SHOW ME THE MONEY!!!


The Parable Of The Talents does teach us a great deal of truths about how we should handle the money filtering through our hands, but if that’s all we think this lesson is about, I fear we miss a much deeper understanding of what wealth really is.  Where in scripture was Christ simply money-focused?

How Much Does Heaven Cost?

I’ve looked at several different sources to give me a definition of the word, “talent”.  Most every one of them gave a long list to its definition, but when given the definition of a monetary value, it was placed at or near the bottom of the list.  So, how would I define the word talent?

Talent – It is an ability God has given.  A spiritual gift that usually will operate with a natural gift.  The footnote in my study Bible says this, “From this parable comes the modern use of talent to refer to a natural gift.”

Not using, or misusing our God-given gift is what this parable is about.  If we are not using our spiritual talent, then what we are doing in the natural will have little eternal value.  Every action should be motivated by love for the Master, for Christ, not out of fear.  To do this, you must understand love.

“Fear is a sad thing when a person dreads losing something valuable so much that he hoards it instead of putting it to good use. So it is with a spiritual gift also.” – Martin G. Collins

I’ve thought a lot about what someone recently said to me, “People only ask what they want to know.  If they don’t ask, there’s no reason to tell them what’s on your mind, because they’re not ready to listen anyway.”

Really?  Who told you to shut up, and at what age were you?  Why are you still allowing them to silence you?  This is nothing more than a manipulative way of telling someone their thoughts are not worth hearing.

If a person lives with this belief system, they will bottle up their own talent and rob us of who God created them to be.  They will become a puppet for others to filter their talent through, because they will never learn to voice their own heart’s desire.  The passion that God created them for will be buried under a mound of other people’s ideas.  Eventually, that person so beautifully created in God’s image, with a special gift all their own, will only mirror someone elses life.  Sorrow of an unanswered calling can only fill this heart.

Eventually One Will Rule The Other

“Then I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, “Now salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of His Christ have come, for the accuser, (the one who told you to shut up*) of our brethren, who accused them before our God day and night, has been cast down. And they overcame him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony, (God wants you to speak*) and they did not love their lives to the death.”  -Rev. 12:10-11

If we’re not willing to share our testimony, how will others know we can relate to what they are going through?  How will they know we’re safe?  You will be surprised how many people are ready to talk.  They simply need someone they can have confidence in.  How freeing is it to hear when others are facing or have faced a similar struggle to yours, to know you’re not alone?  If we want to be used by God, we must be willing to share our testimony.  In sharing, we will find freedom, and help others to find freedom also.

The enemy has tried to rob me of my talent(s) all my life.  While in my mother’s womb, the umbilical cord was wrapped around my neck twice, keeping my lungs from fully developing.  When I was two years old, both my brother and I almost died from whooping cough.  There were years of abuse at different levels which lead to depression and a longing to end my life.  I became the silent child in hopes not to stir the boiling emotions in others around me, I had to keep the peace.  I was in a major car accident the day after my seventeen birthday, that should have thrown me through two different windshields, but God urged me to put my seat-belt on just moments before impact.  I could go on, but I will conclude with the sudden and tragic death of my husband, in January 2006.  According to many, I had a right to quit life, to give up in despair.  But, because of God’s word being poured through so many different talents, from so many different people, I remember why I press on.


As a child, I was so afraid of people that I would not give my grandmother a hug without her cornering me.  God decided to use one of my biggest fears and called me to speak, to share, to pour into the lives of others he brings my way.  If I remain that silent child I once was, if I am afraid to speak what’s on my heart, I am burying my talent.  It’s not that I think I’m always right; I have much to learn.  But if I don’t share, I also avoid dialogue that might teach myself and/or others a deeper truth.  Many times I have gained a new, healthier perspective in these heart-to-heart exchanges.  Allowing ourselves to teach and be taught by others, opens us up for God’s correction.  When God brings correction to me, I can then pass it on, so others may avoid making the same mistakes I’ve made.  I’ve just multiplied my talents!

Are your talents, natural and spiritual gifts, gaining interest?  Then don’t despise what you think is a small beginning.  If you are open to Him, He is using you.

“In the end, what God commends and rewards is not brilliance, popularity, or cleverness, but faithfulness and obedience to Him regardless of human recognition or praise.” -Martin G. Collins

Earthly treasures are not wrong to posses, unless their value outweighs the value of your eternal home.  How much is a soul worth in dollars?

To have five talents or one is not what’s important, it’s whether or not you are increasing them and giving it’s growth back to God.

~Shannan

Lets Personalize This and Get Real:

Am I operating in my gifting or being a puppet for someone else?  When will I believe my God-given gift is valuable?  If God thought me worthy enough to give it, why should I let man tell me it’s not good enough?  Am I seeking His blessing or man’s approval?

2011, Keeping It Real!

Click here for this blog in a nutshell.

Read more: The Parable of The Talents web. Commentary.

*emphasis added

2 Comments

  1. Bob Teeple said,

    02/22/2011 at 11:50

    You are so right about money and talent. If you don’t share your talent (or money), it does not flourish, and you are wasting a precious gift. And now for a shameless plug, I am going to share my talent at the Belmont Faculty and Staff Talent Show on March 2nd at the Troutt Theatre.

    • 02/22/2011 at 11:50

      LOL! You go get’em! I’d say break a leg, but coming from me it may be heard and taken literally by the angels, Ha! It’s better to give than receive and so much more fun.


Leave a Reply

