Manipulation!!!


The Web We Weave.

Manipulation is creating an illusion in order for one to gain something they think they want or want to happen.

Manipulation:
– control somebody or something: to control or influence somebody or something in an ingenious or devious way

– falsify something: to change or present something in a way that is false but personally advantageous

Manipulation is a web of lies.  So, are you a truth teller or a liar?  If a liar, then repent and stop it.  If a Christ follower, then choose today to walk in His ways.  Let’s get real.  Manipulation will bring greater pain to all involved and create a deeper pit for us to dwell in.  We manipulate because we want to gain, but true gain is found by living a life of truth.

If manipulation causes us to be liars, then does it also cause us to be thieves?  If we lie to someone, we rob them of the right to make an honest decision about their own life.  Their choices have now been swayed by our deceit and makes everything around the original lie also a lie – the web gets thinker.  We cause them to alter who they really are for our own selfish gain.  That makes us a liar, a thief, and self-seeking, the opposite of love.

Let’s choose to be people of integrity.

Ephesians 5

Walk in Love

Therefore be imitators of God as dear children. And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma.  But fornication and all uncleanness or covetousness, let it not even be named among you, as is fitting for saints; neither filthiness, nor foolish talking, nor coarse jesting, which are not fitting, but rather giving of thanks. For this you know, that no fornicator, unclean person, nor covetous man, who is an idolater, has any inheritance in the kingdom of Christ and God. Let no one deceive you with empty words, for because of these things the wrath of God comes upon the sons of disobedience. Therefore do not be partakers with them.

Walk in Light

For you were once darkness, but now you are light in the Lord. Walk as children of light (for the fruit of the Spirit is in all goodness, righteousness, and truth), finding out what is acceptable to the Lord. And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them. ~Eph. 5:1-11

To tell a half truth is to tell a complete lie!

~Shannan

12 Comments

  1. Jenn Sharpe said,

    07/31/2010 at 11:50

    Dear Shannon,
    This is such a great post! You go Girl! I recently had a friend come to me needing healing from an offense from her old church members who use manipulation as a tactic to gain control over their congregation. I am going to forward this encouragement and truth to her. I love Eph 5:11 that says, “And have no fellowship with the unfruitful works of darkness, but rather expose them.”

    • 08/10/2010 at 11:50

      Jenn, I know you were a sweet and gentle place for your friend to run to, I sure hope your friend is doing better. Thank you for sharing with me.

  2. Gary said,

    07/31/2010 at 11:50

    Shannon, I am reticent to post anything negative. But your post struck a nerve. My wife and I have been the recipients, ne: victims of manipulation that has costs us dearly. The manipulator(s) were able to gain our confidence by posing as “christians”. Then using/abusing our trust in them to, as your definition says,
    – falsify something: to change or present something in a way that is false but personally advantageous.- The costs to me and my family have been of high impact and even life altering. I know that my experiences are not unique, unfortunately. I sometimes wonder where we as a “Christian” body of believers could/would be, and what we could have accomplished for the kingdom of God,if we were not “eating” each other. The scripture verse regarding being as ‘wise as serpents and gentle as doves’ comes to mind. I think I/we need to concentrate a little more on the ‘wise’ part.

    • 08/10/2010 at 11:50

      Oh Gary! Unfortunately, I think few are exempt from this experience at some point in their lives. It’s sad that one feels the need to be so deceptive in order to feel fulfilled themselves. Their sense of gain will only be followed with a lifetime of fear grabbing at their heels. When wrongs are done to us, God is precious to carry us through and give us beauty for ashes.

      I thank you for sharing. If we never hear about the trial, we can never appreciate the good God brings after.

      At least we can choose to truly love.

  3. Clinton said,

    07/31/2010 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan, this is Clinton, I love that chapter and verse found in Ephesians
    5:11 that says and no fellowship with infruitful works of darkness, but rather reprove them.

    Praise the Lord what a verse.

    We told one of our friends name Velvet that we would pray for her, she the only that works in her family, her husband is unable to work, she is a born again Christian, and has thre children at home she has to support, she alway’s pray’s for us, and another friend said to us pray for me too, life Isn’t easy for me, we prayed for both of them early this evening.

    They both work at James & Sons Delie it’s eating place.

    We’v been praying for you too Shannan we all need that, we love you.
    Pray for me that my blood pressure well still down, just lately our 2nd door
    neighbor little son that’s 9 or 10 years old been riding a four wheel wheely, doen’t now about safty, I almost ran into him 2 times when I was driving my pickup he pulled out in front of me I stepted on my brakes keep from hitting him, I was 5 or 10 feet when I got stoped he was in front of me, this was closed Shannan.

    I told our next door neighbor a bout it, he said he would tell this child parents about this, since then this little boy hasen’t been driving the the wheely any more, praise the Lord about that, today my blood pressure is back to normal, I must of been shocked up over this child Shannan, I’v been praying for this family, I don’t now If they are saved, we need to get to now them, we haven’t been to their place yet, we need to interduse ourselves to
    them which we haven’t done that, pray that we get to now them, we don’t much about them yet.

    They do wave at me when I drive by their place, they must be friendly.

    I read what the other people wrote to this was very interesting what they said to you, praise the Lord.
    -Clinton & Loraine

    • 08/10/2010 at 11:50

      Clinton, I’m so glad the little one is ok and your blood pressure is stable again. I also thank you for your continued prayers. God is good and gracious to answer.

  4. Jodi davis said,

    08/01/2010 at 11:50

    wOW This is soooo what i am going through with someone thanks for this message love you dear friend

  5. 01/02/2011 at 11:50

    […] Manipulation!!! July 2010 8 comments 3 […]

  6. 02/21/2011 at 11:50

    […] what age were you?  Why are you still allowing them to silence you?  This is nothing more than a manipulative way of telling someone their thoughts are not worth […]

  7. 04/11/2011 at 11:50

    […] we allow ourself the room to manipulate on occasion, we will become masters at it year round.  We will deceive ourselves in the process […]

  8. 09/05/2013 at 11:50

    […] who offered her maid Hagar to her husband Abraham to obtain her promised son.  Sarah tried to manipulate God and therefore planted tainted seed.  Today we still are paying a high price for her […]


Leave a Reply

