God Used Kermit The Frog To Teach Me Faith


For those of you who are asking, “Where is God, and does He even hear me when I pray?”  Here’s one of my childhood stories that, to my surprise, helped answer these questions – some 24 years later.

When I was a little girl about 7 or 8 years old, a friend and I traded toys for a while.  I cannot remember the toy I gave my friend but I got to have her Kermit The Frog doll.   My motherly instinct kicked in and I had grown very attached to Kermit, I carried him everywhere I went.  I took care of Kermit.  I dressed him, fed him, and even made sure he got enough sleep.  He was my friend.  I know, I know, it’s silly but at that age and time in my life that doll was a content and happy place.  Well, it came time that my friend and her family were getting ready to move away and we had to trade our toys back.  After I gave him back, I began to beg my mom every time we went to the store, “Mommy please!  Can I have a Kermit doll?”   I begged and I pleaded, asking my mom and God for that doll, but I never did get him.

The other day I met my friend, Suzie, for dinner to catch up on what’s been happening in our lives.  She brought with her a pink bag all pretty and overflowing with tissue paper.  It was my belated birthday gift.  Yes, you guessed it!  Inside that bag was an original 1974 Kermit The Frog!  I do not recall telling her that sorry, but somewhere in our conversations she held onto my childhood reflection and found me my Kermie!  What a precious heartfelt gift.

As I was driving home that night reflecting on the evening, I realized, God answered my prayer.  The prayer I prayed when I was just a little girl, God answered.  Being that I am now an adult, it may seem the answer came a whole lot too late, but I say, He was right on time!  The laughter and deep joy I received as Suzie and I sat at the table is a priceless memory.  Suzie gave me much more than a doll.  She gave me her sincere friendship and a reason to laugh.  God heard this little girl’s heart cry so many years ago, and He knew the exact moment I would need Kermit the most.

Sometimes we cannot understand why God won’t answer our prayers.  We get mad, depressed, and our emotions come all unglued because we can’t see past this moment.  We plead with God and barter with Him, and we try to tell Him what’s best.  In our deep emotions, we fail to remember that God knows all the little details and the road that lies ahead.  He’s already got it all figured out.  That’s what He told Warren, the third week of November, 2005, as he lay in bed thinking about what was to come in the new year.  Warren got up the next morning all excited.  He had a smile extending from ear to ear.  He said, “Honey!”  “God spoke to me last night!”  “Do you want to know what He said?”  I giggled from the animation and enthusiasm on his face and said, “Yes!” with much excitement because he had never heard God speak this way before.  Warren told me how he was having a hard time falling asleep with all the thoughts running through his head.  He was laying there, anxious, and God said to him, “Warren, Don’t worry.  I’ve got it all figured out.”  God sure did.  God already knew what was about to happen just over a month later.  God knew when I was a child praying for my Kermit doll that I would need to see Him answer my simple prayer some 24 years later.  I would need a reminder of how much He cares about the little things in order to remind me just how much He cares about the heavy issues today; even if I can’t yet see the answer.

I buckled Kermit in the back seat of my car, so each time I look in my rear-view mirror I will be reminded of God’s faithfulness.

Have Faith

Can you recall a time when God reminded you of His hand on your life?  Would you be willing to share it with me now?

I love you all!
~Shannan

2/02/2008

“To everything there is a season, a time for every purpose under heaven:” ~Ecclesiastes 3

6 Comments

  1. Brandt White said,

    05/26/2010 at 11:50

    Thanks Shannan, isn’t good to know that He cares about the little things. Long time, No see. Hope your doing well. We need a visit!(And Coads too)

    • 05/26/2010 at 11:50

      Brandt, I do miss you and Angie, and I cannot wait to meet my new niece 🙂 The youngest baby in my family just turned 16, so I must cradle that new little one of yours. Coady would LOVE to see you. He still sits at the feet of men in hopes of falling food, Ha!

  2. 05/26/2010 at 11:50

    When I was a teenager, there was a Christian music artist that I really admired. He was single and handsome and wrote amazing songs. I decided I watned to marry a man like him. When I started working at my church in Nashville, I found that artist attended the church. He was married then and my little crush was long gone, but I had the priveledge of getting to know him and his wife just a little. One day we were at an even together and when I left, he hugged me and kissed me on the cheek. It was such a little thing, but I felt like I’d gotten a kiss from God. Not that the guy is God or anything! But just that God knew that teenager crush, that I never thought I’d meet the man, much less go to his church! I didn’t “need” it, but I did feel like God cares about even the littlest things and He enjoyed blessing me that day.

    • 05/26/2010 at 11:50

      Kimberly, I love this story! I was about 5 years old when a guy who sang in my church kissed my cheek. I was in love! He promised me he’d wait for me to grow up so I could marry him. You can imagine my disappointment when he showed up with his wife a few years later. God made up for him though when He gave me Warren. So, I’m expecting God to really wow me with my future “blessing.” Hahaha!

  3. Paulette Webb said,

    07/10/2010 at 11:50

    Thanks for sharing this sweet story. You are an amazing lady!
    Once when I was very ill & feeling down, I prayed the Lord would put it on my husbands heart to pick me up some flowers while he was in town. I did not mention this to my husband. When my dh returned home w/o flowers, I sighed & told the Lord I must not need flowers to cheer me up after all. A few moments later a truck pulled in the neighbors drive way. My Husband asked the puzzled driver if he could help him find something. The driver said “yes, I am looking for a Paulette Webb – I have a delivery of flowers for her”. My husband still was unaware of my prayer when he came into our room with the flowers. God had put it on the heart of a dear friend a couple days earlier to send me flowers. I was overjoyed at God’s faithfulness, & my friend was also blessed when I shared with her “I know your name was on the card, but I have to tell you God sent me flowers”.
    In His Matchless Grace!
    Paulette

    • 07/13/2010 at 11:50

      Paulette,
      Thank you for taking the time to share this beautiful story. I Love it! If we hang on in the moments our hearts are weighted down with the sorrows of life, God does hug us at the most perfect moments. It’s amazing to know we are captivating to God. I pray He sends you flowers again real soon!

      Many God Hugs,
      Shannan


Leave a Reply

