May 10 ‘2011


Sometimes The Simplest Things Create The Sweetest Memories

I’m at Starbucks penning some thoughts that I will be sharing with you shortly.  I am sipping on a half priced green tea frappuccino and the sun is shinning brightly.  There’s a gentle breeze blowing to keep the sun’s heat at bay – it’s a beautiful day!

While reclining on the outdoor patio lounge I look up to captivate my swirling thoughts.  I see a mother and her small son visiting with a friend at the neighboring table.  The little boy looks like he’s about 3 years old.  He’s sucking down a vanilla bean frozen beverage while telling his mom a joyous story.  I can tell it’s a happy mental reenactment for him by the excitement in his voice and by the smile he wears from ear to ear.  He is a handsome blonde-headed little guy.

………I sure felt Mother’s Day this year.

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!

7 Comments

  1. Kathy Daw said,

    05/11/2011 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan, I think of you often and pray for you. Those photos on facebook of Warren/P3, sure did make me feel sad for everyone and the situations we are forced to face. It’s like getting an assignment and wondering if we’ll pass!
    I hope the sun felt like a hug, because that’s what I prayed for you today!

    • 05/11/2011 at 11:50

      Kathy, It was a beautiful evening to sit outside! I was starting to feel the weighted feelings coming over me, so I did something about it and got out. God heard your prayers and certainly has been hugging me tight. THANK YOU!

      We’ll only pass if we decide to cling to Him BEFORE the test comes. ~Love You All Lots!

      PS. Give your girl a hug for me 😉

  2. mnickles7 said,

    05/11/2011 at 11:50

    You know, I started to feel sorry for myself because my husband was gone & it was just me w/ the kids, like it usually is. There was no one to make it “special” or allow me to take a break. However, when getting ready for church, my son brought me a bowl of cereal. I had told that I wasn’t hungry & thanked him. He responded by telling me that he gave me the animal cereal (gluten-free) with the nut milk (almond milk). He knew my dietary needs and was thoughtful enough to get me breakfast. 🙂 I then went to the kitchen to enjoy my cereal with my son. Afterward, I had to take care of the usual mom chores, but I was still happy w/ my day! I am blessed to have the 2 beautiful & awesome kids that I have. When we look for negative, you’ll find it. When you look for the positive, you’ll find that as well. I started looking for negative on Mother’s Day, but my son brought out the positive. God is good!

    • mnickles7 said,

      05/11/2011 at 11:50

      Trying to type and work with kids never seems to go well. I don’t feel I get my thoughts across properly and I tend to make type-o’s. Any how, you will have your heart’s desires…….God promises that! 🙂 I pray for you regularly, blessings my beautiful friend!

      • 05/11/2011 at 11:50

        Thanks Michelle! I was hoping this little thought did not come across in a negative light. I am grateful I am not a mother with my present circumstance. God was gracious in His delay since He knew Warren would go home young. I only want to be a mother if there is a father present. I have single parent friends and they absolutely amaze me!

        Your son has a sweet tender heart! You both teach him well. This story makes me giggle even hearing it the second time. “Animal cereal and nut milk”…LOL!

  3. mnickles7 said,

    05/11/2011 at 11:50

    Oh no, you came across fine. I was afraid that I came across abrupt. I apologize if I did, I didn’t mean to!


Leave a Reply

