Telling What Really Happened In Berkeley County, SC.


Be sure to read the Update at the close of this blog.

Please keep in mind when reading this, I am not anti-law enforcement.  On the contrary, I feel law enforcement who operate with corrupt and ill intentions tarnish the reputations of the many, many, many good police officers who put their lives on the line each and every day to protect citizens in their communities.  I feel the actions of the Berkeley County Sheriff’s Department were reprehensible during the investigation of my husband’s death, which is why I chose to interview Mr. Brian Adams myself to determine if he was a candidate worthy my endorsement and deserving of holding the esteemed office of Sheriff.  Not only have I interviewed Mr. Adams, but I traveled to South Carolina to personally meet him, his lovely wife Michelle and their beautiful children.  And, I also met his amazing 96-year-old grandmother!  I can tell you first hand that Mr. Adams is genuine and sincere and WILL RESTORE RIGHTEOUSNESS TO THE BERKELEY COUNTY SHERIFF’S DEPARTMENT.

Brian Adams For Sheriff
I have been asked by many to finally break my silence about the details of the investigation into Warren’s death.  I took many notes during the ordeal of the investigation and trial.  Until now, I have only shared these details with a few close friends and family.  Today – on the eve of the election – in support of Mr. Adams and in honor of Warren, I am choosing to share these details with the world.
God Bless and Love in Support of Brian Adams and in Memory of Warren,
Shannan

The Investigation of the Death Of Warren Parker – Shannan Parker’s Notes

– Warren Parker was tragically killed when a truck struck him and his tour bus, pinning him between the truck and bus, on January 8, 2006. He was helping direct his tour bus into a church parking lot.

– According to our bus driver, Brandt White, the driver of the truck which struck Warren and the bus (later identified as Timothy Baker, 33, of Goose Creek, SC), got out of his truck, looked down at Warren, looked White straight in the eyes, and fled the scene. Mr. White, in his own words, later recalled the actions of the officers who arrived onto the scene: “Shortly after the crash occurred the Berkeley County Sheriff’s Department arrived on the scene. Upon the arrival of the police I requested that they give some assistance to Warren at which time I was told that they could not give any assistance. The police said, “We cannot touch him. ” I then insisted that they help him and again I was told that the BCSD could not help Warren. I then was forced to stand helplessly as Warren lay bleeding in the street. Although one police officer thought to tell me “I think I heard him breath, “not much reassurance. The traffic in the area became heavy do to part of the road being blocked, I then spoke to the police supervisor and asked if somebody could direct the traffic then the supervisor said, “I’m trying to get my guys to do their job.” There were police officers standing around talking with each other, and still no one tried to help Warren. It seemed like total chaos until the State Police arrived on the scene. It was not until the fire department and the EMT unit arrived on the scene that any assistance was given. Warren was then worked on at the scene and then transported to the hospital.

– The Berkeley County Sheriff’s officers laid a white sheet over Warren’s blood for us to step out of the bus.  Brandt refused to allow his wife Angie and I to get off the bus until he had the officers get a proper tarp – protecting us from walking on the blood soaked sheet and seeing the full horror of the scene.

– The next day an officer came to the house where we were staying and had our driver look at a photocopy of a line up to see if the man was there. Our driver, Brandt White, asked the officer if the pictures were old photos and the officer responded “YES”.  Brandt told the officer he wanted a live line up the next morning with the person who they suspected committed the crime.  The officer said that “the prosecutor doesn’t like to come in on his day off” but, since we were leaving town to bury Warren, they would have it by noon the next day at the latest. At eleven am the next day we called to find out what was happening and they informed us the officer had not even put the request in. We had to leave town to bury my husband! The night before we left, which was three days after the accident, we asked about the truck that struck Warren and what was being done to obtain evidence from it.  We asked if they had fingerprinted it seeing as the man suspected already had a criminal record. They had NOT.  We asked if it should have been done.  The answer, “YES!”  We asked why had it not been done.  The answer, “I don’t know.”  We were told they suspected they knew who the man was but they didn’t have enough evidence to pick him up.  Fingerprinting the truck seemed logical to us!

