I’m In Love…


…with people!

This past Thursday I was wiping down my kitchen walls, doing laundry, and vacuuming the cobwebs above my cupboards that seemed to appear overnight, etc, etc, etc…  As I danced around my washing machine and climbed to the top corners of my ceiling, I felt hope rise to the point that I began to smile and sing the praise chorus that echoed through my mind.  “You make, All things work together for my good…”  Nothing has changed.  Nothing new is in view.  No “Aha” moment has been had, yet hope and joy walked beside me.  I believe their presence had something to do with my conversation I had with God during my run on Tuesday morning.

While soaking in the brisk air and the sun’s rays I found myself reminiscing over this past weekend.  I had traveled to Illinois to share my testimony at a church just 12 miles east of St. Louis, MO.  On my way home I made a stop in Marion, IL to tape a TV spot at the TCT Network.  It’s not the spotlight that I enjoy, I’m ok without that, but through my weekend travels I discovered a deeper love I now have for people.  Since childhood I’ve been one who befriended the friendless.  I attribute this soft spot in my heart to my own understanding of being the unpopular, or the invisible one myself, but something is different inside of me now.

So many people, of all ages, began to share their stories with me after I spoke on Sunday night.  As each person handed me their heart, both the joys and the sorrows, I was captivated by them.  What a precious honor it was to have my elders ask my opinion regarding the thoughts and feelings some experience during grief.  No doubt they could teach me a wealth of knowledge from their own experiences of loss, yet they chose to trust one some 40 years younger than themselves.  Wow!  I also chatted with some who were probably 15-20 years younger than I am.  I loved each one individually yet the same.  So on Tuesday morning as I began my run, with one foot coming down in front of the other and my hands open and turned toward the sky, my prayer went something like this;

“Lord, Thank You for continuing to transform my heart – it’s all You.  I feel change is in the air.  I’m not sure what You are doing and I’m not going to try to figure it out this time.  I’m done guessing, and I’m done trying to pick up what everyone else tells me I should or should not be.  I will allow You to unfold Your purpose and reason for each step You lead me to take.  I realize there are areas in my life that I have picked up a false sense of control, for this I am sorry.  I can do nothing without You giving me the ability.  I cannot walk, run, breathe, or get my countertops clean enough*, without You enabling me to do so.  So, I am choosing to let go of all my preconceived ideas.  It will take me some time to learn how to let go and I will need reminded often, but I am releasing all the restrictions I’ve set in order for You to bless me.  I have been wrong far too often and You are never wrong.  I trust You.  Lord, please show me clearly where, when, how, and who.”

I must admit that I’m just a little nervous after this prayer, but why not put words of faith into an adventurous action?  I believe that the dreams of my heart are far better off being molded in God’s hands than dictated by my minds logic.

If you become willing to open up and sincerely share your life’s story with others, you will find you are not as alone as you might think.  Everyone has a story!  Whether it be an internal struggle or an outward battle, we all have a story to tell and we all need each other to tell it.  Why not open up yourself to love others and let others love you back?  It doesn’t take a huge platform to be open with your heart, but it does take courage.

If you choose to be brave, just maybe you too will find hope and joy walking with you!  Better yet, maybe you will find yourself “In Love”!

~Shannan

Uncompromisingly Walking With Him In 2012.

“Still Keeping It Real!”

*some of you out there will understand my countertop statement in my prayer.  For those who do not, that’s for another blog 😉

11 Comments

  1. Neal Krulik said,

    03/12/2012 at 11:50

    Well written! This very truth I have come to learn this very weekend..even without hearing your precious testimony LOL… Ive been approached about opening up whats inside to others…not to whine but to encourage!! To live out Phil 4:10 and on…. to just let go… and be content in all things…hard to always do but sooooo necessary to be used effectively and to make all my pain and trials well worth the journey…

    yr doing great!!

    Neal

    • 03/13/2012 at 11:50

      Go figure that God is in Canada with you too Neal…LOL! I love hearing how God is giving the same message to others miles away. This lets me know that I’m hearing Him and taking the right steps. Just the act of speaking our stuff out loud releases us from a deceptive hold. So often I can correct my own mindset if I just get the thoughts out of my head. The truth sets me free and hopefully others that hear it also. I say go for it! If we must face pain in this journey, then we might as well allow God to receive glory and show off through it 🙂

      Thanks So Much!

  2. Kelly J. Sims said,

    03/12/2012 at 11:50

    Where? Proverbs 3:5-6

    When? Proverbs 3:5-6

    How? Proverbs 3:5-6

    Who? Proverbs 3:5-6

  3. Mary Free-Sullivan said,

    03/12/2012 at 11:50

    Never in a million years would I have dreamt or even prayed for God to use my testimony of childhood abuse within the prison walls…I have never been incarcerated, but I understand isolation….I have never committed a crime but I have sinned….I have experienced loneliness and pain, loss and guilt and shame…so for God to use me is absolutely awesome….I find it so rewarding, so uplifting and even liberating when I obey and share this horrible pain with men and women in prison…sometimes 2-3 times a week…..what an awesome God we serve…

    • 03/13/2012 at 11:50

      We may have walked a different journey than some Mary, but pain cuts us all deeply at some point in life. I have no doubt that you are beautifully impacting eternity! I have a brother in the Marion Cor. Institute, (Ohio). Do you ever go there?

  4. 05/14/2012 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan,
    My sister-in–law directed me to your site as she thought I’d like to see your posts. I recently published a book entitled Spoil ’em with Love (about spoiling your children and your loved ones with the fruit of the Spirit), and always love to connect with fellow writers. I’m also a “wordpress”er, ( journalingforhim.wordpress.com ) so it was fun to read your page. I’ve got to say that what Kelly J. Sims said in reply to your post spoke volumes to me today! I’m needing to go see my daddy in Florida (2000+ miles away), and where it seems impossible from a financial standpoint, God can do anything! He has already begun to make the trip a possibility, as two people have generously paid for two of my 4 plane tickets (for my boys and me). So being reminded about Proverbs 3:5-6 was very encouraging!
    I look forward to reading more of your posts on here. Many blessings to you and be sure to check out my blog as I’ll be writing all about our trip to see Papa on there!!!

    Blessings…Lisa

    • 05/16/2012 at 11:50

      Lisa, I LOVE your book title and the concept of it. If only all of us could remember these attributes daily, we’d live in a much kinder world. I pray God will provide over and above what you need to go see your Papa, and bless your travels with safety.

      Many blessings to you and your family Lisa

      • 05/16/2012 at 11:50

        Thanks so much Shannan! Our God is faithful and He is our provider! I pray His sweetest blessings over your ministry. If you’re ever in Colorado, let me know!

      • 05/23/2012 at 11:50

        I would love to come to Colorado! I will definitely keep you posted on any future trips.

      • 05/23/2012 at 11:50

        Sounds great! Please do! We can take you around and show you all the cool sights!


Leave a Reply

