struggling with this approaching day for a couple of months.  I had no explanation for the thing that was affecting me most about it, but for some reason I dreaded the fact that I was turning the age Warren was when he was killed.  I do not think I’m going to die anytime soon or feel something bad is going to happen, it just really bothered me.  That is, until my trip to France.

I’ve written a whole lot more about this, but I’ll save all the details for a latter time to make this update much shorter than the last few.  I’ll fill in the blanks in my book.  I will say this, I am free from the weight that has had me pinned down for so long.  God took me on an adventure with Him in a foreign country and whispered so many promises to my heart.  I can finally say, I trust Him!  It’s not only a trusting in my mind, but my heart truly knows He is my Abba Father who, like any good father, wants to see His daughter smile.  He has given me joy that can only come from Him.  I celebrate my birthday with a grateful heart.  I have this day as a gift, and in this day God has me and takes care of me.  He has given me incredible friends who love me just because I’m me, yet they offer encouragement that I might be a better me tomorrow.  I have no words that can truly describe my thankful heart. I have the most amazing friends; no, family! I retain riches far beyond the worlds monetary wealth. You all are priceless and I love each of you dearly. Before France, I dreaded this day for the things I lack, but today I celebrate with joy for the treasures I possess.

I am happy.

Shannan Parker
Shannanparker.wordpress.com
Also visit me on Facebook

1 Comment

  1. 10/19/2009 at 11:50

    I had no idea it was your birthday! GOD BLESS YOU!!!!!


Leave a Reply

