Transforming!


https://i2.wp.com/www.free-background-wallpaper.com/images/Wallpapers1280/abstract/Coral-Abstract.jpg

Setting my human desires aside, but not ignoring them, I’d rather be transformed by the Holy Spirit to become more like Jesus.  What is more beautiful than people seeing Christ in you, before they see you?  Nothing!

I’d rather have Jesus than silver or gold;
I’d rather be His than have riches untold;
I’d rather have Jesus than houses or lands;
I’d rather be led by His nail-pierced hand,

Than to be the king of a vast domain,
Or be held in sin’s dread sway;
I’d rather have Jesus than anything
This world affords today.

I’d rather have Jesus than men’s applause;
I’d rather be faithful to His dear cause;
I’d rather have Jesus than worldwide fame;
I’d rather be true to His holy name,

He’s fairer than lilies of rarest bloom;
He’s sweeter than honey from out the comb;
He’s all that my hungering spirit needs;
I’d rather have Jesus and let Him lead

*Rhea F. Miller, 1922 Copyright: public domain

“But what things were gain to me, these I have counted loss for Christ. Yet indeed I also count all things loss for the excellence of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord, for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and count them as rubbish, that I may gain Christ and be found in Him, not having my own righteousness, which is from the law, but that which is through faith in Christ, the righteousness which is from God by faith; that I may know Him and the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings, being conformed to His death, if, by any means, I may attain to the resurrection from the dead.

I’m Pressing On!

Not that I have already attained, or am already perfected; but I press on, that I may lay hold of that for which Christ Jesus has also laid hold of me.  Brethren, I do not count myself to have apprehended; but one thing I do, forgetting those things which are behind and reaching forward to those things which are ahead, I press toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”  ~Phil. 3:7-15

~Shannan

3 Comments

  1. Clinton said,

    06/30/2010 at 11:50

    I like that poem’s what other people wrote praise the Lord, they are talking about our wonderful Lord Jesus Christ and saviour, I like what you wrote to Shannan, the title is called: I’m pressing On the verse found in Phil.3:7-15

    I think It is very good stay close God every day and tell others about Jesus, how to get saved, praise the Lord.

    Are still traveling and speaking to other people about Jesus Christ our Lord and saviour, I think it’s wonderful what you are doing Shannen, and what your doing right now too by email.

    your friend, Clinton & Loraine Erickson
    P.O. Box 1238
    Waynesboro,TN 38485.

    • 07/05/2010 at 11:50

      Clinton, Thank you for your kind words. I’m not still traveling, but I take every opportunity in my everyday life to share how faithful and good God is. I appreciate your continued prayers.

  2. Clinton said,

    07/05/2010 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan, this is Clinton & Loraine, I play the harp for the Lord every thursday mornin g when I take harp lessons by Amy Shafer she a born again
    christian young lady 25 years old, she loves the Lord, I have learned a lot from her, I have taken 215 lessons from since 2007 May 7th.

    I now a lot of gospel songs by heart, I have played a harp solo at church, and I sing once in a while, I plann on sing a solo real soon, and play another harp solo too, praise the Lord.

    This August were going to have a National Recital gospel music & Food, I don’t now just yet exact date It well be, my harp teacher plann to have this recital sometime in August, she’l let me know at the end of this month.

    everyone is invited to come to our Recital, that’s including you Shannan, this well be at the Free Life Christian Church on the left side on highway 13 near Linden,TN I well let you now exactly what part of August this Recital well be.

    I hope and pray that you can come to it Shannan, she doesn’t belong to that church, were just using that church building, It’s hard to fine a building in a small town that size.

    Pray for us that we’ll fine a church that’s close to home, we haven’t been going toi church a long time Shannan.

    My wife Loraine has a bad knee, it’s hard for her to walk up the steps, some of the churches have have 6 or 8 steps going up the front door when you go into a church, pray that we can fine a church that has just a few steps, thank you God bless you.

    Are you going to write a christian book real soon, let me now when you do, I would like to buy a copy from you, keep up the wonderful bt writing christian poems Shannan, and were still praying for you too, how is your sisters and brothers, and your mom and dad, are they all fine, their in our prayers too, and your ex husband mom and dad and their daughter are they all fine too, I haven’t herd from them a long time.

    And how is is that one christian lady you and Warren used to sing with and her husband are they all fine, have herd from them lately, have you herd from your ex motherlaw and fatherlaw and sisterlaw lately?

    I’m sorry hun, maybe I shouldn’t bother you with this Christian family, this might bring back memories to you Shannan, I’am so sorry, forgive me hannan.

    This all for now, love to hear from you Shannan, God bless you, we love you.
    Love,

    Clinton & Loraine and our (cat)


Leave a Reply

