I Am Choosing!


God is not surprised by what catches me off guard.  He is in control at all times and in all things.  He knows my coming and my going and promises His protection, because I am His.  I will let Him do, according to His perfect plan, all He wants to do.  I surrender me.

Take All Of Me

Despite all this world will throw my way…

I Am Choosing – To Trust, even when it doesn’t make sense.

I trust, because He is my rock and my deliverer, and His ways are higher than mine. He continually hugs me with His love. (Psalm 18:1-3, Isaiah 55:8-10, Zeph. 3:16-17)

I Am Choosing – To Worship, even when I don’t feel like it.

I will worship God because He is worthy and He is holy.  God is present in praise, and in it He heals the brokenhearted. (Psalm 99:5-6, Psalm 14:1-3)

I Am Choosing – To Press On, even when my strength has given way to weariness.

I press on, though troubles press in on me I am not moved, my power is from God.  “My flesh and my heart fail; but God is the strength of my heart and my portion forever.” (2 Cor. 4:7-9, Psalm 73:26)

I Am Choosing – To Believe, even when nothing looks possible.

I will believe, so my testimony is uncompromised. “faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen. For by it the elders obtained a good testimony.” (Hebrews 11:1-2)

I Am Choosing – To Fight, to climb out of the valley, regardless if I am there by my own doing or by the hands of someone else.

I fight because I know where my strength comes from and who promises victory; I do not wrestle in vain.  “Save me, O God, by Your name, And vindicate me by Your strength.” (1 Cor. 15:57-58, Psalm 54:1)

I Am Choosing – To Hope, even when I’m not sure what to hope for.

I hope because God is the giver of perfect gifts and He alone can fill my heart with gladness.  He gives more than enough. (James 1:17, Psalm 4:6-7)

I Am Choosing – Victory over Victim, even when it seems evil is winning and justice is obsolete.

I am victorious because I am a child of the Living God.  I am an heir to my Father’s eternal Kingdom that cannot be measured by man.  I am wonderfully fashioned by Him and for Him.  His plans for me are for good and not harm. (Rom. 8:16-18, Psalm 139:14, Jeremiah 29:11-12)

I Am Choosing – To Love, even when it hurts.

I will love, because it is God’s commandment and He promised me fullness of joy in loving.  God never promised I would be loved in return by those I care for, but He loves me and wants to love others through me.  I am nothing without love; just noise. (John 15:11-12, 1 John 4:20-21, 1 Cor. 13:1-3)

Jesus Gave Us His - Knowing What We Would Do With It.

If I am truly surrendered to Christ, I cannot help but love others because love lives in me.

Many have asked me, “How is it you are so strong?”  I have thought and prayed for a long time, and asked God to give me the words to explain where my strength comes from, without my answer sounding like just another cliche’ phrase.  The secret to being strong is no secret at all.  I am only as strong as the depth of my relationship with God – anything past this is nothing more than a mask.  If my heart is broken, it does not change who God is, it only gives Him a platform to show off His absolute greatness.

How Are You Choosing To Live Today?

You Can Walk, Or You Can Swim?

I used the word, “Choosing” because it is continual.  To simply choose something is a one time occurrence.  I must put my decisions into action daily.

~Shannan

Watch for my upcoming post, “SHOW ME THE MONEY.”  I’ve been working for a couple weeks reading and researching for it 🙂

12 Comments

  1. Bob said,

    02/03/2011 at 11:50

    Shannan
    The only way I can be strong is by abiding in Christ.When I become week its because I am not letting Christ abide in me.I think thats because I am human ,but I do know where my strength comes from.It comes from abiding in His Word,letting the Holy Spirit abide in me!

    • 02/03/2011 at 11:50

      AMEN! Bob, Thank you for reminding us of this absolute truth! If we remain in Him, we will have all we need to stay strong and have victory – in every situation.

  2. Joe Loesch said,

    02/03/2011 at 11:50

    “One of the greatest needs in the church today is for every Christian to become enthusiastic about his faith in Jesus Christ.” – Billy Graham –

    • 02/03/2011 at 11:50

      We often forget that faith is also a choice. Most our choices will have to come before the feelings of their reality. Could it be that we lack faith simply because we don’t really know who Jesus is?

      John Maxwell just post a 1 minute message about faith that is powerful, http://johnmaxwellteam.com/faith/

  3. debi hodge-betsill said,

    02/03/2011 at 11:50

    My young life was an experiment in tragedy…a complete train wreck…at 13 months old my father was killed…20 months later my baby sister died…13 years later my mother died…I was an orphan. I was strong from birth I adapted, adjusted and learned to survive! When I was 17 I met Jesus for the first time…now I am not strong at all but I am totally sheltered in the arms of God who is strong, I no longer have to be strong…I just give it all to him and let him be the strong one I am just walking where he leads…that takes no strength just obedience.

    • 02/03/2011 at 11:50

      Beautifully said! It’s good to hear from you Debi. Thank you for sharing a portion of your testimony with me. I know you have been a ray of God’s light in my life the few moments we’ve shared together. You are a radiant example of God’s love and your words offer strength and life. Keep sharing!

      In my weakness His strength is perfect. I’d much rather follow in His footsteps than create my own.

  4. 02/03/2011 at 11:50

    One of my favorites yet! Thank you for sharing but more importantly, thank you for choosing!

  5. Tracey Paris said,

    02/03/2011 at 11:50

    Thank you for the gentle reminder to choose daily…it is an ongoing choice…we have to make daily! May the love of God flow though HIS people daily that we may reach the lost! Thanks for your boldness!
    Blessings

  6. Michelle said,

    02/03/2011 at 11:50

    Awesome as always! 🙂 Love you girl! 😉

  7. Pat Robeck said,

    02/03/2011 at 11:50

    Choosing is so right Shannan, some folks think that you only choose Jesus once, but, in reality, in every moment you are deciding to continue to climb closer to Him or slide farther away from Him. I hope to hear you sing again someday, because your voice is a gift from God, and brings healing to those who hear it.

  8. Juliette Tuttobene said,

    02/04/2011 at 11:50

    My favorite saying lately is…
    “When you hit rock bottom, God is the Rock at the bottom.”
    Chip Ingram says, “Don’t ask, ‘Why ask What’!
    Lord…
    What do you want me to learn from this trial (death, sickness, etc.).
    What do you want me to do?
    What do you want me to know/ understand, etc.
    God wants the Church’s Heart and time is short so let’s run to Him, with everything! He has so much infinite power and love to tap into, let’s Go-for-It!
    You are a great example, Shannan, don’t stop, keep running the race!

    • 02/04/2011 at 11:50

      Amen! “What?” That is exactly what I’ve been asking God lately. I have a blog coming soon that talks about this very question I’ve presented to Him and where I was sitting in my house at the time. Some will find it humorous, and some will find it pitiful! Either way, I can continue to run this race with your friendship Juliette, Thank You!


Leave a Reply

