Delay or Denial?


God’s delay does not mean His denial.

About a year after Warren died God told me to start collecting news papers because I would be moving.  So, I started collecting the papers and I started looking at houses with my realtor.

I remember taking a walk one morning about six months after God’s command to hoard packing materials.  I was so frustrated and extremely exhausted from traveling from county to county.  I was looking at all different kinds of houses, condo’s, and town-homes, and searched many different styles of community living as well as free-standing private lots.  My frustration turned into my own adult form of whining to God about where I was and where I was not at by this point in my life.  Everyone was telling me how strong I was, and how they look up to me for what I have stood through since my husband’s death.  But at this point in time I was less strong than I was anxious inside, and I was letting God know about it.

My prayer went a little like this, “God, You said to gather paper to pack.  Why do I still feel like I’m spinning in circles?  None of these houses fit my budget, nor come close to something I can handle on my own.  Or, they seem perfect but You say “No”.  I’m at a loss.   And, You have yet to tell me any other “next step” in my life in regard to anything else I am to do or be.  Still being stuck in this place, after all this time, cannot possibly be Your leading.  It must be an issue of me missing whatever it is You want me to do.  God everyone keeps asking me what I’m “doing” now and all I can tell them is I’m waiting to hear from you.  What do You want me to do?”

I’m shaming myself as I write out my memories for you.  God can handle my prayers prayed in frustration, and I know He has compassion when they are prayed from a sincere heart.  I know He wants to hear from me and is even more saddened by the painful place I have been in than I will ever be, but He is more concerned with what will benefit me long-term and not just in the moment.  But the shame that I feel now, is coming to the realization of how selfish my prayer was and knowing how often I continue to pray from a heart of frustration rather than a heart of surrender and trust.

A wise friend post this to his Facebook page a few days ago:

“You can’t go through life quitting everything.  If you’re going to achieve anything, you’ve got to stick with the vision God has given you.  Never think that God’s delays are God’s denials.  Hold on.  Hold fast.  With ordinary talent and extraordinary perseverance, all things are attainable while God accomplishes what no man can hinder.  Don’t allow pride, fear, or disappointments to steal your hope and future”

He went on to say:

“There is something unique about patience.  One of its meanings is “the ability to tolerate delay” however it’s the very thing we all struggle to practice.  Yet when we willfully engage with this aspect of love it has overwhelming potential to change our perspective.”

My anxiousness and level of frustration came because I chose to do more than God told me to do.  It was nothing more than arrogance on my part to think I knew God’s plan beyond His command.   God never told me to look for my new home, He simply said to gather a packing tool.  God never told me when I would be moving or where I would be moving to, just to gather the paper that would be needed for packing.

After my prayer, or my emotional verbal meltdown, God so simply stated, “You’ll move when it’s safe.”  He is so patient.  I stopped looking at homes that were for sale for almost a full year.  This time I waited for God’s leading to start my search.  I’ve been in my house for three years now.  My finding and obtaining this home was a miracle from every angle.  Not only is this house a reminder to me that God is never too late, but it remains a testimony to those involved in the process of me getting it.  My realtor called me to ask for prayer a few weeks back.  From the start of my search for a home to the final signature on the closing papers, she witnessed God do the impossible.  Who would have thought that the purchase of a house would show God’s absolute love and care for His own?

” Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding.  In all your ways know, recognize, and acknowledge Him, and He will direct and make straight and plain your paths.” – Proverbs 3:5-6 (amplified)

There was great delay in timing from my perspective, but that delay was never a denial from God.  Oh Yeah!  By the way, I had exactly enough news paper to pack up all my belongings.

What does God want us to do?  He wants us to seek Him and trust Him.  He’s not concerned with what others think.  God’s primary issue is that our life is a reflection of Him.

~Shannan

2011, Keeping It Real!

Give It to Christ (By Max Lucado)

“The One who comes from above is greater than all.”  John 3:31
“They have no more wine,” Mary told Jesus (John 2:3).  That’s it. That’s all she said.  She didn’t go ballistic.  She simply assessed the problem and gave it to Christ . . . Next time you face a common calamity, follow Mary’s example: Identify the problem. (You’ll half-solve it.)  Present it to Jesus. (He’s happy to help.)  Do what he says. (No matter how crazy it may seem.)” – Max Lucado

5 Comments

  1. 08/25/2011 at 11:50

    I love the statement, ‘God’s delays are not His denials’. Such a great reminder.

  2. Bob Teeple said,

    08/26/2011 at 11:50

    I’m glad that God helped you find a house, and that he helped me find one as well. I guess we’re blessed in some way to be in the same neighborhood.

  3. 08/31/2011 at 11:50

    I think our prayers can be both from a “heart of frustration,” and a “heart of surrender.”

    Yet, I understand your point. 🙂

  4. 09/07/2011 at 11:50

    […] to finish talking over a few things with the police.*  We were saddened by the outcome of that delay, but what did transpire at ten o’clock that morning has been what I call a God hug in the […]


Leave a Reply

