Why Did He Have To Make It Such A Long Night?


Why did he have to make it such a long night?

A Long Night! Why did the small storm scare Coady so much that he shook uncontrollably for hours? Why did he not trust me when I tried to assure him of his safety?  I knew the storm would not touch us. Why did he insist on pacing the floors non-stop?  He cried and his small body trembled, so much so that I was certain he would throw up the treats I gave him just hours before.  I gave them to him because I love him.  Did he forget? My sweet little dog did not trust me and that broke my heart!  I love him dearly and would protect him with my very life, yet he refused to rest in my sheltering embrace.  Now he is exhausted and has little strength for this new day.  Why?

Why?

Why do we trust God so little when He’s loved us so tenderly?  Why do we insist on fearing the storms instead of trusting the One who commands the winds? My heart was saddened for Coady.  He could have allowed me to tuck him under my arms until the rains ceased, but even though fear gripped him last night, I still love him and comfort him today.  My love has not changed, and my will for his safety and good remains.

How Much More Is God’s Love For Us?

“The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases; His mercies never come to an end; they are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.”  – Lam. 3:22-23

We may not have been able to rest through the wind and rain yesterday, but God’s love still holds us today.   ~ Shannan

Sleepy Coady

Sleepy Coady

 

6 Comments

  1. Joe Loesch said,

    04/25/2014 at 11:50

    He looks worn out. Sofie was the same way. You’re a good momma.

    • 04/28/2014 at 11:50

      Joe, He was so tired that I had to go get him out of bed. He usually follows me the moment I wake up, but 30 minutes later he was still curled up in the covers. I am glad this post did not scare you and Lori from keeping watch over Coady for me!

  2. Mary Bartolo said,

    04/25/2014 at 11:50

    Very timely and well expressed message! And Coady is adorable in his little bed xoxo

  3. 04/25/2014 at 11:50

    So true. God teaches us so much through our four legged family members: }

    • 04/28/2014 at 11:50

      He sure does, Lori! I’ve learned so many lessons about God and myself through Coady.


Leave a Reply

