There’s Only One Word For This!


I had no words, so I asked the Holy Spirit how I should pray.

I have so many people on my heart for various reasons, and I’ve come to a loss for words when I pray for them.  As I asked for this wisdom I was reminded of the most powerful prayer we can pray.  I was reminded where it is that we find everything we need and where all that we long for is discovered.  One word came to my mind to offer on behalf of my friends – “Jesus”!  This is all the Spirit spoke to my heart, and He is more than enough.  This is where restoration not only begins but where it is complete.

A Broken Heart – JESUS!

A Broken Home – JESUS!

Financial Issues – JESUS!

In Sickness – JESUS!

In Loneliness – JESUS!

In Need Of Forgiveness – JESUS!

In The Valley Of The Shadow Of  Death – JESUS!

In The Valley Of Depression – JESUS!

I offered no other words, but as I spoke His name over each person that came to mind all the trials of this world suddenly became powerless.

Throughout my childhood and into the beginning years of my marriage, I struggled with the words “thank you” and “I love you”.  I was full of gratitude and loved deeply, but when words are rarely heard, they can feel like a foreign language rolling off your own tongue.  I remedied this problem by putting into practice a very simple solution, I started saying them.  As silly as it sounds now, it wasn’t easy for me to speak these words at first, but the more I did the easier they became.  Now I value every moment I have to sincerely express these emotions.

About six months ago I realized how rare it was for me to say the name of Jesus.  I talked about God and had no problem with referring to Jesus as Lord, but to say His name was more rare than common.  I sang gospel songs for years that used His name, but to actually speak the name of the One that I call friend did not come easily.  With my new awareness I had to ask myself , Why don’t I say His name?  Why is it so uncomfortable for me to do?

I don’t know that I have one good reason to give you in answer to my self-imposed questions, with the exception of my previous childhood example.  So, I drew from the lesson I learned with those most precious words of “thank you” and “I love you”, and I applied the same prescription to solve this newly discovered language barrier – I started saying His name.

Having my tongue tied up in knots and unable to breathe His name out loud, as I would with any of my other friends, kept me from so many blessings and freedoms.  When I say “blessings”, I’m not at all implying Jesus to be likened to a genie in a bottle, that when called on He gives us all the earthly toys we want.  No, He’s a much better father than that.  The sweetest blessings to me are seeing a prayer answered for a hurting friend, or witnessing a lost soul meet Jesus and come to know that they are worth far more than their social status or job title.  This freedom can only come one way, at the name of Jesus.

“For this reason, God highly exalted Him, and bestowed upon Him the name which is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow, of those in heaven, and of those on earth, and of those under the earth, and that every tongue will confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.” – Philippians 2:9-11

When we are a part of God’s family, it isn’t bondage that makes us bow our knees, but the joy of our freedom in Christ.  I get more and more excited as I think on this topic and discuss it with friends.  Will you allow me to elaborate on my thoughts for just a moment?

The scripture states that, “every knee will bow…and every tongue will confess…”  I don’t know about you, but I always read this scripture with the mindset that this is a futuristic happening.  My mind heard it as, “When Jesus returns at the end of time, every knee will bow and every tongue will confess that He is Lord.”  But that’s not what it says!  It says that at the name of Jesus every knee will bow – PERIOD.  This excites me because I realize that now, at this very moment, there are knees bowing as I speak His name.

“For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age,against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.”  -Eph. 6:12

If we are wrestling here and now then we need now power.  What is our now power?  Jesus!

““Most assuredly, I say to you, he who believes in Me, the works that I do he will do also; and greater works than these he will do, because I go to My Father.  And whatever you ask in My name, that I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask anything in My name, I will do it (Again, it’s in the now, not just somewhere in the future).”  -John 14:12-14

If we are going to do greater works than Jesus did, then we must recognize how that’s even possible.  How can I have faith to be victorious if I don’t know where faith begins?  Just think, when we speak His name, all that we are wrestling in the spiritual world must bow and submit to the authority of Christ.

Many have given me the humbling compliment of “You’re Strong.”  My strength is knowing that my strength is only because of Christ in me.  I am not “strong” by my own merit.  I’m lost without Him.  I’m too tired without Him.  I’m too broken by this world without Him.  But JESUS!!!  He is my energy to press on.  He is my wholeness.  In Him alone I am found!

My Peace – Jesus!

My Hope – Jesus!

My Joy – Jesus!

My Healing – Jesus!

My Ability To Forgive – Jesus!

My Ability To Trust – Jesus!

My Ability To Love – Jesus!

On The Mountaintop of success – JESUS!

Anything Good In Me – JESUS!

My Source Of Strength…

“Darkness knows its Lord and the prince of darkness is not its lord.” – Pastor Austin Cagle

JESUS!!!

They Bow Down.

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!

10 Comments

  1. 07/07/2011 at 11:50

    Thank you for that blog Shannan. It does cover all things in life with one name, JESUS ❤

  2. Tracey Paris said,

    07/07/2011 at 11:50

    JESUS. His name is power! Thank you Shannan another God honouring post. Another reminder to speak HIS name the name of JESUS when you do not know the words! Awesome and so perfectly timed. Thank you and Bless you! Love you much and miss you!

  3. Betty Harford said,

    07/07/2011 at 11:50

    Shannan, thank you for helping me to remember once again that it is all about Jesus! I have made my move to Alaska and am seeking the Lord for my purpose here. Love your writings. Please continue and say a prayer for me when you get a chance.

    • 07/08/2011 at 11:50

      Wow Betty! You’ve been thinking about and planning that move for a long time. I pray God’s timing is perfect and He bless you abundantly. Sometimes He has to up-root us in order to use us in the most effective way. Hey, Alaska is one place I’ve never been 😉

  4. Lori said,

    07/08/2011 at 11:50

    Everyday God reveals more and more of Himself to us through Jesus.
    No matter how big or how small a revelation…..He is revealing Himself to us. Sometimes we get so busy, that we don’t hear Him. I’ve started talking to Him about everything that I do during the day, so that we are doing it together. It’s amazing what happens when He is a part of every activity during our day. I always read your blogs, even though I don’t always respond. Thank you for sharing your revelations with others. You are a blessing and I do love you my dear sister in Christ!

  5. Michelle said,

    07/08/2011 at 11:50

    I totally get not being able to say “I love you”! I have always been able to say it to my kids and husband, but no one else. I never heard it growing up either. I also have never been good at receiving gifts. My husband now has me spolied and I’m getting better. 🙂 Having a Godly man that is truly amazing has been an overwhelming blessing!

  6. 07/13/2011 at 11:50

    Shannan,
    This gave me chills when I read it!! I, too, always viewed it as futuristic, but you’re right it’s not worded that way at all!! Thank you so much for sharing this – I learned a very powerful truth tonight!!!

  7. 07/20/2011 at 11:50

    […] feel the principalities and powers drop to their knees every time we mentioned the name of Jesus, so I took every chance to speak His mighty name.  On the way into the prison that morning I […]

  8. Steve Markey said,

    09/19/2011 at 11:50

    Thank you for your blog. Can tell me where I can get this picture?


Leave a Reply

