A Thought of Heart


What does my heart wake up in the morning hoping for?

Who Wins My Heart Today?

“Do not eat the bread of a miser, Nor desire his delicacies;
For as he thinks in his heart, so is he.

Eat and drink!” he says to you, But his heart is not with you.
The morsel you have eaten, you will vomit up,
And waste your pleasant words.”  -Proverbs 23:6-
8

Have you ever noticed that when we have that burning desire for something and we strive to obtain it at all cost, that once we have whatever it is, there’s always something else we want?  It usually doesn’t take very long before we’re reaching for the next thing.  If I could just have a better car, a better job, a better spouse, or just be recognized for my ability, I’ll be happy.  The more we get, the more we want.  This is a reality of the human nature – we are never satisfied with what we have.  Could it be that we need a heart change?

“Keep your heart with all diligence,
For out of it
spring the issues of life.” -Proverbs 4:23

In the verses above, the words “Do not” and “Keep” tell me that it is my responsibility to get my heart in line with God’s heart.  If my heart is focused on the things of this world, I will gain what moth and rust will devour, but if my heart is focused on God’s kingdom, I will gain what’s eternal.

We can have all the riches the world has to offer, but without surrender to God’s perfect plan, His peace and joy will not be found – only a temporary high.

Today, I will set my heart on Your path Lord, for You alone can fill me with gladness.

~Shannan

Seed For Thought: Maybe it becomes an issue of trust?  Do we trust God enough to let go of what we think we want?  Do we believe Him when He says, “Seek first My Kingdom and (*then) all these things will be added? (Matt. 6:33)

*added for emphasis

8 Comments

  1. Steve Allen said,

    01/24/2011 at 11:50

    This is great. This is what I needed this morning.

  2. 01/24/2011 at 11:50

    LOVED the “added for emphasis”! I also loved the picture and what it implies, even states, with what you’ve written. Abstract speaks so loudly… of course this comes from one with an abstract way of thinking – me not you, oh wait, you too! ;o}

    • 01/26/2011 at 11:50

      PJ, I love and appreciate you friend! I look forward to a writing session with you ;o)

  3. Bob Teeple said,

    01/24/2011 at 11:50

    This is so true. We should be careful what we wish for, in case we get it.

  4. 01/25/2011 at 11:50

    ummm…..wow. slap upside the head this morning, Shannan. NEVER thought about the emphasis that you added. Almost 31 and NEVER saw it that way. This was truly a “Put it in perspective” post for me. Thank you so much my friend.

    • 01/25/2011 at 11:50

      It’s amazing to see God use something that I thought was just a rushed thought. Goes to show, you never know when God is touching a heart through you. Thank you to all who have encouraged me in this posting. I am constantly reminding myself of these truths.

  5. 02/04/2011 at 11:50

    Shannan,

    I was reading the passage you brought up in Proverbs 4 the other day. I listened to a teaching by Beth Moore about the same passage. She painted a picture in my head of what a “well spring” is. I pictured a fountain gushing lots of water. She said whatever flows in must flow out. So, if we pump bitterness or hate or worry into ourselves, then bitterness, hate, and worry will gush out all over everything and everyone around us. But if we pump truth, love, forgiveness, etc, then truth, love, and forgiveness will gush out to everything and everyone around us.

    • 02/04/2011 at 11:50

      Very True! Even fresh water will become stale and useless if it cannot flow out of the lake it originally ran into. That is why we have the Dead Sea. I do not want to be a “Dead Sea.”


Leave a Reply