– The Berkeley County Victim’s Advocate office made no attempt to contact me.  In fact, I have had to hire my own attorney, Mr. John West, to oversee the investigation.

– Mr. West indicated to me that Mr. Baker and his attorney have made no attempt to “make right”, or even cooperate in the matters regarding Warren’s death.  If this had been done… if Mr. Baker were seeking help for his alleged alcohol problem, or made some sort of recompense for his actions, then there would be some lead way to extend grace to Mr. Baker and perhaps even petition the court to extend its mercy on him.  However, Mr. Baker’s actions, in my opinion, do not indicate any repentance. Therefore, I am petitioning for Mr. Baker to be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law so he is taken off of the streets for a very long time and unable to hurt anyone else.

– On December 19th , Mr. West and I met with Berkeley County Solicitor Blair Jennings and one of his investigators.  During this meeting, Mr. Jennings indicated that he was going to only pursue a charge of “leaving the scene of an accident with a fatality”.  Mr. Jennings indicated he had a videotape of Mr. Baker at a bar prior to the accident. I have expressed my desire to have Mr. Baker charged with DUI and manslaughter as well.  After speaking with Mr. Jennings, I found much of Mr. Jenning’s account to differ from what I have been told all along by the Berkeley County Sheriffs Office. For instance, the Berkeley County Sheriff’s Office led me to believe that a live “line-up” could be put together.  Mr. Jennings indicated that live line-ups only exist on television and that Berkeley County had not conducted one in over 10 years.  I was told by Berkeley County Sheriffs Office that they knew who the suspect was and that he had a long track record of alcohol offenses.  Mr. Jennings indicated that Baker had only previously been arrested on credit card fraud.

– It was discovered during the civil trial that Mr. Baker had been dishonorably discharged from the Navy with 11 others for possession of cocaine with the intent to sell years before he killed Warren.  It also came out in the civil trial that the police had found Mr. Baker’s wallet the night of the accident as he had left it in the truck.  The whole investigation was a joke in my opinion.  Mr. Baker sat with what I interpreted to be a “who cares” attitude and could not even tell me the name of the man he killed.  I felt he knew he was walking away free.

– Despite all of the conflicting stories, Mr. Jennings indicated that he has spent more time on this case than many of his others, including murders. He indicated that he spent an entire week on this case. Though it had been almost a year, we were still waiting for the bar video to be analyzed… according the solicitor’s investigator, there is a long line of work for the one analyzer in the county. Rather than pushing it through, the investigator indicated that it would be better if they take this gentleman to lunch at “Arby’s” or somewhere so he spends all night doing the job right.  (“They have to bribe him?” – SP)

– Mr. Jennings indicated that Mr. Baker’s friends admitted to using marijuana the night of Warren’s death, but they “could not remember” if Mr. Baker used it or not. These witnesses were not charged, although they did admit to using illegal substances.

– There was a K-9 unit sent out the night of the accident that led the officers to where Mr. Baker was.  Mr. Baker’s own wife informed officers to his whereabouts.  Mr. Jennings response, “Don’t pick him up.  We don’t have enough evidence.”  (“Really?  You have the weapon, the truck.  You have the blood of the man who was driving the truck, and his fingerprints, and now we know that dogs led them to him AND YOU HAD HIS WALLET!”  My question, “Why are you protecting him?“)

– Four witness saw Mr. Baker violating the terms of his bond by being in a bar drinking, and Mr. Jennings chose to do nothing about it.

– The one news reporter who was asking the hard questions quickly disappeared, and the others refused to ask questions.

The “Trial”

Tim Baker faced up to 25 years in prison.  He was sentenced to 6 years suspended to 2 years probation.  His license was also suspended but they lifted the suspension early.  He spent a total of 12 hours in jail, long enough to be processed and released.

