I’ve Been BeDazzled!


I ran 4.3 miles yesterday morning.  My body wanted to quit as I went round and round each lap, but I kept pressing on to finish the goal I had set for the morning.

Often times I can look ahead to focus on the finish line in my mind, but yesterday I had to take it one lap at a time.  As I crossed the finish line for the first lap, I then set my next goal.  “Just one more lap”, I would tell myself.  I’d lean in and keep my legs moving forward as I located the most motivating song on my ipod.  I finished lap number five, and once again I said “No” to my quitting mind and pressed through to complete my last circle of pavement covered hills.

Lap number six was different from the first five.  I gained a confidence that I could complete my race.  My mind stopped begging me to turn around and go home.  I was no longer hearing its cry to give-up, and its screams telling me to just try again tomorrow.  Suddenly I felt strength rise up in my mind, my legs, and most of all in my heart.  I began to look around and enjoy the trees and rays of sun trying to pierce through overcast sky.  Then, I saw it!

How could I have missed it?  It was really shiny – like new!  Five times I ran this exact course this morning, and five times I missed it!  But there it was, right at my feet, a dazzling dime.  Yep, a whole ten cents!  I slowed my pace, then stopped to take hold of my tiny little treasure.  I held that dime for another whole lap, and I thought much about it.

How often do I miss the treasures along my life’s path?  How often do we, as a society, fail to see the beauty of life today?  That dime was there the whole time, but I was reaching for something else.  I was so focused on just finishing my run, so that I could get working on all the other things that needed to be conquered in the day, that I was missing the gift in my journey.

I know the thought of finding ten cents doesn’t seem to be a huge deal to most of us, but on this day this small prize seemed to have a voice.  I’ll be honest, when I first spotted it I was tempted to keep running.  I had a good stride and I was almost to the finish line.  I had to adjust my mindset to truly realize it’s value.  Only when I stopped to pick the dime up did I really begin to see the treasure I held in my hands.  The value of the dime is $0.10.  The value of the lesson learned by me taking the time to stop and pick it up is priceless.  So often we run through life and miss enjoying the blessings that have already been given to us.

“Therefore he said, “Pick it up for yourself.”  So he reached out his hand and took it.”  – 2 Kings 6:7

So often we do this with the people in our lives.  We’re so consumed with trying to gain the temporary high that comes when we can cross something else off of our “To Do” list, we fail to realize the value they add.  It seems I am hearing on a daily basis of couples giving up on their marriages to seek greener pastures on the other side of the fence.  What we fail to hear is the follow-up to those stories months or years after their decision to quit was made.  The greener pasture on the other side of the fence needs to be watered and mowed just like the other lawn did, and most often, the forfeited blessing is what becomes what is again longed for.  The only fairy tale life that exist is the one we work to make happen.

As I set my hands to work on the things that must be accomplished today, I will purpose to give thanks for each thing.  I will thank God for my home that needs to be cleaned – again.  I will be grateful for my car as I vacuum out the crumbs of all the yesterdays – days I cannot get back but now treasure on a much deeper level.  I will look at my never-ending list of “Things To Do” and be grateful for the health to do them, and I will trust that God will continue to open my eyes to see all the dazzling dimes along my path.

To those of you who’ve allowed me the privilege to share my thoughts over the years, and to those of you who stand close to me in my everyday life, I greatly value you.  You have BeDazzled my life!

Will you share with me a way your life has been bedazzled?

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!

NOTHING LESS!

6 Comments

  1. Brandon said,

    08/10/2011 at 11:50

    Another GREAT blog Shannan, thanks for BeDazzling all of us!!!

    • 08/17/2011 at 11:50

      We’re going to need some serious shades if we keep BeDazzling each other! 🙂

  2. 08/10/2011 at 11:50

    You write so well Shannan. Regarding that dime, it would have made me smile for sure, I can use all the dimes I can get. 🙂 Your blogs as always are a good dose of what God wants me to see.

    • 08/17/2011 at 11:50

      What wonderful inspiration Alethea. If one can find hope and encouragement through my simple thoughts then I have a purpose for the day! Thank You!

  3. Clinton said,

    08/10/2011 at 11:50

    Another great blog Shannan, we think its wonderful what you wrote, thanks for BeDazzling all of us! God bless you, we love you Shannan.

    How was the trip to S,Carolina last month, was there a lot of people there where you made your speach , was there anyone got saved?

    We been praying for you Shannan.

    Love,

    Clinton & Loraine

    • 08/17/2011 at 11:50

      Clinton & Loraine, Thank you for always being an encouragement! May God bless you both with health and wonderful peace. As for South Carolina, I will not be traveling there until May of 2012. So keep praying 😉


Leave a Reply

