Where and With Whom Does Our Value Lie?


“Starting out to make money is the greatest mistake in life.  Do what you feel you have a flair for doing, and if you are good enough at it, the money will come.” ~Greer Garson



https://i2.wp.com/www.publicdomainpictures.net/pictures/3000/nahled/1210-1242160343u74V.jpg

What's It Worth?

Title:

I really don’t know how I feel about this statement, true or not, but if your motive is simply to make money, what happens when the economy bottoms out?  What if we do face another great depression?  What if, like Job, everything is stripped away in a matter of minutes?  Or in my case, seconds?  Again, I hear the word “balance” here.  Job continued to stand because he was anchored in God, because of Job’s steadfast faith, God restored all that he lost and more.

Where and With Whom Does Our Value Lie?

I will be the first to admit I like nice things.  I even get that infamous momentary high when I do purchase something I like, but now, I am more aware than ever to the fact that things are fleeting.  I watch as a great number in our culture run themselves sick while trying to gain the next biggest and best of, whatever it is they think will fill the massive void in their soul.  I cannot allow myself to forget where I stood on January 8th ‘2006, at 4:00 AM.  I stood hollow and empty on a beautiful, custom-converted tour bus.  As I walked down the aisle and opened my huge, clothes-filled closet, my senses became mindful of the wealth my feet stood on.  I had a tour bus full of expensive clothing and expensive equipment.  Just a few hours before, this bus was the topic of envy as it was being polished at the truck wash.  So often I watched people’s faces as we pulled into a location.  I could almost see their dreams as the sunlit copper paint reflected back from the eyes that gazed upon it.  Then the questions came as we stepped off the bus, “What’s it like to travel and see so much?”  “What’s it like to live the good life?”  The more bold souls asked, “How much did you pay for that?”  Most always the questions were meant to be innocent and simply a moment for the one asking to escape their own reality.  The price to travel and possess such things was higher than I care to calculate, but the lives changed for eternity’s sake made the sacrifice priceless.

There I stood in the very early hours of a Sunday morning .  There I stood, having so much, yet just four hours before, I lost everything my heart possessed.  As I stared into the clothing, I turned to Angie, the third voice of the ‘Parker Trio,’ and said, “So What.”  I felt hollow and void, stripped to nothing.  A few hours before, at 11:50 PM, Warren step off the bus and was killed by a drunk driver.

Why am I telling this again?  I’m sharing for one reason this time:  I’m pleading with those who are being swayed by temporary highs and the world’s temptations to think before they act.  I include myself in this because I too am capable to fail at every angle.  I’m hearing more and more of couples divorcing because someone got bored, or didn’t feel like fighting for their marriage.  I watch as people sacrifice their family for more stuff, or the illusion of greener pastures on the other side of the fence.  Stuff will dissolve; love is what remains.

There is nothing wrong with having nice things.  I am abundantly blessed and have much more than I deserve, and I’m thankful for it all.  When Warren died, he did not take one thing with him.  He had only a suit on when we lowered him in his earthly grave.  What’s lasting is the memories of loving each other, and the great sense of accomplishment when we weathered our personal storms and came through them, more deeply in love because of them.

So I ask you these questions.  Where do you place your value?  What has you captivated?  Do you value the people in your life more than the stuff you posses?  Your actions will speak much louder than the verbal answer you give.

Try this.  Hold both hands out in front of you, palms up as if you are holding a weight in each hand.  Pretend your hands act as a scale for these two weights.  In one hand is God and all that His love has to offer.  In the other hand, you hold the temptation that tugs at you, addiction, lust, lying, covetousness; whatever your personal struggle may be.  As you look at both hands, and weigh the substance in your grip, make a choice!  Do you choose God and His love, or the temptation?  Ok, it is not always that easy when you’re faced with the emotional pull of this physical world and body.  Try asking yourself this question instead.  Which do you love more?  Do you love the temptation more than God?

That’s really all I have to say right now.

~Shannan

Where God leads me from here is His choosing, but if my passion to love deeper and have a peace-filled home comes from this tragedy, in the end, is it really all that tragic?

What I Treasure!

3 Comments

  1. Paulette Webb said,

    07/17/2010 at 11:50

    Thanks for the reminder Shannan of who and what is truely of value.
    My new grandsons – Yes!
    My search for the latest & gratest cell phone – Not so much!
    Living in the knowledge that I am beloved by my Lord & Savior – Priceless!!!

    • 07/23/2010 at 11:50

      Paulette, It’s breathtaking to know that God loves us so much that He is the One pursuing us.
      I hear ya on the cell phone search. I had a great old fashioned one that worked wonderfully, now – “Not so much!” Ha!
      Congratulations on your new grandson! I’m sure you will not be spoiling him at all ;o) There’s nothing like the laughter of a child.

  2. 08/28/2010 at 11:50

    […] blesses me with when it comes.  Dear God, help me never to lose sight of truth.  Help me to place value in it’s proper […]


Leave a Reply

