Misery Loves Company


If we’re always pushing love away, we’re only making room for the very thing we fear most.

What Misery Invites Is Never Good!

You can fill in the blank when it comes to who or what is walking with you today.  Maybe isolation, deception, or liar have become your companions?  Until we’re willing to take a risk, we’ll never know the fulfillment we’re missing out on because of the fear we hold onto.

Directly or indirectly, I’ve been hurt by a lot of people throughout my 36 years.  At times I’ve allowed the pains these people caused to cripple me – sometimes for years.  The painful action of others became part of my identity.  My mind’s self-protect mode kicked in and hid the hurt so I could accomplish my daily tasks, but hiding from the pain does not make it go away.  Sometimes it’s not even hidden but that I simply let fear dictate which door my heart would open or slam shut.  Many times fear literally dictated which direction my feet would run.

In September, 2009, I sat in the JFK Airport waiting for my connecting flight to Nice, France.  Almost every ounce of my being wanted to run home.  I was well-aware that there was no turning back once I boarded the next flight.  For 16 days I would be in a country where I could not speak a word of their language.  I’d never traveled by myself before and fear was stealing my breath.  My heart was beating fast as I paced the concourse on my three-hour layover.  I walked, I sat, and then I walked some more.  I was certain God was going to send my replacement “sacrifice” like He did Abraham as he laid his only son Isaac on the altar.  I kept listening for the voice on the loud-speaker to announce the cancellation of the next international flight to France.  Nope.  Thirty minutes before take off I was summoned to walk the plank.  Sorry!  I mean jet way.  My free-will could  have turned me around to head back home to Tennessee, but in my heart I knew this was the path I was to take.

Once I made my way from the airport in Nice to my destination in Cannes, it took me two full days of tears before I could leave the villa I was staying in.  I thought for sure I would get a bill to replace the carpet from walking a hole in it.  After God allowed me to mope in my room for three days, allowing fear to steal away time, He spoke very clearly to me, “I did not bring you here to harm you.  I walk with you!”

To this very day, I continue to recall those words that God spoke to me in that beautiful little Villa in Cannes, France, “I walk with you!”  He certainly did!  God took me on an amazing adventure to show His love for me and to teach me that I am never alone if I allow Him to lead.  I walked all over Cannes and Old City Cannes during my stay.  I took a ferry across the water to see where the Man In The Iron Mask was kept imprisoned.  There I stood in another cell where three pastors were chained for preaching the Gospel.  There they died, but their testimony and courage still speaks loudly to many.

In facing my fears by boarding that flight to a world I had not experienced before, I got to see and taste some amazing things.  I ate fresh Mediterranean food.  I drove an hour away to eat real Italian pizza with friends.  Oh!  I also had fresh creamy Gelato – the real stuff!  I got to see a beautiful world, meet amazing people, and my taste buds got to experience foods that really do exist outside of a TV show or internet program called the Food Network.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control. Against such there is no law.” – Gal. 5:22-23

Whose company do you keep?  What fears are holding you back?  What are they holding you back from?

We can trade our fear of failure, fear of rejection, fear of the unfaithful others for a life of successes, acceptance, and the faithful lovers.  Seek God, find Him, and He will walk with you to your hearts desire.

Misery may love company but I’m choosing to walk with Love instead.  Love cast out (banishes and expels) all fear.  No room for misery here!

~Shannan

Uncompromisingly Walking With Him In 2012!

“The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy. I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.” – John 10:10

“Feed your fears, and your faith will starve.  Feed your faith, and your fears will!” ~ Max Lucado

5 Comments

  1. Jenny Thomas said,

    05/16/2012 at 11:50

    Shannon, Wow this came to me today right on time…it was as though a message from God was delievered to me. I have the same fears and doubts as you spoke of. I just wanted you to know God is using you to reach people all over. I sit here reading this in a little town in NC. Thank you for blessing me today with these words. I pray God continues to bless you as you follow His guidance and reach others. Much love in Christ. Jenny

  2. Bill Butler said,

    05/16/2012 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan,

    Thank you for sharing from your heart once again. I admire your transparency. Near the end of your article, you write about “trading”…
    I’ve thought about this and I like to encourage others this way:

    Every moment we live, we are trading it for something.
    What are you trading it for? is it worth it?

    • 05/23/2012 at 11:50

      Excellent Bill! We can learn a lot when we’re willing to ask ourselves the questions and answer honestly.

  3. 05/16/2012 at 11:50

    Shannan, thank you for this blog. I almost hate to admit it, but I have been miserable for a long time. I really like this quote you added: “Feed your fears, and your faith will starve. Feed your faith, and your fears will!” ~ Max Lucado
    I do have a lot of fears. That I guess will make a miserable person. So taking this blog and the quote to heart. If I feed my fears I will starve my faith, so now I will have to reverse things and feed my faith! 🙂 So glad I read this blog today.

    • 05/23/2012 at 11:50

      I really hope this helped Alethea. Most often we must choose first before the feelings come. Changing our mindset is a choice and a wrestling. It takes time to train our thoughts not to go straight to the negative, but realize who you are in Christ and believe what He says about you 😉 You are worth it!


Leave a Reply

