Here’s Something To Grab Hold Of!


There are countless stories in God’s word that tell us the reality of His redemptive power.  He makes a way where there seems to be no human ability to overcome.  Paul and Silas were delivered by the hand of God from prison.  The mouths of lions were tamed and Daniel was released from their den.  Joseph was elevated from slavery and prison to second in command in Egypt, and barren women conceive children.  Shall I continue?  Thus far, as our church is reading through the Bible this year, we’ve seen waters part four times.  Twice so that the profits Elijah and Elisha could walk across on dry land, and twice for God to rescue the entire nation of Israel.

Water with Sunbeam

In 2 Kings 7:1-20, God caused the Syrian army to hear Chariots and the sound of horses coming after them when nothing was coming.  The Syrians dropped everything, fled their camp, and Samaria was saved from a famine by all that was left behind in the camp.  Samaria went from certain death to overflowing with abundance in a span of 24 hours.

Tell me, What is too big for God?

~Shannan

4 Comments

  1. 06/25/2010 at 11:50

    NOTHING! I’m still stuck on God making that ax head float… I mean, really? What was the big deal about losing an ax head? There was some money involved, but it wasn’t that big of a deal. Well, God did it anyway! Nothing, nothing, nothing is too big (or small) for God. 🙂 Now, where’s my job…? Ha!

    • 06/25/2010 at 11:50

      Just because He can! Ha! I love that God cares about the seemingly, “small” things too. Your Job is on it’s way. 🙂

  2. 06/25/2010 at 11:50

    I’m suddenly reminded of a song we sang in Sunday School. “I am so glad that our Father in Heaven, tells of His love in the book He has given. Wonderful things in the Bible, I see. This is the dearest, that ‘Jesus Loves Me.'” The chorus ends with, “Jesus Loves even me.”

    As I made the trip home from my weekend, I was also drawn to consider that this Most High God can’t be defeated. His position as Most High will be eternal but sustained by the fact that He is not simply all powerful, all knowing, and all present, but the truth that He is all loving and the epitome of Justice and judgment. The pattern of the perfect leader, the perfect judge, the perfect Lord, the perfect King is written in the scriptures and becomes just one more of the incomprehensible aspects of the God who never fails.

    And He knows our names! Thank you for sharing, always!

    • 06/25/2010 at 11:50

      The God of ALL creation pursues me/you! What beautiful poetry Royce. I don’t think I’ve heard a better description of the indescribable God. I love your heart, and I love that you’re my friend.


Leave a Reply

