Putting Footsteps To The Test


“The steps of a good man are ordered by the Lord, And He delights in his way.” – Psalm 37:23

I’ve been thinking a lot about these words. So often we hear this verse and our mind goes straight to the big moments in life. We think about the successes of our business, or the birth of a child.  We think about the miracle of a physical healing or about a debt being cleared.  Rarely do we recognize the miraculousness of the everyday.  Psalm 37 doesn’t say that the moments we deem significant are ordered by God, it states “The steps”, each and every step, is clearly directed by God, so I decided to put this to the test.

I had left the Starbucks parking lot without getting my coffee because it was so busy.  To be completely truthful, I also had to be somewhere that evening and wanted to avoiding certain conversations.  I drove over to the mall where I have a “buy so many drinks get one free” punch card, and I also knew a quick in-and-out escape path to take.  I had my fast route all figured out.

All I had to do was go through the store and up the escalator to the kiosk.  With all the thoughts of God ordering my footsteps still twirling through my mind, I paused as I was walking out of Macy’s into the mall.  There I stood in the middle of the entrance literally staring down at my feet. “Ok God, You say You order my steps, so go ahead.  Lead my feet right now.”  In that moment I thought about Joshua at the shores of the Jordan.  He had to take a step.  He had to pick up one foot and put it in front of the other before God would lead him across the Jordan on dry ground.  That’s exactly what I chose to do.  I began to move from the spot where I was standing in trust that God would part whatever sea that was before me.

Suddenly, what felt like my plan, like any other everyday task, gained a new and powerful purpose. I knew that God was walking with me with each step I took. I passed a few smaller stores and aisle displays, then stepped onto the escalator and rode my way to the top. I walked over to the coffee stand and placed my order. By the time I placed my order and with the intoxicating smell of the freshly ground espresso beans, I left my utopia moment and now stood patiently in an ordinary line waiting for my drink to be placed in my hands. It only took a few minutes for my mind to be far away from my feet.  All of a sudden my Jordan River became a mall packed full of people rushing past each other to accomplish their agenda for the day. “Large, non-fat, extra hot, no foam latte'” I heard called from behind the counter as a worker set my drink in front of me.

While reaching for my drink I heard the voice of a young girl joining me in my moment, “Excuse me, did you happen to share your testimony at Christ Church a while back?” She asked. “Yes.  I spoke there two Easter’s ago.” I replied.  She then began to share with me how much my story had touched her that day. This young woman of God is a rising Christian artist, a worship leader, who was about to leave for a missions trip.  She was so excited, and I was excited to hear her deep desire and passion to reach those lost with the talent God gave her.  As she spoke, I knew I stood before one anointed by God – her courage was contagious.  Her mom came up and joined our conversation while we talked for a good 40 minutes.  In closing, we exchanged our Facebook information and she asked me one final question. She asked, “If there was only one piece of advice you could give, what would it be?”  I thought for a moment and prayed in my mind.  I did not want to offer a fluffy word or throw out another Christianeeze phrase.  “Follow God’s peace above anything else”, I said. “Even when that peace leads you against all of mans logic.  Do not step until you have God’s peace.”  Then we jumped back into the rat-race of our individual evening plans, but I left changed.

There was that word, step, in my answer to this sweet soul that called out to me in the middle of a crowed mall.  While walking back to my car that night, I remembered what I had prayed less than an hour earlier as I walked into that ordinary mall, on that ordinary night, to buy an ordinary drink, from an ordinary kiosk.  “Ok God, You say You order my steps, so go ahead.  Lead my feet right now.”  WOW!  I never expected Him to trust me with the heart of this precious young lady, and I had no idea the blessing I’d receive in return.  God hears when we call to Him, and He answers.

Not only does God lead each and every step we take, but “He delights in each step!”  We’re not always watching so closely for a leading or an answer to our questions, but that does not deter God from fulfilling His plan.  He very clearly works in our everyday tasks. From this experience I’ve just shared, I’d say that God was guiding me as I stepped onto that platform on Easter Sunday 2 1/2 years ago.  Who would have thought that God would continue to use a 5 minute testimony so many months later?  This makes me wonder what else He is using that I am unaware of?  Never underestimate the power of ordinary.  You never know the lasting impact this very moment will have.

How has God worked in an ordinary moment for you?  Are you willing to put your next footsteps to the test?

~Shannan

Unconditionally Walking With Him In 2012

“Still Keeping It Real!”

“…do not step until you have God’s peace”.

