Am I Lovable?


“You have programmed your brain with earthly techniques for satisfying your needs for love and self-esteem, or perhaps for believing yourself to be unworthy of either, thus living your life to keep love away because it makes you uncomfortable.”  – 40 Days to Freedom

I have wrestled most of my life to believe that I am worthy of love.  I can believe it for everyone else, but I always place limitations on my own ability to be lovable.  It’s still hard for me to grasp that God Himself loves me, says I’m worthy, and wants me to know without question that He has created me to be highly valuable.  My feelings may not line up with this truth, but I must set my mind on who God says I am.

“Then God saw everything that He had made, and indeed it was very good.” – Genesis 1:31a

People can be cruel.  They cripple us with their deceit and selfish acts, but God does not make junk and plans good things for us, (Jeremiah 29:11-13).  Even before conception, He looked at you and me and said, “It is good.”

“Then God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness….So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them.  Then God blessed them…” – Genesis 1:26a, 27-28a

To be created in God’s imagine = Breathlessly Captivating!

My wounds from this world often cause me to question my “lovability.”  These are the times that I must tune my ears and focus my mind on truth.  God treasures me far beyond what my words can illustrate.  He sacrificed  His own son on a cross that had my name written on it.  To say I am unworthy of love, it to say that Jesus is not enough.

We can love and be loved, if we tap into love.

Monetary things can never add up enough to buy your value.  YOU ARE A PRICELESS TREASURE!

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!

6 Comments

  1. 06/01/2011 at 11:50

    I think we struggle to believe that the One who knows evereything about us could possibly still find us loveable. But as your friend, I can say with total certainty that you are EXTREMELY loveable nad I can’t wait to see the man God has set aside just for you. I love you!

    • 06/01/2011 at 11:50

      I love your point! Very True! As for the “man God has set aside just for me,” he’s gonna have to be patient and strong…LOL!

      I love you dearly my friend, and I am so excited to see how God is blessing you. It’s fun to watch prayers being answered.

  2. Juliette said,

    06/01/2011 at 11:50

    I went to tea with a friend a while back, she seemed pretty tired and worn out. As we were talking and starting to relax a little I asked her what she loves to do for fun, you know, like a favorite past time, hobby? She gave me the strangest look as if I asked her the most difficult question in the world, then a tear came to her eye and she said, “I don’t know…sleep?” Well, as my precious friend began to open her heart to me she said, “How can it be that I have been a christian all of my life and now I am struggling with knowing God loves me…I mean I know He loves me but I really don’t KNOW He loves me.”
    I am so amazed at the amount of people, when being completely honest, struggle with this same thing! Isn’t it going to be a great day when we won’t have to struggle with these fleshly bodies anymore! I believe that day is coming real soon! Yea!

    • 06/03/2011 at 11:50

      Oh Juliette, I’ve been your friend. I’ve been the person who didn’t have a hobby and I was afraid I would disappoint people if I allowed myself to fail trying to find one. Now, I don’t mind the failing forward, if there’s something that really interest me to try.

      It’s going to be more wonderful than words can describe when we are free from this worlds sway and it’s lies.

  3. mnickles7 said,

    06/04/2011 at 11:50

    Shannan, I also struggle with the very same thoughts. Not from recent things, but things from the past. I struggle with being worthy of anyone’s love and especially God’s. I am finally realizing what all has lead me to believe that all of these years and caused my self-destruction. I am in prayer daily for God’s healing power and to be able to see myself as He sees me, not as man does. I get my worthiness from God, not from any man. I get my acceptance from God, not from any man. (and I’m using ‘man’ simply for the use of any human, not a man specifically) I am SO amazingly blessed with a great and Godly man that is praying with me through all things and loves me unconditionally even through all of my many imperfections! God is SO great and amazing!

  4. 12/02/2011 at 11:50

    love is in us-thank you


Leave a Reply

