Do You Want To Know Where To Find A Diamond?


It’s hard to believe that five years has past since my husband, Warren’s, sudden death.  At the same time, it also feels like my life as Warren’s wife was a whole other life-time ago.  This day does cause my mind to think about what might have been had he not been killed, but it also causes me to say with the deepest gratitude, Thank You God!

I often tell people, I have been loved in a way that many will never get to experience.  Warren was far from perfect, but his adoration for God allowed him to love me with tenderness.

What I want to acknowledge in writing today, is not so much the might have been(s), but I want to give thanks for what the painful moments have birthed in me.  Though I have faced great sorrow from loving and losing, I’ve also been gifted with a far greater joy than the pain.

Click On Photo To View News Clip

 

The day before the funeral, I stood for 6 plus hours as people came from all over to share their love for me and Warren.  The line was wrapped around the entire church and backed for an hours wait outside the doors.  People I knew and many I failed to recognize came in support.

The next morning the church was packed wall to wall with people.  As I stood to speak, I could see the news media lined along the back wall and all their camera’s had red lights lit up to show they were in record mode.  Following the memorial service we all filtered in our appointed vehicles to make our way to the grave site.  It was all so surreal.  I looked out the window of the limo to see the Ontario Provincial Police (O.P.P) standing tall, saluting as Warren passed by them.  I’m told there was three miles worth of cars that followed behind.

Not once did I hear people say how impressed they were with the stage and lights we stood on, but instead I heard countless testimonies of their personal one on one contact with Warren.  I wasn’t surprised at how his kindness was offered so freely to them, but I was shocked to hear of so many moments he’d never told me about.  He didn’t see his caring heart for others as anything out of the ordinary.  This procession proves how a small act of kindness can have the greatest of impact.

I am abundantly blessed!

For only being 35 years old, I have a huge archive of sweet memories.  Many of you do not know my childhood story.  My goal is to write more on this topic in the months ahead.  This life’s journey is a series of storms, no doubt, but we need to remember that God speaks peace to the storms.  He places His rainbow in the sky as a reminder that He keeps His promises, (Gen.  9:8-17).  Legend has it that at the end of each rainbow is a pot of gold, but in the legend I have yet to hear that anyone ever receive it.  I am here to tell you that God freely offers that “pot of gold” to each of us.  Though, you may have to adjust your glasses to be able to identify it because it may not look the way you think it should.  Oh Yeah!  By the way, I have been given a lot of pots!

I opened up my Facebook profile today to receive many (e)mailbox hugs from all over the United States and Canada.  Instantly my mind recalled the love given to me from all over the world the week of Warren’s funeral.  I had letters from South Africa, North Korea, and Ireland, just to name a few.  I was in awe!  We had no idea how far God had taken the ministry of the Parker Trio/P3 – this is a priceless pot of gold.  I may never have discerned it’s immeasurable worth had I not walked through the fire first.

I also received a letter today from a friend in Canada.  Lisa use to cut both mine and Warren’s hair.  Warren grew up with Lisa’s husband Jake and we all attended the same home church in Pickering, Ont..  Here’s what made me smile….

“….I felt confused about why God would take Warren home…. I felt the depression coming on me again….Jake and I decided to live without regrets that day in our marriage….because of what you said that day.

Warren and I got married young, I was 20 and he had just turned 25.  Man, typing that makes me feel old…LOL!  We went through that “and the two shall become one” thing, (Matt. 19:4-6) only God didn’t tell us how difficult it would be.  There is a battle of the wills that takes place in both the husband and the wife.  On top of this, we also lived the first 3 1/2 years of marriage with Warren’s parents.  So added to the blender of wills – chop, slice, chop!  Please try to hear me giggle here!  It was not funny then but Warren and I had many laughs about the beginning years later on.  Lisa’s letter means so much to me today, because I have a huge passion to see God restore the family structure the way He intended it to be.

What if it took Warren’s death to shed some light on a few truths for this marriage to survive?

Don’t take me wrong.  They are in no way responsible for what’s happened.  I do not believe God will allow an evil to fall on one of His own simply offer better to another, but He does say he will give beauty for ashes. (Isaiah 61:3).  I am still hearing testimonies of lives being positively changed for eternity because of the ministry of P3 and Warren’s tragic death.

“….Find the courage to stand, God is working His plan, There’ll be beauty for ashes.”

The Parker Trio, ‘Beauty from Ashes’.

 

Click On Picture To Hear 'Beauty From Ashes'

 

We will all face trials, tragedies, and heartaches along life’s path.  Will you allow the fire to burn the scales off your heart and eyes, so you can see the beauty, or will you allow the enemy to devour you with the flames?  Either way, you are going to feel its heat, so you might as well choose the beauty that can follow.

“When you walk through the fire, you shall not be burned, Nor shall the flame scorch you.” – Isaiah 43:2b

Diamonds can be found in the trials of life, but you will never know those diamonds if you run from the fire.  Today, I have been hugged by diamonds from OH, WA, NC, TN, Ontario Canada, Newfoundland Canada, and today is only half over!

I do not measure my diamonds by their temporal value, but by their eternal quality.

I love you all and would gladly walk this road again for you.

~Shannan

What you place your value in today will either bring you strength and comfort tomorrow, or it will smother you with its weight.

“New life is His….HE LIVES!”

The Parker Trio, ‘He Lives.


 

Click On Photo To Hear 'He Lives'.

 


4 Comments

  1. Michelle said,

    01/07/2011 at 11:50

    Wow! That was truly AMAZING! You are such an awesome and awe-inspiring blessing to so many!!!! God will continue to use you and your story to open hearts and minds as well as to help heal hearts of others.

  2. Pedro said,

    01/07/2011 at 11:50

    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts Shannan. I pray that others are inspired by your positive outlook on life and learn about God’s love and ability to restore us. God bless you.

  3. Tracey Paris said,

    01/08/2011 at 11:50

    God Bless you and thanks for sharing! Hugs again today!

  4. Carol Scobie said,

    01/08/2011 at 11:50

    Loving and Hugging you from afar Shannan as I pray for you to feel His Hugs and Love surrounding you today and everyday. Blessings, Carol


Leave a Reply

