What Is The Prayer Of Faith?


What Is The Prayer Of Faith?

I asked this question as I began decorating my house this past Christmas season.  Hanging in my kitchen is a plaque with the statement, “Faith is not knowing that God can, but knowing that God will.”   With the next festive item to be hung still in my hands, I began to ask God to help my unbelief.  I do believe God for many things, but as I read those words again I had to search my heart for the areas I still doubt.

I chose to decorate in faith this year.  I chose to push past the pains in my heart and hang a wreath of hope on the door of my house.  I chose to celebrate the very reason I can have a hope beyond my present circumstance.

“For unto us a Child is born, Unto us a Son is given…” – Isaiah 9:6a

I stood on a chair to add a few more decorations to the artificially snow-covered tree that I had strategically placed in the corner of my livingroom.  I had Bott Radio turned up loud enough that I could hear the story of a couple who chose to adopt several children.  I stood there in mid-air as a pain seared through my chest.

When you lose someone in your life you not only grieve their absence, but there comes along with that loss many secondary losses.  With tears in my eyes, I stood at my Christmas tree and grieved again the family that was stolen from me.  This is where the answer to my question came.

What Is The Prayer Of Faith?

Pushing past the loneliness of that moment, I stood suspended in hollow space and began to pray through my tears.  I thanked God for allowing me to be the one who walked beside Warren for the 9 1/2 years we were married.  I thanked God for all He had taught me through Warren, and I asked Him to hide those lessons in my heart so I will never forget them.  I then began to pray for my future children and their father.  I prayed as if they were already here.

“Before I formed you in the womb I knew you; Before you were born I sanctified you; I ordained you a prophet to the nations.”- Jeremiah 1:5

I prayed that my children would love God and desire to keep His commandments, so that they will be blessed and their children also.  I prayed for their physical health, and for their strength of mind and heart.  I asked God to bless their father for the strong godly man He is and is becoming.  I asked God to give him courage to lead His family according to scripture, and cause him to love God with his whole heart.  That’s just a little selfish on my part, because if he loves God then he will have the ability to love me.  I continued to pray for my future family as if they were already in the room.  I also asked God to transform me into the person He wanted me to be, so that I can be the best wife and mother possible – representing Him well.

Does this sound crazy to you?  Do you fear that I’m completely losing my mind?  My thoughts and prayers may sound crazy in a world that offers little hope, but my hope is not placed in this world.  My hope rest in the One who created this world and the very atmosphere it hangs in.  As for me losing my mind, I do believe I’m finally finding it.

Again, I ask.  What is the prayer of faith?

Faith does not just believe in a god who can, but it’s trusting that The God Who spoke and breathed life into existence sees and knows the dreams of our heart, and He will make a way in His perfect time.

Do not give up on your heart’s desire.  I read the Bible from cover to cover, and not once did God ever leave His own without fulfilling the promises He made.

Do you have a dream that you’re afraid to hope for any longer?  Take courage, keep trusting, and pray expecting.

~Shannan

Uncompromisingly Walking With Him In 2012!

Still Keeping It Real!

The “Prayer Of Faith” is not a blind leap, but it’s an educated eyes-wide-open trust that leads to beautiful fulfillment.

6 Comments

  1. vojoe said,

    03/26/2012 at 11:50

    If you’re losing your mind, I’m afraid we all are. I think we all ask these questions you’ve asked whether we’ve been through a similar pain you’ve been through or our own. Just know that you continue to be a light to those who know you and those who you meet each day.

    Note: I have noticed in my later years, that I can jump as high as I used to. I just can’t stay in the air as long.

    • William Butler said,

      03/26/2012 at 11:50

      Dear Shannan,

      Again, you speak from the heart. There’s only one who understands your loss and pain better than you, and you’re right to pray to Him.

      May Psalm 96 encourage you today.

      Warmest Regards…

  2. William Butler said,

    03/26/2012 at 11:50

    Dear Shannan,

    There is only one who understands your loss and pain better than you do, and you’re right to pray to Him!

    May beauty for ashes be yours, may the years be restored that the locusts have eaten, may you experience each day as a sacred gift woven around the heart of wonder.

    Love and Peace…

  3. kimberlywyse said,

    03/29/2012 at 11:50

    I often prayed for my future husband and children. Now I pray for my yet unborn, unconceived children. I even thank God for them in advance. I join you in praying for your future family as well.

  4. Janet & Blair Wilson said,

    05/05/2012 at 11:50

    Hello Shannan,

    My husband Blair and I were really uplifted and encouraged by your blog entry on faith. We are believing with you that the Lord will restore everything that has been stolen according to Joel 2:25. We are agreeing with you that the Lord will send someone very special into your life. Shannan you mentioned Jeremiah 1:5 in your blog. There is another verse that the Lord gave my husband to encourage you. It is Romans 4:17. It says that the Lord will call things into existence which do not exist as though they did. We will be praying for you this weekend as you share in South Carolina, that the Lord will anoint your words and give you extraordinary grace to deal with returning to a place of such great pain and loss.

    Have you ever met Phil Foster of Victory Promotions in Peterborough? He is my cousin.

    Blessings & Joy!

    Janet & Blair Wilson
    Ottawa, Ontario

    • 05/09/2012 at 11:50

      Janet & Blair, Thank you so very much for the sweet encouragement. I just looked up Romans 4:17 in the amplified Bible, “…Who gives life to the dead and speaks of the nonexistent things that [He has foretold and promised] as if they [already] existed.” AMEN! I am going to write this on an index card and place it on my refrigerator. Thank you for your prayers. I could not have survived the last 6 years without this amazing support, and still need it today. Thank you for believing with me also 🙂

      It’s a really small world, I do know Phil very well! He came and sang for Warren and I when we very first started out in ministry. Please say hello to him for me!

      Your prayers were answered for SC too. I will update here in WordPress land real soon!

      Many Blessings To You!


Leave a Reply

