I Really Don’t Care!


What’s wrong with needing someone? If we close our heart off for fear of hurt, we close our-self off from receiving God’s blessings.  A heart unopened is, well, it’s like a tree that’s roots can’t reach water.  Life is choked from it.

I Thirst

If we are the temple of God, (1 Cor. 3:15-17) then God lives and moves in and through us.  To cut close connection with others out of the equation of our life, is like carrying a baby in the womb that has no umbilical cord attached for nourishment.  God is emotional about us and longs for a deep intimate relationship with us.  He wants to know us, and He wants to reach others through us.   If we guard our heart from feeling for others, we guard our heart from feeling for God.  If we guard our heart from God, it is impossible to care for others.  Round and round we will spin in a vicious cycle.  It is impossible to feel for one and not the other.

These are questions I’ve asked myself.

Am I cutting myself off from others?  Am I drowning myself in busyness to avoid personal relationships?  If so, then I will soon die from a lack of life’s source, God – in His complete being.

To deny our emotions, is to deny ourselves a relationship with God.

Beloved, let us love one another, for love is of God; and everyone who loves is born of God and knows God.  He who does not love does not know God, for God is love…If we love one another, God abides in us, and His love has been perfected in us….If someone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen, how can he love God whom he has not seen?  And this commandment we have from Him: that he who loves God must love his brother also.” -1 John :47-8, 12b, 20-21 (read complete love reference)

~Shannan

May I Feel - May I Be To Others

4 Comments

  1. mnickles7 said,

    01/15/2011 at 11:50

    Wow! Very good! 🙂 (as always!)

  2. Jaclyn Rae said,

    01/15/2011 at 11:50

    Well said! I love this post. Thank you for inspiring me this morning 🙂

  3. Bob Teeple said,

    01/15/2011 at 11:50

    Very true, we should all try to be more open and caring.

  4. Gary said,

    01/15/2011 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan. I got a call this evening from church asking me to teach the “Prayer” class tomorrow. As I’m preparing for the class, I’m reading your blog and thinking about your sentence above: “He wants to reach others through us.”. (Ministering to others using our spiritual gifts.) Jeremiah 1:5/Gal: 1:15-16 confirm that He knew us before we were in our mother’s womb and, like Jeremiah and Paul, their ministries were set for them to minister to others before their births! Above all, I love your comment: “God is emotional about us and longs for a deep intimate relationship with us.”. I believe intimacy with our God and Father helps us to love others, including that “special someone”, much more deeply. God’s blessings. G&B


Leave a Reply

