Make Me Feel Good!


Only having half the ingredients won’t make a tasty cake.  It only leaves you still in need of the other essential elements – AND HUNGRY.

I am grieved that many of us are so quick to compromise the truth of God in order not to be judgmental.  Being judgmental and choosing to live according to God’s Word are two different things.

We are not to compromise God’s Word for the mere comfort of others.  His Word and His statutes have not changed.  We are most certainly called to “love our neighbors as ourselves”, but love is not about being an enabler or making people comfortable in their wrong living.  Extending grace and being an enabler of wrong are not one in the same.  Sincere love must sometimes correct.

I’m burdened by the many pastors/evangelist who are now choosing to preach only half of the truth.  We have permitted atmospheres of comfort and tolerance for so long that we now have a spoiled society.  Had my parents not corrected me when I needed to be reprimanded, I could have been hit by a car because I felt like running out into the street to get the ball I was playing with.  Or, I could have been bitten by the dog that looked as cuddly as my favorite stuffed bear.  They knew and understood the dangers, and loved me enough to let me kick and scream when I didn’t get my way.  They set me free from a life-time of pains by allowing my little feelings to be hurt for a moment.  It wasn’t healthy for them to simply be my friend and make me happy, they needed to walk in the role of being my parents.  Whether we like it or not, we need our Pastors to shepherd us more than we need to hear another feel good message of why we’re ok.  I would not have been ok had I been allowed to run into the street to chase after my ball.

Often, our first instinct is to run after the fun bouncy toy that brings us pleasure, but we must stop to consider the consequence to our action.  The joy of playing with the ball is not wrong or dangerous if it’s done so in the confines of the yard, but if we go outside of the restricted area it can be deadly.  Our choices matter!  For every action there is a reaction.

If we are trying to win a popularity contest rather than being a true conduit of the Word, then we must ask ourselves why?  I did not like my parents when they grounded me or spanked my butt.  I certainly did say “spanked”.  It hurt too, and I am much better for it!  I got so angry at not hearing what I wanted to hear from them and for not being allowed to do whatever I felt like doing, that I even ran away from home.  I made it all the way to the end of the driveway, and then I was really mad when my mom offered me a quarter to call when I was ready to come home.  Ugh!  Saying “quarter to call” makes me feel old.  I don’t like that much either but that’s reality, I grew up with a pay phone on just about every corner.  Who likes being told no?  Who likes to feel the pain of disappointing another person?  Who likes when the spotlight exposes a less than desirable attribute within themselves?  Not many that I know, but we may never wrestle with ourselves to be a better us if we never have to feel these uncomfortable moments.

Isn’t the one accusing me of being judgmental also casting their own judgement on me?  Why is it ok for the mainstream media to accuse me of being intolerant when they’re the ones using their position to achieve their agenda?  All the while, I’m not being given the same platform but told I should keep my beliefs to myself so others do not feel bad.  What about the way they make me feel?  Maybe it’s not my lifestyle choice that’s making others feel bad, or judged, as much as it is their own internal struggle between right and wrong?  Jesus said He is the light of the world.*  When you shine a light on a dark room it exposes all that is in it, the good the bad and the ugly.  It’s not my job to clean up someone elses room, or be “judgmental”, only the owner of the room can decide what to do with the stuff inside.  It’s also not my fault if the flashlight I am caring with me exposes what they own.

“For the word of God is alive and powerful. It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow. It exposes our innermost thoughts and desires. Nothing in all creation is hidden from God. Everything is naked and exposed before His eyes, and He is the one to whom we are accountable.  So then, since we have a great High Priest who has entered heaven, Jesus the Son of God, let us hold firmly to what we believe.” – Hebrews 4:12-14

“It is sharper than the sharpest two-edged sword, cutting between soul and spirit, between joint and marrow.”  Ouch!  This tells me that choosing to live right is not always going to feel good, but it will produce good if allowed to.  Truthfully, living under the facade of being “non-judgmental” is more about keeping me comfortable.  It’s more about being self-centered than tolerant.

Sincere love is being truthful, not forceful like a dictator, but it is being willing to risk hurt feelings for a moment to potentially save another from something that could cause a life-time of pain.  If I see that you’re about to step on a bee, wouldn’t you want me to tell you?  I sure would want you to warn me.  If you tell me about the bee and I still choose to step anyway, then that’s my choice and I will have to feel its sting.  You are no longer responsible for where my foot lands, but I’m going to be really upset if I find out you knew and did not tell me.

Many of you are thinking to yourself, of course you would tell me about the bee!  Ok, what if I was cutting myself?  About to drive after drinking too much?  Getting ready to throw away my beautiful family by having an affair?  Would you offer counsel?  Would you at least ask me a few questions to try to make me think differently before I make such life altering decisions?  Or, would you justify your silence for fear of not wanting to appear judgmental or like you are prying?  Here is where I have come to the conclusion that when I choose to remain silent, it’s more about me staying likable rather than making someone else comfortable.

To warn someone of a potential danger, with the possibility of laying down my own life’s comfort, is not being judgmental – it’s love.

~Shannan

Uncompromisingly Walking WIth Him In 2012!

* John 8:12

What I Choose Today Really Does Matter To All

Numbers 25:1-18 (NLT)

12 Comments

  1. Mary Bartolo said,

    05/29/2012 at 11:50

    Wow…….so truthful and to the point!

    • 05/29/2012 at 11:50

      Thanks Mary! Sticking our fingers in our ears does not diminish truth.

  2. Dale Sherwood said,

    05/29/2012 at 11:50

    Right on, as usual, Shannan!

  3. Tracey Paris said,

    05/29/2012 at 11:50

    Wow again a message that hits home. You always have something to say at Gods perfect timing. I ask God to give me his words to speak that I may speak them in love not judgement. I can’t wait to see you in a few weeks and hug you. Your an amazing woman of God! Thank you!

    • 05/30/2012 at 11:50

      Awww, I love you my sweet friend! I am really looking forward to seeing you all too 🙂

  4. carol frost austin said,

    05/30/2012 at 11:50

    Shannan, I am so proud to be your mom, and I believe God is proud of you also. You are right, it is not always easy to warm people of the danger of their choices, but if we don’t warn them, then where is our love? It makes God happy to see us chose LOVE.

  5. Juliette Tuttobene said,

    05/30/2012 at 11:50

    This is an excellent call to be courageous!
    “…choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve…as for me and my household, we will serve the Lord.” Josh. 24:15
    I will…I WILL!

    Don’t stop, Shannan!

    • 05/30/2012 at 11:50

      Amen Juliette! I appreciate your sweet and courageous heart. Yes I Will!

  6. debi said,

    06/01/2012 at 11:50

    Well I love when God confirms the things he shares with his children…about a month or so ago I put as my status on fb that “when light enters a room it exposes everything in the room, the good the bad and the ugly”…I was overwhelmed with this for several reasons and things going on…God dropped that into my spirit, and then he gives you the same words! What an amazing God we have to confirm his word in our lives!….Great job Shannon.

  7. Jenny Thomas said,

    06/03/2012 at 11:50

    Shannon, Wow! I so get where you’re coming from! I totally agree with eveything you just said….I really needed to read this right at this moment…God already had it planned for HIs perfect timing….thank you for beng honest and faithful! 🙂


Leave a Reply

