Sweet Dreams


How Will Your Stone Multiply?

The other night I had a dream that the ‘Parker Trio‘ was touring throughout Canada.  At the same time we were on tour, Warren and I were in the process of moving into a small apartment.

We had a very busy schedule this raining day.  Warren’s family and the other members of P3 were helping us move into our new and very tiny dwelling.  An assembly line was quickly formed as box after box made their way up the winding stairs into the apartment on the top floor.  The rain was coming down hard, and we could see our new neighbors watching with curiosity through their windows as the boxes came off the bus.  We had just come from one concert performance and had to hurry because we were expected at another location in a couple of hours.  Time was of the essence!

Warren’s mom had a look of extreme concern as she watched me unpack some clothing items and place them in a child-sized wardrobe.  Everything about this already furnished dwelling was small.  The one room studio apartment was made up of old wooden floors and walls – a little dusty too.  The furnishings consisted of an antique looking bed with thin iron posts, and two small cabinets for personal items.  On one side of the cabinet was a series of four drawers and on the other adjoining side was a small wardrobe to hang the longer clothes.  The whole unit only stood about neck high to me, I’m a meager 5’3, and it stretched about four feet across.

Warren and I were smiling from ear to ear.  We were full of excitement, which was coming out of me in tiny giggles!  I was lacing a very valuable gem-stone necklace on a hook inside my credenza as Warren pulled a few other things from a box and handed them to me.  His mom could not keep her concern silent any longer, she asked to speak to him out in the hallway.  I watched as she expressed her concern for us choosing to live in such a place as this, but the smile remained strong on my face and in my heart.  Warren and I knew this home was temporary.  God gave us this promise at the very moment we put the pen to the paper to sign the lease.

You see, this dream is not about what was lost, but it’s about what is now found.  This dream is not about the sacrifices we made for ministry life, but it’s all about what has been gained in the process.  This is a dream full of what is most valuable – God’s word and each other.  Even now I am smiling as I share these thoughts with you.

It’s not hard to figure out the significance of knowing this tiny apartment was only to be temporary.  Each one of us are living in a temporary dwelling.  Our physical bodies will only last for a brief moment, but we have a promise that our perfect and permanent home awaits us when we cross from here into eternity.  Time as we know it is shorter than we care to acknowledge, so we need to make a conscious decision to appreciate and enjoy every moment.

The people who are lined up on the stairs lending a helping hand are all of you.  This is symbolic of the beautiful treasures I’ve obtained along this life’s journey – my priceless gems.  Gems that have created a necklace of great value.  Each precious stone is unique and yet somehow intertwined with the other.  As they touch, the color from one bleeds to the other, still it remains distinct – all its own.

Getting caught up in the everyday concerns of life, I often fail to remember that I do have a powerful impact on this generation and the ones to follow.  Every breath I breathe and every decision I make will cause a rippled effect in my life and in the lives of those around me.  Though I may not always see the outcome of my decisions right away, they are there and do have a great impact.  For this reason, I must be sure that the color of my stone filters the color of love into the precious stone of the person next to me.

“I will give you a new heart and put a new spirit in you; I will remove from you your heart of stone and give you a heart of flesh.  And I will put my Spirit in you and move you to follow my decrees and be careful to keep my laws.” -Ezek. 36:26-27

My heart longs to bleed the love of the Father.  Even as I write this I am praying, Create in me a clean heart, O God, and renew a right spirit within me.  Show me the area’s in my heart and mind that still need to be transformed by Your light.  Keep my heart pliable to follow Your leading.

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!

It might be a good idea for all of us to hang a plaque on the inside of our doors reminding us of this truth before we walk out into our everyday mission field.

10 Comments

  1. 03/01/2011 at 11:50

    An interesting way into the text!
    It’s strange how sometimes our sleeping mind can tell us something that we should know when we are awake.

    • 03/01/2011 at 11:50

      It certainly is. I think God has to get our attention in our dreams sometimes because we fail to pause throughout our day to hear Him when He speaks. Thanks for stopping by and sharing some feedback!

  2. mnickles7 said,

    03/01/2011 at 11:50

    Wow! What an amazing picture you painted! Thank you so much sharing. I become more and more aware of all that God has blessed me with. I pray that I never take it for granted. God bless ya girl! 🙂

    • 03/01/2011 at 11:50

      Thanks Michelle, We all need these reminders. This is why we also need each other; to encourage with the words of our testimony. Blessings Back At Ya! 🙂

  3. Jenn Sharpe said,

    03/01/2011 at 11:50

    Amen!

  4. Juliette said,

    03/01/2011 at 11:50

    I love how God communicates and councils us through dreams. Early on in my marriage, my husband helped me interpret some of the symbolism, but now I can easily draw the meaning that generally speaks of concerns that my heart is currently facing, as yours has. God made sure that you understand the message He wanted to give you, through this dream. I always notice that these types of dreams, from God, always preserve life and never destroy it. God is so good in that way, isn’t He? Love it!

    • 03/04/2011 at 11:50

      What beautiful insight Juliette. God is so good to allow our heart and mind to process in such a gentle way. I love what you said, “I always notice that these types of dreams, from God, always preserve life and never destroy it.” Yes!

  5. 03/02/2011 at 11:50

    Beautiful, simply beautiful – your analogy leaves tears in my eyes – you, too, are beautiful, bleeding heart and all.

  6. Gloria said,

    03/06/2011 at 11:50

    Your words are jewels…


Leave a Reply

