Even Restoration Can Be Challenging!


October 1 ‘2010

“And the LORD restored Job’s losses when he prayed for his friends. Indeed the LORD gave Job twice as much as he had before.” – Job 42:10

I wonder how job felt in the transition from losing everything to restoration?  Was he afraid to hope?  Was he afraid to trust that good could be had again?

It seems lately everything is a whirlwind of happenings.  I’m not going to elaborate much on that, except to say, a whole lot has and is shifting in my life and the lives of many around me.  Change is not a bad thing, but it’s often scary to step away from familiar.

Take The Journey


The Definition of Familiar: Well known from long or close association, having a good knowledge of, having a close friendship with.

The one absolute truth I’ve come to realize over the years is: “familiar” is not always the best place to be.  Familiar can be a place where growth is stunted and stuck becomes its twin brother.  I grew up with alcoholism surrounding me.  This is not a familiar that is acceptable for my life, nor the lives of my future children.  Much of my life I listened to the spirit of fear telling me not to rock the boat, not to try, not to step forward because I may fail; what is, is, and what will be, will be.  What I didn’t realize, is that I already failed when I didn’t try.  My pastor made the statement this past Sunday, “If you aim for nothing, that’s exactly what you will hit.”  I don’t want to be nothing.

So the questions remain, what do I aim for and when?  Where do I go from here?  In the beginning of 2010, I reached for two goals and hit both of them by May.  Two things I never thought I could do, I did!  My third goal I set for this year is well underway and will be completed as we ring in 2011.  The summer heat has held me back in starting the purging of my garage, but this number four on my list will also find a line stroked through it by the close of what God has said would be, “The Year of Restoration.”  He’s not just repairing, He’s restoring!

I covet your continued prayers as I make the effort to press on, as I search for the path that is God’s perfect plan for me.  Each day I am faced with wrestling against the voices of “I can’t” in my mind.  God said, if I seek Him first, He would make the path straight and known to me.  Today, I continue to seek Him and stand with my hands open wide.  I pray the spirit of fear to be silenced and God’s perfect will be illuminated before me.  Then, I will step in His strength and in His confidence.  If I fail, at least I tried.

Oh,what I would do to have
the kind of faith it takes
To climb out of this boat I’m in
Onto the crashing waves
To step out of my comfort zone
Into the realm of the unknown
Where Jesus is,
And he’s holding out his hand

But the waves are calling out my name
and they laugh at me
Reminding me of all the times
I’ve tried before and failed
The waves they keep on telling me
time and time again
“Boy, you’ll never win,
You you’ll never win

But the Voice of truth tells me a different story
the Voice of truth says “do not be afraid!”
and the Voice of truth says “this is for My glory”
Out of all the voices calling out to me
I will choose to listen and believe the Voice of truth

Partial lyric, Casting Crowns – Mark Hall, Voice Of Truth lyrics © Sparrow Song; Club Zoo Music; Swecs Music; Peach Hill Songs; My Refuge Music

https://i0.wp.com/bioweb.uwlax.edu/bio203/s2007/taylor_andr/images/Osprey.jpg

How Do You Know You Can't Fly Until You Spread Your Wings?


Whatever Job went through in his transition, God was with Him and in full control.  God is bigger and stronger than my impossible.

Will you share with me a time when you stepped out and succeeded?  Or, share a time that you thought was a failure, only to discover later God’s divine guidance in altering your path.

~Shannan Parker

4 Comments

  1. 10/01/2010 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan, you got’s some wonderful thoughts about God, I agree Gos is full
    control, God is bigger and is stronger, praise the Lord Shannan, with out God’s
    help, and If I done every thing my way with out God I would be a failure, everything would go wrong for me,I must read God’s word and have prayer, before I do something early in the morning, then I’ll have a good day, and everything well go ok through the day praise the Lord, God is first before I do anything through the day.

    We had a good international recital music and food, I had some good commets about the song I played on my harp September 23rd thursday nite

    The title of the song was Children of the heavenly Father, my Harp teacher’s dad said that was one of his favorite gospel songs, he loved that song, he told me that I done a good job playing that gospel song, praise the Lord

    We love you Shannan God bless you
    Clinton& Loraine

  2. Sue B. said,

    10/03/2010 at 11:50

    O yes, my husband and I went through a time of failing in our business. No matter what we tried it failed….and failed…..and no one could figure out what we were doing wrong. It was a disaster on all fronts. But because of that failure we ended up nearly miraculously on an overseas mission field. That led us to seminary in our middle age where my husband found at last his true calling and is now ministering full time in 2 churches. Life went from horrific to fantastic, but it took 12 years for the healing and restoration to happen. We would tell anyone experiencing loss and apparent failure not to give up their reliance upon God to use what is man’s failure and transform it into God’s definition of success. Our God is an awesome God! All our prayers go with you.

    • 10/14/2010 at 11:50

      Sue, Thank you for your wisdom and sharing how God’s truth came through for you and your husband. “We would tell anyone experiencing loss and apparent failure not to give up their reliance upon God to use what is man’s failure and transform it into God’s definition of success.” God is never late and will never leave us in a place where there is no escape. He may not operate in our time frame, but He is always right on His time!

  3. Gary said,

    11/03/2010 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan.
    From William Shakespeare : “Our doubts are traitors, and make us lose the good we oft might win, by fearing to attempt.” Sometimes, when I’m most reluctant to step out I remind myself of the verse in Proverbs that says ” A man shall make his plans, but the Lord shall guide his footsteps”. Then ask myself, ‘how can God guide my footsteps if I don’t step out and start walking’?” I think fear is a tool of the enemy that he uses to steal from us God’s plan for our life.
    I believe I have learned more from failures than from my successes. It’s funny, but I think since I’ve learned to step out, I’ve come to a place in my life where I look forward to and embrace new things. It is so exciting to learn about the wonders of doing a new thing, going a new way, meeting new people, reading new books, and so many other new things. All of which God created for us to explore and enjoy.
    Shannan, this suggestion may sound a little strange, maybe a little drastic, but is working for me. And, I am better able to practice what I preach since the day I had a heart attack and nearly died. I don’t suggest that 🙂 – Here’s the suggestion- I wake up in the morning and ask myself how I will go about my day and what will I do today knowing that today could be the last day of my life. The question then for each of us is: How do we know it’s not?
    Since adopting this attitude, I’ve found I have little to no fear of anything and I cherish each moment, each breath, each beautiful thing I see or touch. I am so grateful to God for allowing me to live to see another day that fear can have no place in my day.
    Trust Him. He will take you places you’ve never even dreamed of. He loves you. Gary


Leave a Reply

