The 2012 Presidential Election


A Message To The Church

For out of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaks.” – Luke 6:45

What a storm of mixed emotions and words have been flooding social media sites since The 2012 Presidential Election came to a close.

I’m not saying that I disagree with all that’s being said, but I’m also not going to be too quick to shout out a big, “Amen!” and join myself in agreement with all that sounds right.  Right words do not always come from a right heart.

As the church body, we are called to trust the Lord with all our heart, lean not on our own understanding, in all our ways we are to acknowledge Him, and He will direct our paths, (Proverbs 3:5-6).

We often make bold statements to profess our faith in God, yet most of our words are filled with complaints and finger-pointing.  We spend more time focused on the evil that appears to be taking over, and on those who have been blinded by it, rather than focusing our energy on worship and prayer to the One we say we believe can work things out for our good.  What we allow our mind to meditate on, good or evil, is what we are surrendering our praise to.

Many of us spend time criticizing the leaders we appoint more than we are willing to bend our knee in loving prayer for them.  We speak of the doom and gloom found in the book of Revelation more than we rejoice over the Revelation of Jesus Christ as our reigning King.  Again, what we allow our mind to meditate on, good or evil, is what we are surrendering our praise to.

Please do not hear me wrong.  There are times when we must not remain silent over the wrongs being committed.  There is such a thing as absolute truth and that truth must be voiced.  Our stand must be strong and fearless, but we must first open our own heart for God to freely purge whatever wrong thinking, fears, and prejudices that have taken root.  God must be allowed to uproot those things that sway our words away from His truth to our own opinion.

Before I speak out-loud, it would be wise for me to ask myself a series of questions.  Questions like, What do I spend most of my time doing?  Do I allow worry to reside in my mind and heart more often than faith?  Do I automatically voice doubt and the worst case outcome before I rest on the promises of God?  Or, am I quick to throw my hands in the air and speak a tragic end over a person or situation, because by all human accounts, it all seems hopeless?  I think the first question I should ask myself is, what is the motive of my heart?

“The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked;  Who can know it?”  – Jeremiah 17:9

Is this the state of my heart as I ring out a message?  Is it deceptive?  Or, am I sincerely speaking from a heart that is being transformed by God?  If there is a selfish agenda, other than Christ being glorified, then I must press pause on my words until I align my heart with the heart of God.  Only then shall my lips move.

God is just and evil will pay.  God will, in His time, right all the wrongs done, but first He extends His grace.  In His measureless love He pursues us; the lost, the broken – mankind.  He calls to the earth with a message of hope, and most often He uses us to deliver that message.

If worry wins over faith, and doubt over belief, who will be willing or able to proclaim hope to the nations?  If we find ourselves depressed and anxious over the 2012 election outcome, then where has our faith been placed?  If our attitude this week has been to throw our hands in the air as words of detest and hate for those who have been voted into office ring in our conversations, then we must honestly search our own hearts.  Where do I place my trust?  In men or God?  To constantly speak ill words of hopelessness, is to surrender my praise to the author of destruction.  By the way, he delights when we do this.

-I do believe that our nation is morally on the wrong path.

-I do fear what might happen to America the Beautiful if it’s people continue to ask God to step aside in order to build its own self-filled altars to worship.

-I do believe a house divided cannot stand.

BUT!

-I do believe The King of all creation is more mighty than the Prince of Darkness.

-I do believe that if we humble ourselves, turn away from evil, pray, and seek God, we will see our land healed.

-I do believe God is able to unite us once again.

I wonder what might happen if we reverse our energy’s?  What do you think the outcome could be in our nation if we chose to pray for its salvation more than we speak of its evil?  What if we begin to call out the names of those in leadership, laying them before God in prayer, rather than writing them off as hopeless and condemning them to hell with our words of doubt?  What might God do?  Is God still big enough?  Strong enough?  Loving enough?  Can He still take a hardened heart and replace it with a heart of flesh?  Do we as the body of Christ really believe that He is in control and able?

My resolution, for November 2012, is to meditate on the God I say I believe in.  I choose to allow my heart to rest in His promises.  I choose to trust that He hears my prayers and will equip me for whatever lies ahead.  I choose to meditate on the One who makes streams in the desert.  I choose to surrender my praise to Christ alone.  He alone is my hope and salvation!

“What we allow our mind to meditate on, good or evil, is what we are surrendering our praise to.”

Keep on praying and keep believing!

Rejoicing in hope, patient in tribulation, continuing steadfastly in prayer.” – Romans 12:12

~Shannan

Uncompromisingly Walking With Him in 2012

“Jesus replied, “What is impossible with man is possible with God.” -Luke 18:27

(Mark 12:31)

2 Comments

  1. Gary said,

    11/09/2012 at 11:50

    It has been a somewhat upsetting few days for me. Thank you for writing this truth. Well said. Your words have helped me re-focus.

  2. Juliette said,

    11/11/2012 at 11:50

    There was such a clear cut moral decision to be made by the American people on Tuesday. I have sorrow over the state of America’s heart. I honestly didn’t realize how far we have gone until now. I am making some changes in my own life. I want to look in the mirror and be confident before God that I am not part of the problem but part of the solution. I totally agree with all that you said here. Thank you.


Leave a Reply

