Just ONE BREATH Away From Goodnight


I just found out yet another precious one from the Gospel Music Industry has gone home way too young.  Susan Unthank, founder and Editor-In-Chief of AbsolutelyGospel.com, passed away this morning, January 5, 2011.  You can read more about Susan by clicking on this link, (Susan Unthank, 1955 – 2011)

Fly Away Home!

I hear people say so often, “I’m young.  I have my whole life ahead of me.”  Really?  No one is promised tomorrow.

“whereas you do not know what will happen tomorrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapor that appears for a little time and then vanishes away.” – James 4:14


They Are Home:

Words and music by Warren Parker, Parker Publishing / SOCAN, BMI

1st Verse:

In my lifetime I’ve had loved ones, laid to rest too soon

Young and old, it doesn’t matter, cause no one is immune

For life is just a season and it will surely pass away

But those who are God’s children

They will meet again someday

Chorus:

For they are home, sitting at the feet of Jesus

No more sickness, pain or death, will ever be known

And one day soon, we will join our hands together

As we’re gathered singing praises ’round the throne

And we’ll walk the street of gold

With our loved ones we’ll behold

The glory of the Lord forevermore

But for now, tears of joy come streaming down

Cause I know, they are home

2nd Verse:

Now it only seems like yesterday since we laughed and shed some tears

And I still awake some mornings crying, for I know that you’re not here

Oh but Lord You have reminded me, this is not goodbye, just goodnight

And now I know that glorious morning’s coming

When again we will unite

…..cause I know, THEY ARE HOME.


We’re all just one breath away from our eternal home.  If this were your last day on this earth, what would you do differently?  Who would you spend more time with, instead of working the extra hours?  Who would you share the most sincere parts of your heart with?  Would you choose to love one deeper, instead of always keeping them at a safe distance?  Is there anyone, that if they were taken from your life today, that you’d sorrow over for words left unspoken?  If so, choose to change what would cause regret before you taste its grievous sting.

Please say a prayer of comfort for the Unthank family.  These precious people were a tremendous support to me when my husband, Warren Parker, was tragically killed in January 2006.  May the Lord bless them double for the kindness they’ve extended toward me.

~Shannan

6 Comments

  1. Tracey Paris said,

    01/06/2011 at 11:50

    The Unthank family is in our prayers as are you! We love you and miss you may Gods arms of love, peace, hope and Joy wrap around you today!
    Many Blessings
    Tracey

    • 01/06/2011 at 11:50

      Thanks Tracy, I miss you tons! It seems to be a tough season but I know God’s plan is beautiful.

  2. Zoraida said,

    01/06/2011 at 11:50

    Hello Shannon,
    I am suscribed to your blog, but had to comment on this post since, as you know, my brother was killed tragically, taken much too soon. Anyway, It is a pity I didn’t have the lyrics to that song last night when about 20 of us met to Celebrate Anthony on what would have been his 29th birthday. I will print this blog out though and give a copy to my mother, Elisa, and sister in law, Jennifer.
    Bless you Shannon for your many words of wisdom. I keep praying for your life dream to come true.
    Z

    • 01/06/2011 at 11:50

      Bless your heart. If I remember correctly, Anthony’s death is about a year after Warren was killed? Please give your mom my love and a big hug. I’ll see if I have another copy of that song here. If so, I will get a copy to you. Thank you for your continued prayers.
      Much Love! ~Sha

  3. Juliette said,

    01/06/2011 at 11:50

    These words were exactly what I needed to hear today. I’ve become estranged to my family in CA for lack of communication. The Lord has really been showing me things I need to do to change that. I refuse to stare in a coffin one day and feel guilty that I did not try to have a relationship with my loved one(s). God is big enough to change me, I am willing!

    Thanks Shannan!

    • 01/06/2011 at 11:50

      Oh Juliette, Thank you so much for sharing this with me. It’s testimonies like this that allow me to see I’m here for a greater purpose than I realize. Sometimes it’s hard to feel like I’m making an eternal difference simply by sitting on this side of the computer. God bless you, give you courage, and fill you with His joy as you being to reach out again.


Leave a Reply

