I Know He Hears Me


Two years ago I was on a plane headed to South Carolina for a trial date over the death of my husband.  I started to feel myself slide down that slippery slope into depression.  Without hesitation, I began to beg God to rescue me.  I did not want to start crying on the plane because I knew this would be a flow of tear not easily stopped.  All of a sudden, an unguarded laughter came rolling from several rows behind me.  It was the sweetest sound I had ever heard.  That day, God hugged me through the giggles of a child.

Do you want to know how I know the Lord hears my prayers?  I remember the “small” ones He’s already answered.

God’s got you my friend!

~Shannan

2011, keeping It Real!

My Favorite verse all through childhood was John 14:14.
“If you ask anything in My name, I will do it.”

8 Comments

  1. Paulette Webb said,

    02/16/2011 at 11:50

    Thank you for this reminder Shannon!
    I was reminded of a time that my premature infant son needed medication & formula. We were so broke I could only buy one or the other. How in the world could I decide – I was parilized as I stood in that drug store holding a can of formula. I looked down in dispair to see a $20 bill at my feet. Yes God does have us covered ♥

    • 02/16/2011 at 11:50

      God owns the cattle on a thousand hills, and His children will not go hungry! He cares!

      “Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down; For the LORD upholds him with His hand. I have been young, and now am old; Yet I have not seen the righteous forsaken, Nor his descendants begging bread. He is ever merciful, and lends; And his descendants are blessed.” – Psalm 37:24-26

  2. Juliette Tuttobene said,

    02/16/2011 at 11:50

    I remember one Christmas, years ago, that we had it rough financially. We lived out in the country and I knew we couldn’t afford a Christmas tree, so I said a prayer asking God to help me make things special for the girls, they were two and five years at the time. While on a long walk, we had collected lots of pine cones, and that night I had sprayed each pine cone with gold paint. As a fun project, the girls covered the gold pine cones in glue and rolled them into gold glitter. The next day, we played Christmas carols and piled high all of their special pine cones on top of the fireplace mantel and the spotlights above made everything shine to all our amazement! The girls never missed a tree and they were so happy and proud to have such a sparkly Christmas that year! God answered my prayer through a creative thought. This remains one of our family’s favorite Christmases to this day.

    • 02/16/2011 at 11:50

      Beautiful Juliette! You truly amaze me. I hope that if I’m ever a mom, that I can be the radiant mother like you are. That Christmas was not only beautiful because of the decor, but it was exquisite because it was full of heartfelt love.

  3. Anne Stevenson said,

    02/16/2011 at 11:50

    My husband and I had no money one Christmas to go out and buy new scarves to give to people at a rehab facility where our church was helping out. We each had a scarf from a couple of years previously, and neither of us had ever worn either of them. I felt we were to give those away so donated mine. My husband wouldn’t give his because it was the only scarf he had and thought he should keep it just in case he ever needed one. hohoho The following week I received a gift from a friend in Japan…..yup, a brand new scarf just as good as the one I gave away. BUT then the next week I got another gift from Florida from an email pal I have never met in person. In the box there were gifts for my husband and I. Guess what his was. Yup, a brand new scarf for a man to wear. He repented pretty quickly about not giving his other scarf away and not trusting God to replace it. When we trust for our own provision sometimes it means giving away what we all ready have with no guarantee of replacement. BUT “Ain’t it just like God to deliver??!”

    • 02/16/2011 at 11:50

      “Ain’t it just like God to deliver??!” WOW! I needed this reminder. I had completely forgot about this song that Warren wrote. I cannot tell you how his word are healing my heart tonight and RINGING in my ears God’s confirmation. I am sitting at my computer frozen and unable to write, because it would come from a very broken heart. Your story of God giving back to you when you let go touched my heart. But, what your story reminded me of is God’s grace. He gave to your husband even before he fully let go of what he was to release. God sees our hearts intention and delights in giving every good and perfect gift.

      THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! For taking the time to share with me. You have helped my heart! “Ain’t it just like God to deliver?!?!”

  4. Anne Stevenson said,

    02/17/2011 at 11:50

    Praise God for touching your heart today with Warren’s song. It is a beautiful heart that God put on my own heart to pray for when I heard your trio sing in a little Free Methodist church in Moose Jaw SK about 8 or 9 years ago. I remember giving you some cash for a CD I was buying and the Lord nudging me with a strong feeling I was to pray for you regularly. Months later when you lost Warren I started to understand why I had been so led. I am only one person of so many who pray for you but it is a privilege to do so. Bless you and may you receive soon all the good desires of your pure heart.

    • 02/21/2011 at 11:50

      Wow! Thank you for sharing this with me Anne. Thank you for loving me with your prayers. With so many praying for me, I cannot fail. I pray God richly bless you for caring for me this way.


Leave a Reply

