Pouring Out The Pot


Written January 4 ‘2011

I hate when I make a fresh pot of coffee and it’s not strong enough.  I should have listened to my gut feeling and added that extra scoop of grounds, but I didn’t and now I stand with the sad outcome in my hands; it’s too weak.  So, I take the French press concept into action and back through the coffee grounds my liquid gold goes.  It’s a little better, but not really satisfying.

How often do we live life like this?  Settling for less than God’s best?  If fresh water is poured into a stagnant pool, it becomes stagnant.  So, I am now faced with a decision.  Do I stop drinking my mistake and literally pay the consequence of my action by starting a fresh pot, or do I continue to keep drinking from a less than perfect source?

To Drink, Or Not To Drink?

How do I find the strength to let go of what I presently know, and trust that God will replace it for His best?

Today is all I’ve got.  Next month, next week, nor tomorrow, have ever been promised to me.  When I finish typing this, I’m going to close my laptop and take a deep breath until it fills every fiber of my body and mind.  I’m going to exhale every worry, anxiety, past hurt, and failure, while at the same time asking almighty God, the great restorer, to breathe into me His life, His love, His healing, and His hope.

When we find our-self in a place frozen with the weight of fear and sorrow, let’s stop and call on the name above all other names – Jesus.  His strength is made perfect in our weakness.  He’s only a breath’s call away.

“ This is the word of the LORD to Zerubbabel:

‘ Not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit,’ Says the LORD of hosts.
‘ Who are you, O great mountain?  Before Zerubbabel you shall become a plain!
And he shall bring forth the capstone with shouts of “Grace, grace to it!”  – Zech. 4:6-7

I can only doctor the pot so much before it’s time to dump it and start over.  Today I mean the coffee, tomorrow could be a whole new story.

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!

My hope is built on nothing less, than Jesus’ blood and righteousness.– by Edward Mote, 1797-1874


8 Comments

  1. carol said,

    02/10/2011 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan, Thank you for being so open and sharing your life with others. I thought I would share a phrase I heard a few months ago and wrote down so I could see it daily.
    YOUR FUTURE HAS NO ROOM FOR YOUR PAST, HURTS, FAILURES, GUILT, and SHAME! So I agree that each day is a new beginning, a new start to the Praise of His Glory and Grace. God Bless You and Keep You, God make His Face to shine upon you and give you His Peace.

    • 02/11/2011 at 11:50

      What Sweet Truth Carol! Thank you for sharing life with me. You have blessed me with your prayers and I do feel God’s amazing peace this week. I pray He bless you in return for the love you’ve added to my life!

  2. 02/10/2011 at 11:50

    You, my friend, are brilliant. I love the analogy and I hope all your readers will grasp it. Some things aren’t worth trying to save; the only way to get what you really want is to start all over. I’ve had to start all over more times than I care to admit. I’m truly hopeful that this time around the coffee is strong enough…

    • 02/11/2011 at 11:50

      Oh, I have no doubt that your “Pot” is strong enough this time around! I am thrilled to my core for you. Thank you for your help and close friendship. Just so you know, even if you runaway to Ohio, I will still need you 😉

  3. Rob said,

    02/10/2011 at 11:50

    OK you’ve inspired me to make a pot of coffee……oh, wait,…. that’s not what this is really about is it. Too often we choose to drink from the same pot of circumstances when we really can decide at this moment to make a new pot. I think I want some fresh coffee.
    thanks for sharing Shannan, good stuff, keep it up.

    • 02/11/2011 at 11:50

      Thanks Rob, I hope the fresh java was good. I’m thinking I need a new hot cup in my hands too!

  4. 02/15/2011 at 11:50

    Bahahaha!!! This is the best… there are so many truths rolling around in this, on so many levels… you are a GENIUS, a very funny genius.

    • 02/16/2011 at 11:50

      The pot is empty! As for “genius”, I’ll let you believe that for this moment. I’m sure I will unknowingly convince you otherwise shortly…LOL!


Leave a Reply

