Release Your Loaves & Fish


https://i1.wp.com/www.flyfishusa.com/newsletter/040206/chris-170-tarpon.jpg

A little faith mixed with a little action, goes a long way.

John 6:1-14 Jesus feeds the 5000

The more I read the more I see God usually calls for an act of faith before He moves, provides, heals, or delivers – whatever the need.  As I read John 6 this morning, once again this stands out to me.

First of all, Jesus already knew what He was going to do, but He asked His disciples to do something peculiar anyway.  Jesus asked the disciples to start passing out the bread and fish He had just divided among themselves.  So you’re sitting there with your portion of food, staring into a sea of 5000 hungry men, and Jesus says to you, “Go feed them.”  What?  Where do I begin?  Who do I give the food to first because the one I don’t give it to might just kill me.  This would probably be my thinking at this particular moment, but in an act of faith, or possibly a “what other option do we have?” mentality, the disciples chose to obey and the multitude were fed and filled.  Not only did the crowd physically eat, but they saw what Jesus had done and they believed and were saved.

I’m amazed at Andrew’s faith in verse 9:  “There is a lad here who has five barley loaves and two fish!”  I bet he said this with great excitement.  Then, he realized how that sounded and fell back into human logic, “but what are they among so many?”  How often do we do this?  We get excited with hope and then rationalize it away.  Still, that seed of faith must have been present to even have these words spoken.  I wonder if Jesus smiled at Andrew as He said these next words, “Make the people sit down.”  The disciples might have laughed internally at Andrew for such an absurd statement, but I think after Andrew saw the miracle of those five loaves and two fish feeding all those people, his faith also increased.  I think the next time he needed God to do the impossible he remembered this moment and faith rose up in him.

It took just a seed of faith and an act of obedience to see all the bellies filled, the faith of the disciples increased, and a mass assembly eternally saved.  What a great tragedy that would have occurred had the disciples said no to Jesus’ seemingly silly request.

What has God asked of you lately?  Does it seem irrational?  Did hope arise but quickly get squashed by earthly logic?  What do you have to lose by handing out your portion of bread and fish?

So Jesus said to them, “Because of your unbelief; for assuredly, I say to you, if you have faith as a mustard seed, you will say to this mountain, ‘Move from here to there,’ and it will move; and nothing will be impossible for you.” ~Matthew 17:20

~Shannan Parker
copyright 10/21/2009

4 Comments

  1. Juliette Tuttobene said,

    01/24/2010 at 11:50

    So very true Shannan! This reminds me to focus not on the problem (aka the mountain) but to focus on the problem solver (aka the mountain mover)!
    Keep living it! Don’t stop!
    Juliette

    • shannanparker said,

      01/24/2010 at 11:50

      Thanks Juliette, We all need a reminder once in a while. I myself need them quite often! Email me an update on the last prayer request you sent me.

  2. 01/30/2010 at 11:50

    This is a great post, Shannan! I had a moment this morning of doubt in what I feel God calling me to do. Did God really say that? Who are you kidding?! I had to make a choice to silence the voice of doubt and remind myself that God doesn’t always make sense at the moment, but my job is to obey.

    • shannanparker said,

      01/30/2010 at 11:50

      I’m so glad Kimberly! My mind tries to sway me and get me off course often. I have to be reminded almost daily that God is in control and I don’t have to always understand Him. He is trustworthy. God sure is adventurous, here you go!


Leave a Reply

