Chapter 4 – Expect A Masterpiece!


“But people don’t need to follow the common path to be successful.  They need to follow their passion.”


It’s certainly not unheard of for a woman in our culture to want to be a care-giver to her husband and children, but it’s not “the common path” of our culture.  Often times I wonder what a powerful impact it would be on our society if children didn’t have to come home to an empty house everyday after school.  Is it truly a sacrifice to downsize the square footage of a house in order to allow a parent to stay home?  I know it’s not always an option, and I don’t want to sound critical of those who do not have the means to live this way.  My own mother is a very hard worker who had to help supported our family.  I just want to be able to meet my husband with support after a hard day at work, or to be the one who wipes the tears from my children’s eyes after they fell down and scraped their knee; not to hear about it from a nanny.  This is not meant to belittle, it’s just to state that I want to be my own children’s nanny.

Mommy With Her Treasure

I want to tap into Jesus so that I can be a safe place for my family, and others, when the world is cruel.  The only way to do this is to allow God to develop my skills and attitude.  I must realize my need for transformation.  I need God to transform my mind so that my heart can line up with His desire for me. Then, I must walk the path He illuminates under my feet.

I may not be loud and boisterous about the dream inside my heart, but I value my stay-power in the pursuit of it.  My future family is worth fighting for.  I must stay in love with them and not allow myself to be swayed by the temporary highs this world offers, or by what others think I should be.  I must overcome the fear of being different from others.

Father, I was lost and silent as a child.  Transform me today.  As an adult, I ask that You continue to make my heart leap with enthusiasm for You and my family.  Thank You that tragedy is not my story, but triumph and victory is my life’s song.  God, make it my heart’s desire to be all I need to be for my family; that they may walk in Your ways and grow close to You and each other.  Please fill me with Your love and teach me all I need to know to be all You’re calling me to be.  In Jesus Name, Amen!

“When love and skill work together, expect a masterpiece.” ~John Ruskin

Danish philosopher Soren Kierkegaard stated, “If I were to wish for anything, I should not wish for wealth and power, but for the passionate sense of potential, for the eyes which sees the potential.  Pleasure disappoints; possibilities never.”


~Shannan

I don’t want to go out and just get my dream.  I want to follow God’s lead, be the best I can be, and enjoy all God blesses me with when it comes.  Dear God, help me never to lose sight of truth.  Help me to place value in it’s proper place.

* ‘Put Your Dream To The Test’ ~John C. Maxwell

* Photo by Angie White, http://www.angie-white.com/

9 Comments

  1. Susan B. said,

    08/28/2010 at 11:50

    This is a great post! I was ripped to shreds by my peers for staying home in the ’80’s to raise my son because it meant we didn’t have anything left at the end of the month with only my husband working. I never understood why it was such a terrible thing to do according to my working friends. We did without a lot, certainly but for me it was worth it. now my son is 30 and we get along famously. Some kids do fantastically well with working moms but my son wasn’t one of them. I never missed the extras. I never once told the peers they shouldn’t work because I think such choices are personal. I have had a good life despite not having much “stuff”.

    • 08/30/2010 at 11:50

      Thank you for sharing your experience Susan. It’s harder for people to dismissed a testimony spoken from experience, than it is for them to accept the dreams of one who has yet to obtain. I believe you to be a very strong and courageous person for not letting the pressures of others sway your decision.

  2. Tracey Paris said,

    09/07/2010 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan…Hope all is well with you. I was so encouraged by your post…to dream a dream and expect Gods provisions….it is so refreshing to hear the desire of others hearts to stay home and be with the family….to desire the things of God. It has been my privilege to be self employeed I get to do the things God called me to as a MOM and WIFE but also I get the opportunity to help with the financial well being of our family. I thank GOD everyday that he gave me this opportunity and I was so blessed over the summer to have the time to spend making memories and enjoying Madison daily. Continue to dream big….GOD has an awesome plan for you and your future family. We love you tonnes…miss you and I personally am encouraged by your blog continually…thank you for sharing your heart and your journey with GOD.

    • 10/01/2010 at 11:50

      You are truly blessed Tracy, as well as your amazing family! All of you radiate God’s love in a way that is an example to everyone. Thank you for teaching me unconditional love through your life’s testimony also. Love you all dearly!

  3. Gary said,

    09/10/2010 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan, If I could paraphrase your question above, you asked how important is it to have a woman in the home. To paraphrase one of our nation’s enemies, Nikita Khrushchev in one of his famous quotes, “America can never be defeated unless and until we can break up the home and the family”. Our “homes” and a woman in the home, is foundational to our nation’s strength AND our national security. How’s that for important ? 🙂 Not to mention that a woman in the home is the foundation of a “civil” society.

    • 10/01/2010 at 11:50

      Gary, your insight and willingness to share is a wonderful college for me. I so very much appreciate you and Bonnie and pray God bless you abundantly. It sure would be nice if others would grab hold of this truth. Until then, let change begin in me 🙂

  4. 09/12/2010 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan, I think all of these people have some good thoughts about the Lord
    praise the Lord.

    God has a awesome plan for you and the rest of your family, your sisters and brothers, your mom and dad.
    We love you, we miss you and the good singing you use to do back in 2002 to
    2005.

    AM encouraged by your block, Thank you for your sharing your heart and your journey with God.

    The International recital Music and food well be September 23rd 5:P.M. at Free Life Christian Church 2 miles from Linden,TN come and watch me play my harp, I’ll well be presenting Sweden I’m making swedish cookies, the title of the gospel song Childfren of the Heavenly Father, then well eat after words., I well have a swedish flag with me it’s a small one, I well be waring
    yellow and blue , my shirt well be blue and my bowl tie or neck tie well be yellow that’s the color of the swedish flag.

    This well be on a thurday nite September 23rd, I hope you can make it , this recital is for everyone that wants to come and hear us play our harps, and their might be a few piano solos too Shannan, God bless you
    Clinton & Loraine

    • 10/01/2010 at 11:50

      I do hope all went well for you Clinton. One of my dearest friends was being ordained on the same evening, so I could not miss out on her great achievement.

      Blessings To You Both!

  5. 01/02/2011 at 11:50

    […] Chapter 4 – Expect A Masterpiece! August 2010 8 comments 5 […]


Leave a Reply

