“What Is Our Hope In This Moment?”


As I’ve been sitting here meditating on and writing another blog that has me so excited, my mom left a message on my phone asking me to pray.  I could hear her tenderized heart as she made her request.  Not only will I be going to see my brother in prison in the coming days, but I will also be going to visit with a family member in their last few days of life.  She is dying of pancreatic cancer.  I’ve faced many earthly graves over the last few years, but even with this recent call I am filled with hope.

Hope is more present now than I’ve ever been aware of before.

“What is our hope in this moment?”

“The grave IS overwhelmed.”

I pray with tears today, but “There’s an anchor for my soul.”  The victory is already won!

“So when this corruptible has put on incorruption, and this mortal has put on immortality, then shall be brought to pass the saying that is written: “Death is swallowed up in victory.”  “ O Death, where is your sting?  O Hades, where is your victory?”  – 1 Cor. 15:554-55

“When this darkness breaks to light…Jesus has overcome.”

I ask for your prayers for my upcoming trip and for the words that need to be spoken, for my brother’s salvation and comfort for my family member (they’ve asked to remain anonymous).  Please pray that it’s Jesus they see and experience and not me.

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!”

The reason we can have hope today and not just for tomorrow will be shared in my next blog, “There’s Only One Word For This!”

An Update To Clarify – It is NOT my mother who is sick.  I just want to make sure I don’t mislead.  It is another family member who is battling the illness.

12 Comments

  1. 07/06/2011 at 11:50

    I will be praying for your brother’s salvation, the family member with cancer, and that God will use you and show His love through you.

  2. 07/06/2011 at 11:50

    Prayers are rising for you, for your trip, for your brother, and for your family.

    In the midst of sorrow and pain there is joy – I can sense it – looking forward to your next blog.

    • 07/06/2011 at 11:50

      Thank You Penny, You are so right! All the trials are worth being able to know what “The peace that surpasses ALL understanding” means. (Phil. 4:7)

  3. Clinton said,

    07/06/2011 at 11:50

    I pray that you have a safe trip, we pray for your mother not to worry, God is watching over her,I pray as you witness to your brother that in prison about salvation , and that he gets saved, I pray for this one lady that has cancer, I hope and pray that she is saved, I pray that she gets healed and be cancer free, If this is God will for her to stay on this earth a long time,we pray its Jesus they see, and that God well use youand show his love through you.

    God bless you Shannan, we love you.

    Love,

    Clinton & Loraine

    P.S. looking forward to your next blog.

    • 07/06/2011 at 11:50

      Clinton and Loraine, I knew I could count on your prayers. Thank You Both! With all the praying people this trip can be nothing less than divine and successful!

  4. Bob Teeple said,

    07/06/2011 at 11:50

    I hope and pray that your visit to your brother, and family member who is dying, will enrich their lives in some way. I had a younger brother who died of pancreatic cancer, and it was very hard to accept his death. You are not alone in this, so please rely on God and others for comfort and support.

    • 07/06/2011 at 11:50

      Thank you Bob. I am sorry to hear about your brother. Death will never make sense to us, but thankfully God is faithful and compassionate through all the trials we face. The one thing I have learned over the years, is I cannot make it without my family and friends. Just as we were never meant to understand death, were are not created to walk alone either.

  5. Gary said,

    07/07/2011 at 11:50

    Shannan, We are praying and we are believing. We pray for anointed strength for you during your trip. We love you in the Lord Jesus, G&B

    • 07/08/2011 at 11:50

      Love You Both! Thank you for your beautiful prayers you offer up for me. I’m exited to see what God has planned 🙂

  6. Gloria said,

    07/11/2011 at 11:50

    Apply the blood and His Name… The Name above all names!
    Our prayers are with you, Shannan… We love you!

  7. 07/20/2011 at 11:50

    […] my faithful readers, you will remember me asking you to pray for this visit in my post, “What Is Our Hope In This Moment”.  I was starting to wonder if God was going to give me the opportunity to talk with Tracy about […]


Leave a Reply

