Are You Ready To Leave Familiar?


He's Making All Things New

Picture the place where the seed was laid.  The place where the enemy of your soul told you that you are any less than a beautiful masterpiece with great purpose.  Now see that God has hold of that weed and is ready to uproot it.

Are you ready to let go of familiar?

The uprooting process will be painful for a moment, but what God wants to plant in its place is radiant.  The pain will be brief, like a surgical procedure, but beyond it is a life filled with laughter.

Meditate on the moment the lie was planted.

Acknowledge the pain and why your reaction was helpful to you as a child.  You did your best to get through that time and the coping mechanism helped you to survive.

But now that reaction has become destructive as an adult.  The walls you’ve built around your heart not only keep people from harming you further, but they also keep you from the blessings God so longs to give to you now.

Let God transform your mind as He has your heart.  Let Him love you.

Now let Him be the first to dance with you in your new season of absolute freedom as He hands you your heart’s desire.

Picture the place where the seed was laid.  Now picture it never taking root.

God Redeems!  He can make it better than it was before the painful season.

Are you ready to leave familiar?

~Shannan

Living Forward and Loving Deeper – 2013

Letting God

4 Comments

  1. Elaine Witts said,

    10/29/2013 at 11:50

    Thank you, Shannan. I am in a “new” season; not sure what is going to “bloom” but I know that God does. Being patient is hard for me and so I just keep reminding myself that “God is the author of my story; and the end will be good”. I hope you, too, are able to envision “new beginnings” — you are so vibrant and beautiful and God-filled. Hugs. xo

    • 10/29/2013 at 11:50

      I think we are in the same transition, Elaine. I know God is at work and the season is new, but that knowing before being able to grab hold of the tangible is a further stretching of our faith. “God is the author of my story; and the end will be good.” Well said!

      Thank you for your sweet words. Your compliments cause me to pause and thank God for His presence. ((HUGS)) right back at ya!

  2. Lauren said,

    10/29/2013 at 11:50

    Thank you Shannan. This is timely and exactly what I needed to be reminded of this week. It is a blessing to know you . . . you are filled with such beautiful Light.

  3. Juliette Tuttobene said,

    10/31/2013 at 11:50

    I’ve been realizing this in a real way. As a child I thought real love was mixed with lies and unfaithfulness. But now I see things as an adult, a believer in the Truth. Jesus is melting away the wrong thinking. I am understanding what real Love is. Leaving the familiar has been a process. It is worth all the pain and effort. I am understanding God’s real, infinite Love like never before.
    Shannon, you encouraged me greatly today.
    Thank you!


Leave a Reply

