A Mailbox Hug!


Why do I worry about what one thinks of me when I am loved by many?

I opened up my mailbox today and pulled out three different envelopes from the same amazing family.  I’ve only gotten to truly know them over the last few months but have developed a special bond with each member of this family of four.  The oldest of the two children asked if I could be adopted as their big sister, but since I’m only a couple years younger than his mom, we all agreed that my official title can be, Aunt Shannan.  To be given such a space in this beautiful family is an honor.  They have loved me beyond the call of duty.

Let me share with you some of their love…

Thank You God for taking me to the painful places of my life, making me face them, tearing down my walls, and healing the brokenness, so that I can see and appreciate all the genuine and incredible people You’ve placed along my path.

Over the next little while, I’m going to write more about the walls I had built.  I’m going to explain why this self-protection is so damaging.  I pray that all who read this will find strength and courage to face their own repressed emotions, and come to a place that will allow them to let others love them.

If I open myself up and allow others in, I may face the possibility of rejection by some, but I will also have the assurance that I will be accepted by others.

The pain of disappointment is only temporal, but Love’s touch is eternal.

~Shannan

6 Comments

  1. Michelle said,

    01/04/2011 at 11:50

    Shannan, You are a special person that is loved by many. You have many great gifts to offer as well! What a blessing it is to know you! 🙂

    • 01/04/2011 at 11:50

      Michelle, you always fill my days with life-giving words. Thank You. I have been richly blessed since our introduction!!

  2. 01/04/2011 at 11:50

    “If I open myself up and allow others in, I may face the possibility of rejection by some, but I will also have the assurance that I will be accepted by others.

    The pain of disappointment is only temporal, but Love’s touch is eternal.”

    That completely sums it up! You are treasured my friend! And you ARE indeed a writer! Looking forward to reading more!

    • 01/04/2011 at 11:50

      Thank You PJ, You equally inspire me. I say we get it all out now because the place from which we write is soon going to change ;o) All for the better!

  3. Bob Teeple said,

    01/05/2011 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan, this is very inspirational, and I’m sure you will have great success in tearing down walls and breaking through barriers. Have a great New Year.

    Bob


Leave a Reply

