I’m Speaking Easter Morning


http://heavenlyplaces.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/light-on-door-at-the-end-of-the-long-dark-catacom.jpg

On Easter Sunday morning I will be giving a brief testimony at my home church.

I was humbled when I was asked to share my story.  With the thoughts and prayers of speaking again, I have faced many emotions.  I know first hand the huge impact words spoken from such a platform can have.  We do have the power of life and death in our words.  With every wag of the tongue we can cause someone to hope or enable a victim to stay in a place of defeat.  We can lead a person to life, or we can drag them into a personal state of our own misery.  After all, we’ve heard and know to be true, that misery does love company.

Since early childhood there are many bends and twist to my story I could tell.  If I chose to, I could find a number of painful places to park my mind and give up.  I know many who would not blame me one bit if I did.  I also know many who would be glad to join me in this place.  But, why would I?  Why should I?

The most critical moments of decision-making are in the most excruciating times of pain.  It’s when I’m face down on the floor and left alone as the world continues to turn around me, that my next choice will either set my feet on a path of despair and destruction, or on a path of hope and life.  The times I feel I will never be able to find my way back up from the floor that has swallowed my tears, is the pivotal moment I must choose the path so narrow, the path least taken, I must choose to believe God’s every word.  God says He has a purpose and a plan for my life.  He tells me in Jeremiah 29:11, that plan is not to harm me but to give me a hope and a future.

I need to make a quick side note here.  What we feel and what we know will often war against each other.  The majority of the time, I must choose to walk in what I know, long before I experience the feelings of what I know is true.

I am 34 years old.  I have walked with God since the age of two.  I cannot recall one time God has not kept His word.  It’s sometimes hard to see Him in the middle of the storms we passed through, but when we choose that narrow road to trust Him over our emotions, He is always there to see we do not drown.

I am humbled that God would choose to trust me with this journey He’s granted me called life.  I am honored that He has opened a door and is allowing me the privilege to stand next to His Son, Jesus, on Easter Sunday morning.  What overwhelming emotions that rush through every fiber of my being just writing that.  Jesus is exactly why I can get back up off the floor.  He’s the reason I can stand in confidence that the best is yet to come in my life’s journey.  Just because the first half of life has faced such destructive storms, does not mean the second half will be the same.  Even if it did, God owes me nothing.  Standing in the shadow of the cross, in the light of His glory, in the victory of the empty tomb, fills me with wonderful hope and an abundance of peace that passes all understanding, for wherever He leads me.

I am only a small part of what will take place on Sunday morning.  I am thrilled to work with such a great team of leaders who have been seeking God’s guidance and strength for the church as a whole.  Please join us in prayer for this pivotal service.  We are praying for lost souls to come to Jesus, for chains of bondage to be broken, for healing, for restoration, for peace, for freedom.

What a beautiful way for God to vindicate Warren’s death, by snatching souls from the grip of the enemy!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwZqhx8eSN4

~Shannan Parker

Update:

I want to thank all of you who whispered a prayer for me.  Easter Sunday was a beautiful day, filled with an expectant hope.  I am so very honored to have been a part of such a powerful life changing service.

For those interested, you can now watch the service.
http://christchurchnashville.org/sermons.htm

“No more sorrow, No more pain…I Will Rise!” ~Chris Tomlin

He Makes All Things New!
Shannan

11 Comments

  1. annaldavis said,

    03/29/2010 at 11:50

    Thank you — this ministered to me!
    Anna

  2. Gary Wallbaum said,

    03/29/2010 at 11:50

    Amen to your last sentence. I love and hold onto the victory promise in Revelation 12:10-11 … “And I heard a loud voice in Heaven saying, ‘Now the salvation, and the power, and the kingdom of our God and the authority of His Christ have come, for the accuser of our brethren has been HAS BEEN THROWN DOWN, who accuses them before our God day and night.’ (11) ‘And they OVERCAME him because of the BLOOD OF THE LAMB, and BECAUSE OF THE WORD OF THEIR TESTIMONY(!) …

  3. Gary Wallbaum said,

    03/29/2010 at 11:50

    …SORRY, my computer will “enter” even when I’m not ready to! … to finish that thought… Your testimony on Sunday has the power of God’s promise backing you up. …And the enemy Will be defeated in the lives of many who hear it. We look forward to hearing, and we will pray for you this week as you prepare. I believe a corner in your life will be turned this Sunday. God bless you.

    • 03/30/2010 at 11:50

      Gary,
      Thank you for the awesome reminder! That scripture had faded from my thoughts. Your statement, “I believe a corner in your life will be turned this Sunday” is a confirmation to something said in another conversation. I believe this is true for many of us.

  4. Debi Hodge Betsill said,

    03/30/2010 at 11:50

    Shannon so wish I could be witness to your testimony on Easter Sunday, know that I will be praying that God’s power and authority be revealed through your story and that souls will be changed! As I said before…and as previously stated it is the most wonderful testimony and vindication of Warren’s death…oh death where is thy sting! Will be praying for strength, clarity of mind and the spirit of God to touch!

    • 03/30/2010 at 11:50

      You Are A Treasure Debi! Thank you for the sweet prayer. It is yet another confirmation that God hears my hearts request. God’s got us my friend!

    • Johnny Thompson said,

      04/01/2010 at 11:50

      Debi, You’ll be able to see it live through webcast or you can see it a few days later on this website.
      http://christchurchnashville.org/sermons.htm

  5. LaRolf McCoin said,

    05/06/2010 at 11:50

    Shannan: I have followed your blog here…and also as a friend on your facebook. I want to say how much your testimony means to our family. We first heard you and Warren in Abottsford, Canada at the Quartet Convention, just a very few months before Warren died. We were there with my sister and her husband…. and your trio ministered to us in such a powerful way. Just a few weeks after that convention, my sister’s daughter was tragically killed by an inattentive teen age driver. Our hearts were broken as we sought for answers……………..and, then Warren was taken from us also. We began following your writings as you began to express your innermost feelings…..letting us in on some of your most personal moments. AS WE WATCHED YOU BEGIN TO RISE TO THE TOP OF YOUR CIRCUMSTANCES, IT SHOWED US, AS A FAMILY, THAT WE COULD DO THE SAME. Praise GOD, He has answerd prayer for all of us. Shannan, Thank you for your wonderful testimony.

    • 05/26/2010 at 11:50

      LaRolf, I do remember you all talking with us at convention that year. Actually, you coming to us expressing how God used us that day gave us strength to continue on. To hear someone say they appreciated our heart of worship in a concert setting like convention, allowed us to see how God can work through any stage we stood on; no matter how limited our time was. This could turn into a whole other blog, so I will say this, thank you! Thank you for continuing to care for me and share your personal journey also. I am sorry for your loss. We both know that words cannot erase the sorrows of this life, but God does bring amazing joy through it all. He will restore that which the enemy has stolen.

      How is the teenage driver is doing?

  6. 01/02/2011 at 11:50

    […] I’m Speaking Easter Morning March 2010 10 comments 4 […]


Leave a Reply

