I May Just Be “One-Up” On You!


If we are “One-Up” on someone, it’s only for the honor to lead others.

I am constantly checking my motives by asking myself these questions.  What is the state of my heart today?  Am I operating out of selfish ambition or from a place of gratitude?  Sadly, if my heart is not pure in motive people will still follow my example, this is true for all of us.  For this reason, we have a great responsibility to choose rightly.

Each morning is the start of a new race, a new adventure, and the possibilities are endless.  I’m learning that if I adjust my focus to appreciation and expectation, then I’m more capable of handling whatever comes my way; whether it be sunshine or tsunami.  No doubt life will be filled with both, so we might as well grow through both and enjoy the ride while we’re blessed to have it.

It’s really about coming to a crisis of belief.  Do I believe God can?  Do I believe God will do all He says He will do?  Do I believe He loves me enough to fulfill His promises?  Do I believe He likes me?  Do I believe Jesus’ blood is enough?  If I choose to believe one verse for my life, then I must know and believe that every word God spoke is for me!

I’m going to do my best to focus on the things I have today, because the prayers yet to be answered may just be another answered prayer.  I’ve asked for God to protect me from all harm, so maybe God is protecting me from what I cannot see?  Let’s start today with a grateful heart in the things we have.  I appreciate the many who have “one-upped” me, then reached to lift me up.  THANK YOU!

Let’s Make A Declaration For Today!

I Do Believe.  I WILL give God my heart because He is trustworthy and more than “One-Up” on me.  I will lead with love because Jesus led with love.

The decisions I make today will impact my tomorrow as well as the tomorrow for others.

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!

“Therefore be imitators of God as dear children.  And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma.” ~Eph. 5:1-2

 

I had an interesting dream the other night.  I will be telling you about it soon!

13 Comments

  1. 02/24/2011 at 11:50

    I love this song. It tears me up every time I hear it. I believe everything we do impacts the world in some way and it’s important to think about the impact we’re making before we act. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Bob Teeple said,

    02/24/2011 at 11:50

    Great video, great message.

  3. 02/24/2011 at 11:50

    two thumbs up

  4. Jenn Sharpe said,

    02/24/2011 at 11:50

    Dear Shannon,
    I love your comment, “the prayers yet to be answered may just be another answered prayer.” and “I appreciate the many who have “one-upped” me, then reached to lift me up.” You are right, humility is always the heart attitude we should have if we are in a one-up position/leadership position.

    Re the song, I went ahead and played it, recognizing it immediately. Watching the video helps soften my response, but I still do NOT agree with this song theologically or from a family system (counseling) perspective. Frankly, I think it is offensive and this kind of “map” or one-up belief can lead to a lot of spiritual and family dysfunction. What I am referring to, (if I am understanding the artist message correctly), is that he sings the same lines for his relationship to his wife as he does his children! WOW! Last I checked I was equal to my husband and we BOTH have authority over our children. Yes, my husband is called to be the “head”, but he is also called to mutual submission according to Eph 5:22. My map or one up position would look like a teeter-tauter where the husband is always on top or one-up, but defers/consents to the wife in her area of expertise or passion. The children are secondary to both parents or third to the husband. What the artist is saying by repeating the same chorus for his wife and children is that women and children are in the same category and he is over them all. Wow, no wonder he feels burdened! I find women in this position gravitate towards depression, dependency, and disappointment that their husband do not fill the role of a father figure or priest to her. So as beautiful as the video is, the sounds and tone of the song, I find the artist’s words to be a dangerous, inaccurate, and offensive misinterpretation of spiritual roles and gender/marital roles. I am certain the artist did not intend to harm or offend anyone, and it may even be argued that although he used the same lines for his relationship to his wife as he did his children-he didn’t mean it like that? Then what did he mean it like? Yes they both need leadership, but context and map is essential and I would suggest his is clearly off.

    What I find so unfortunate is that this is a subtle difference to the average listener, yet they soak it up in their subconscious distorting spiritual truths and gender roles.

    Thank you for providing a forum for my comment.

    Blessings,
    Jenn Sharpe

    • 02/24/2011 at 11:50

      Hey Jenn, Thanks so much for your encouragement regarding my thoughts, and also your input on the song I referenced to. I do see your point. Many who are in a spousal/parent role often treat their children as equal. Now, they are equal in the sense of having a right to be treated right and loved as individual human beings, but they are not mentally or emotionally developed to make the wise decisions that adults should be making. Too often one, or both, of the parents will choose to side with a child over the other spouse. This is wrong. Now I’m talking in the mind-set of a seemingly healthy family structure. If there is abuse in the home then we’re talking on a whole new topic.

