The President’s Speech – 2014


http://www.foxnews.com/live-coverage/2014-state-union-address

STATE OF THE UNION

I am burdened to hear how so many chose to purposefully tune out from the President’s speech last night, simply because they don’t want to deal anymore.  To turn off, tune out, and don’t look, does not mean that it, whatever the “it” is, does not exist.

When I go to the doctor and have to have a needle stuck in my body, I cannot look at it.  To look or not to look, the reality of the needle still remains.  I’m still going to feel the sting of it.  A needle is uncomfortable, but if I refuse it now I may feel a much deeper pain later by not finding out what information that small sting will expose.  By facing the needle now, the lessor sting, I may spare myself from a deadly outcome later.

IGNORANCE IS NOT BLISS

&

for the professing Christian, it’s not Christlike.

God is not uninterested in what’s happening in our government.  He calls us to pray for those in leadership and to fight for what is right.  We cannot do this if we refuse to engage and learn in what’s going on in the world around us.  With that being said let me make myself very clear here, I am fully against any form of ignorant hateful banter or off-color jokes from either side.  So please, let’s think before we speak.  Am I one of the so called “uptight”?  Possibly, but I have never felt so compelled and burdened to pray for our nation as I do now.  There’s a silent war happening, and because it’s silent were not losing our freedom we’re giving it away.

“So wherever and whenever I can take steps without legislation… that’s what I’m going to do.”*  In my opinion, there should have been no applause from either party at this comment.

To turn off, tune out, and don’t look, does not mean that it does not exist.  Try this mindset on for size with your child as they’re about to run out into the street, and see what happens.  That’s right!  What a crazy thought!  The same will happen to our great nation if we continue not to engage.  I am proud to be an American, but I refuse to be so arrogant to think that we are above a great fall.

To think that what’s happening in the middle east cannot happen here is pure arrogance.  After all, King Nebuchadnezzar, Sodom and Gomorrah, the great indestructible city of Tyre thought the same.

Ignorance and arrogance are never bliss.

Please hear me when I say, I’m also not for living in fear.  God is my source not the government.  That does not mean I live in a world of make-believe where all the things that bore me, confuse me, or simply rock my happy boat can be ignored.

This is not written to convince someone of which party to support.  I have red and blue friends.  This is written in hopes that more will choose to pay attention and engage in listening and learning, and then get out and vote.  If you don’t, then you do not have a right to voice an opinion when things don’t go the way you think they should.

Just some thoughts and opinions of this free American.

~Shannan

PS.  I want to say thank you to all of our soldiers, both home and abroad, who fight for our freedom.  I have not forgotten that this freedom has come at a great price.  I am grateful, and I pray for you.  You are the true leaders of this nation.  THANK YOU!

* Full comment, “So wherever and whenever I can take steps without legislation to expand opportunity for more American families, that’s what I’m going to do.”. – President Obama

2 Comments

  1. toddaoney said,

    01/29/2014 at 11:50

    Well, I got my first chuckle before ever reading your blog. Some of your tags alone are “priceless” Tags: a world of make-believe, IGNORANCE IS NOT BLISS, King Nebuchadnezzar, professing Christian, Sodom and Gomorrah, etc. They helped entice me to read ‘it”…

    Anyways, i like your facing the needle analogy and that alone could be a future blog for me to borrow, lol. More in the area of doing our due diligence about vaccinations and why only one of our five kids got vaccinations. Sadly, we discovered after baby #3 that Austin is the only one with neurological problems and high functioning autism :/. Haven’t come to a final conclusion whether or not i believe it was the main culprit but I’m pretty sure “it” may have been one of them.

    Ok, back to Bliss… I agree that we are under a silent war, and that’s ironically amplified when we tune “it” out and stop engaging in the battle for our countries continued freedoms. And yes, when we ignore, we lose our power of opinion and respect. I have red and blue friends too and when i posted the GOP response from Cathy, i got some negative feedback from a few in private messages. I suppose that’s the price of standing for something. I want everyone to “like” me but there is really only one like that ultimately counts so i press on with blinders to please my audience of One.

    And yes, let’s never forget to continue to proudly pray for all branches of our military that serve us and keep us free.

    ~Todd

  2. Chris Adsit said,

    01/29/2014 at 11:50

    Hear, hear, Shannon! What you expressed here needs to be shouted from the rooftops! We can’t remain passive. It CAN happen here!


Leave a Reply