For those near St. Louis, MO.  I will be speaking on March 4th at 6:00 pm, First Assembly Of God Collinsville, IL

14 Comments

  1. Bill Butler said,

    02/28/2012 at 11:50

    Awesome how you let God direct your mind and steps walking through His Word. It’s an important reminder to keep Him first in all we do.
    Thank you for sharing Shannan. It’s very inspiring!
    Have a wonder-filled day!

    • 02/28/2012 at 11:50

      Oooo, I like that! “Have a wonder-filled day!” I’m going to let that marinade….

  2. Lori said,

    02/28/2012 at 11:50

    Thank you, Shannon!
    Have a blessed day.

  3. Frances said,

    02/28/2012 at 11:50

    I have to leave a comment. I think you were speaking to me today. This morning in my devotions, I read John 16-25-33. The last verse Jesus says to his disciples that his act of obedience to be crucified was done so that they (we) could have peace! Jesus even encourages them 9we) to be courageous for he has conquered the world!

    I love what you said to that gift, “Follow God’s peace!” He surely did pay a great price for us to live in the world with Peace! I agree with you that we should follow it regardless of what makes sense or illogical.

    Thank you!

    • 02/28/2012 at 11:50

      So Awesome Frances! I get really encouraged when people free themselves and leave me a comment here on my site. It’s a real help, especially when I hear a testimony like this one. It’s so exciting when we see and hear God so clearly. We need to hear each others experiences! Thank You!

  4. Alicen said,

    02/28/2012 at 11:50

    I was traveling alone, boarding a plane, as I returned from a trip for work. I chose my seat and looked out the window. An elderly lady sat besdie me and I smiled at her, said hi, and asked her where she was traveling to…she told me and then continued to talk about some personal matters in her life. She continued and began to cry. I didn’t want her to cry so I offered my sympathy and tried to lighten the conversation by changing the subject. She was fine for a minute, but then continued talking about the situation in her life and began to cry again. I listened closer this time, I gave her my sincere attention, and listened as she cried. I offered her encouragement as she talked. She did stop crying and left the plane with a smile.

    We are all vessels and with the help of the Holy Spirit we can put wind back into peoples’ sails! People can leave an ordinary situation cruising faster in life because we, as Christians, allowed God to work through us!

    • 02/29/2012 at 11:50

      Beautiful Alicen. We so often forget that many of the largest impacts in life come from small gestures. In a world that’s so busy all of the time, with so much “needing” to be done, we miss these precious moments. People are just longing to be heard, or simply seen. Thanks for sharing!

  5. Heidi said,

    02/29/2012 at 11:50

    I love readiing about how God is working in your life and through you. I really am in a difficult time of my life and this truely hit me hard I am so thankful for you Shannan. And just to let you know you have touched my life as well, I met you and Warren at our home church in Lincoln, ME back in 2003 maybe 2004. You and Warren have always had a special place in my heart, I will always be so grateful to God that He allowed you both to cross my path 🙂

    Maybe someday I will be able to tell you exactly how God used your music and our meeting to help me in my life.

    Thank you and God Bless

    • 02/29/2012 at 11:50

      Thank You Heidi! Your words took me back to when Warren and I first started out into full-time ministry. Our first long trip was out to NB, Canada and ME. That first trip was June or July of 1998. Boy were we rough! Ha! I would LOVE to hear the story you have to share. I pray God will continue to speak to your heart today. May the Holy Spirit comfort you and give you His peace.

  6. Kelly J. Sims said,

    03/06/2012 at 11:50

    “Large, non-fat, extra hot, no foam latte’”

    Reminds me of the Friends’ episode where, after taking a customer’s order, Rachel says, “OK, let me get this right. You want a large, non-fat, extra whip, extra hot, no foam latte.”

    The guy nods his head.

    She walks away and says, “FREAK.”

  7. Kelly J. Sims said,

    03/06/2012 at 11:50

    I wasn’t saying you’re a freak… BTW. I was making a joke.

    Friends is still hilarious to me!

    • 03/06/2012 at 11:50

      Oh Kelly, you beat to a reply on your last comment. I was going to make you feel bad for just a moment… I know you are sweet and would never call me a freak on my own site…LOL! I cannot say I’ve seen that episode, but I’m sure it was a very funny moment. Just hearing about it made me laugh 🙂 Hope your day is a beautiful one!

  8. 12/14/2012 at 11:50

    […] gave a young girl last year when she asked for just one word of direction.  My words to her were, “Follow God’s peace above anything else.  Even when that peace leads you against all ma…  Yep, it’s time to swallow my own pill of advice – against all man’s […]


Leave a Reply