      With me coming from the music world, I can tell you that the artist here was simply making a point that his career cannot come before his family at any level. That’s all. He’s stating that he needs to lead them and love them the way Christ did for us. Because of the way a song is written and has to flow to be a song that will be played on our radio stations, there’s really no possible way to make the song clinically correct. The song would be way too long for all the facts to be recorded; even then it would be in question when it comes to each individual situation.

      I do understand your concern, and I’m sorry if you were offended. I happen to like the song because I grew up with a father that often put ministry before his family. I do not state this meaning any disrespect to my dad – he really did think he was doing right. I’ve also witnessed more often than not, a family destroyed because someone in the music world put their success in ministry, (or dreams) ahead of their family unity. I’m sure this artist has witnessed this tragedy too often himself, and thus recorded this song.

      Thank you for expressing your thoughts!

      I hope that was a little clearer than mud…lol!

    • 02/24/2011 at 11:50

      I’m sorry, I cannot keep quite on this comment. As a former abused child and wife – being controlled and manipulated all my life – I find that this song does not imply any of what you have suggested and find it to be most assuredly scripturally sound – and while the wife is “equal” to the husband, he will indeed answer to God for his family in the way that he led them, in a way that she, being the wife, will not answer for. The husband/father will be judged just as a pastor over his flock, as someone in leadership – just as I, as a single mom, will be judged in the same manner. I suggest that the artist is not in the slightest ‘clearly off’, rather instead, that one has monumentally taken out of context what is meant to hold one accountable.

      http://pennyshire.wordpress.com/2010/08/17/lead-me/

  5. Juliette said,

    02/24/2011 at 11:50

    Real faith is not seeing, not understanding, not feeling and not knowing. Real faith is simply trusting, no matter what we see happening, no matter what we understand to be true, and no matter what we feel like, that ‘God will be faithful to His Word and perform His promises to us in His timing and in His way.’
    Faith is allowing God to be God.
    This is not easy to do but it is the only way to truly Live!
    Don’t stop!

  6. 02/24/2011 at 11:50

    Great video, great message, god bless you Shannan, we just prayed for you -Clinton & Loraine

  7. Anne Stevenson said,

    02/25/2011 at 11:50

    I suppose one question is, “What is the purpose of an artistic rendering?” Such things as poems or songs are generally meant as an expression of personal feelings and experiences, and are not generally seen as places to render out exact meaning and definitions. We have choices as to whether we enjoy or appreciate these renderings or not, but I think to look to artistic expressions for absolute correctness in logic, doctrine, or even grammar is missing the point of the artist’s offering. Expecting doctrinal correctness from an artistic expression is, for me, like expecting the Bible to be viewed as a history book or a science text. Of course there are elements of those things in the Bible, but its purpose is more to point humankind toward their creator and restorer; and even many of its doctrines are very open to interpretation, as evidenced by the many denominations within God’s people. There are many popular style worship songs I don’t care for personally and some for the reasons of doctrinal expressions I don’t personally accept, but they are simply the expressions of the particular artist and still leave me the choice of liking them or not. I have to trust God for his ability to prevent others from being led astray by something sung or written with good intention even if it is less than perfect in its expression of ultimate truths. Just my opinion……. Really enjoying this dialogue Shannon and your posts of late truly are keeping it real. Thank you!

  8. Jenn Sharpe said,

    02/25/2011 at 11:50

    Dear Ann,
    What a graceful explanation of an artistic expression. I can live w/ that. I am so glad that for some this song brings the reminder to prioritize family over ministry and others accountability over abuse. That is the beauty of music; it brings out not necessarily always the artist’s pure intention, but interacts w/ the listener’s background and beliefs to form something unique and special to all. Despite my being rubbed the wrong way by the song, I can take it and make something beautiful out of it; the call to clarify roles and maps in relationships. It is the subtleties that can matter in my work, maybe that sounds too specific, I would just never want to be categorized with children. As I say that I am reminded how Jesus exclaimed unless we become like these (little children)…I will take it to the Throne of Grace and petition for a more graceful heart in understanding.

    Pease to all and forgiveness requested for any offenses.

    Blessings,
    Jenn Sharpe

  9. Anne Stevenson said,

    02/25/2011 at 11:50

    Hi Jenn: I doubt anyone was mortally offended by you expressing your opinion. I know I certainly wasn’t, and you have that right to express yourself just like the rest of us. Of course our own situation adds to our likes and dislikes and our interpretations of many things. If, as your original response indicates, you are involved in family counselling systems my admiration for you is high!! A family counsellor changed my life for the better some years ago and I will be forever grateful!
    Thank you Shannan for allowing this forum space for Jenn and I to have this interaction. Bless you!

  10. 02/26/2011 at 11:50

    I was not offended… thankful for opinions.

  11. 02/28/2011 at 11:50

    I love the dialog that has taken place. This is the way we all grow stronger. It has triggered some thoughts and I will be writing a follow-up blog soon. Thank you all for sharing your hearts so openly!


Leave a Reply

