How Quickly It Can Be Stolen


The other day I wrote to tell you how beautifully God woke me up in the early hours of the morning.  He gave me amazing promises for my life as I continue to journey forward.  After writing all my thoughts down, I closed my computer and took a 30 minute power nap.  The rest of the day felt like I was emotionally tumbling downhill.  With each passing minute I felt as if someone kept adding weights to my shoulders and pouring rocks in my pockets to carry around.  Coady got several walks that day and the local grocer was visited just so I could escape the walls of my home before they swallowed me up.  I was fully aware that the enemy was trying to steal the promises God gave me and take the strength of their joy.  But even with this knowledge and my continual calling out to God for help, I could not seem to break free from the load that was trying to bury me.

John 10:10

I thought about the time Jesus told His disciples to get into the boat because they were going to the other side of the lake.  While in the middle of the lake, a huge storm arose and tossed their boat like a piece of driftwood.  The disciples became so fearful that they woke Jesus up to ask Him if He even cared that they were about to perish.  Jesus got up and spoke peace to the wind and the waves and they became still. He then looked at them and asked, “Where is your faith?” The disciples had forgotten what Jesus said has they were getting into the boat.  He said, “Let us cross over to the other side of the lake.” * Or did they forget His words?

In the midst of my sadness and struggle I was remembering every word God spoke that morning.  I was constantly revisiting the beautiful moments of the early morning hours, yet I still wrestled to get a breath of hope throughout the rest of my day.  I knew what God said was true.  I knew it was absolutely from Him and for me, yet I still faced my human fears.  My faith did not stop the enemy from trying to make me doubt what God spoke so clearly to me.  Oh’ how that serpents voice still slithers in to plant suspicion, “Did God really say….?”*

Facing a crisis of belief is not surrendering to the battle.  This is when we must choose to suit up and armour ourselves with the power of God’s word.  This is exactly when we call to Jesus.  Even with their faith being tested and feeling small, the disciples knew they could run to Jesus. In so doing, they made it to the other side of the lake.

Jesus is not asleep; He is wide awake in your boat.  Call to Him and see if He will not speak peace.

I will share with you in the next couple of days something I wrote back in October.  I opened up a notepad of mine yesterday and read something I had completely forgotten I had written.  The other morning was not the first time God gave me the promise.  The other morning was a reminder that He was and is at work in my life.

As long as we are on this journey of life we will have to wrestle.  To ask God to remove every temptation and every battle would be praying for Him to kill us – to take us to heaven now.  But, as long as we are living and breathing this life, we can call to Him to speak peace to the storms we face.

Have you ever had God give you a beautiful promise that immediately the enemy tried to steal from you?

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!

*scripture reference, Luke 8:22-25, Gen. 3:1-3

5 Comments

  1. Neal said,

    03/22/2011 at 11:50

    Oh my goodness!! You have no idea how often that has happened… It never fails that immediately after a promise has been spoken into me, the devil activates his lies and pounds and pounds on me and by evening I’m on the floor in despair before God again. Satan wants to destroy us with doubt… Jarius went through it.. Jesus will still come through with his promise but doubt burns us up emotionally and physically.. This effects negatively with everyone associated with us… When I persued my current career, God gave me a promise I would receive it.. It took 3 years to get it but I didn’t care.. I believed it and so the devil could not wear me out in disbelief… I just trusted and knew I would get there… And I did!! Today my trials are deeper and the devil knows I can quickly fall into disbelief… And thus I suffer emotionally and physically which affects those I’m associated with…. So when will I learn??

  2. Betty Harford said,

    03/22/2011 at 11:50

    Thank you for these words this morning. For sure the enemy will not let up on us as long as we have breath, but he also will not defeat us! Knowing this, still he tries to discourage, steal our joy and negate God’s promises. But, he is always predictable…same old lies and accusations. As someone once said, when Satan reminds us of our past, we can remind him of his future. Praise God for what He is doing in your life and in others through you.

  3. 03/23/2011 at 11:50

    Yes, indeed, He has. I’ve had to endure and “survive” situations in my past that I truly am not proud of. The words “I am more than a ‘thing, object or anything else’ that any many can claim me to be…and I belong to no man but Jesus Christ” rang through my soul like a flash flood. That night, the devil crept in and tried to steal my joy. It helps me to remember that weeping may last for the night but joy comes in the morning!

    • 03/23/2011 at 11:50

      Amen! I just keep asking God when morning is coming…lol! I’m so glad He has a sense of humor too. It’s taken me 35 years to accept that He created me and He delights in His creation. He said, “It is good” when He made me. He is the God of infallible love. Therefore if I seek Him, I will find Him, and I will find that He has good intentions for me. “In God I trust and am not afraid. What can man do to me?” (Psalm 56) All evil loses it’s power when we grasp Him. Joy Does Come! You are very much appreciated Adam.

  4. 03/25/2011 at 11:50

    […] my last blog post, “How Quickly It Can Be Stolen” I told you I was going to share with you something I had written back in October 2010.  So that I […]


Leave a Reply