Berkeley County put me through 3 years of this heartache, and, in my opinion, had no intention of doing right.  Please keep in mind that some of the current candidates for Sheriff were senior officers at the department during this time and chose to do nothing. I had no allies within the system.  The people of Berkeley County deserve better.  They deserve to feel safe and free from over 20 years worth of oppression from the old regime.  IT’S TIME SOMEONE TELLS THE TRUTH.

I am praying for Mr. Adams and ask that you please do the same.  He needs all the prayers he can get as citizens hit the polls on Tuesday, April 21st!!  I will let you know the election results as soon as I get them.

~Shannan

UPDATE, (Tuesday evening, April 21 ‘2015)

Click here for the unofficial results and update for what’s next.

24 Comments

  1. Chuck Taylor said,

    04/20/2015 at 11:50

    Great job Shannan! Praying for you as well, see you soon for a victory party!!

  2. Deborah McNeely said,

    04/20/2015 at 11:50

    Can you tell us who the senior officers were that you mentioned were with the BCSO at the time of the accident and are candidates for Sheriff now?

    • 04/21/2015 at 11:50

      Deborah, I believe Mr. Driggers was a Major at the time and Mr. Ollic was Captain of Investigations.

      • Deborah said,

        04/21/2015 at 11:50

        I am so sorry for your loss. I believe I remember this since it was likely at the Church of the Nazarene on Redbank Road and I live only a few blocks away. May God bless you as you go forward.

      • 04/21/2015 at 11:50

        Thank you Deborah. God bless all the kind people in Berkeley County – you are many!

  3. Carole b starr said,

    04/21/2015 at 11:50

    It is horrible how criminals keep getting away. I JUST gave up the idea of Law School, (I am too old) but this speaks to me of someone who should WORK to CHANGE these laws! SUCH AS prior convictions “not being allowed” REALLY?? I had a drunk driver destroy my car in the 70’s, and sent several to the hospital – my back was never the same – Mother sent me a newspaper ad whereby that same drunk driver – THIRTY YEARS LATER was still making the newspaper with DUI arrests. THIS ALSO NEEDS TO BE CHANGED. Shannon – good luck and God Bless getting the election results the county obviously NEEDS! I wish you would also consider Nashville School of Law – you can go PART TIME and TUITION IS ONLY $5,600!!!! and you could endeavor to change some of this madness!!! I will pray for your success dear.

    • 04/21/2015 at 11:50

      I was 17 years old and a passenger in a car that was sandwiched between two trucks. The driver had an open Budweiser in his truck and hit as while we sat at a red traffic light. He was going 45 mph. I’m still fighting the pain from that night. That is certainly something to pray about, but if I get to be a wife and mom that would be really awesome! God will lead me, just as He has for this 😉

  4. 04/21/2015 at 11:50

    Warren would be so proud of you

  5. 04/21/2015 at 11:50

    you have been to hell and back over undertrained officers with no bereavement training.CHANGE this Shannon,you can do it,My heart really goes out to you but I Know if anyone could change this you will
    ,Please Berkely COUNTY SHOW YOUR SUPPORT

    • 04/21/2015 at 11:50

      You are kind, Hilary. Thank you. Many don’t realize that Warren was in law enforcement before he was in music. I believe it was 3 Canadian officers that lined his funeral procession in full attire. They stood in solute of him all the way to his burial place. HOW GOOD IS GOD to honor him this way!

      I cannot change this, but when all of us stand together for truth God will part the raging sea.

  6. Mark said,

    04/21/2015 at 11:50

    I had already determined NOT to vote for any current or former Berkley County deputies/emplyees that were on the ballot. So sorry for your loss and all your trials. Thanks for sharing your story.

    I have narrowed down the candidates to my own short list and Brian is still on it with a couple of others. I have a few hours to make my final decision. I did vote for Brian in the last primary.

    • 04/21/2015 at 11:50

      Thanks Mark! I’m glad you’ve been doing your homework to make an educated decision. I greatly appreciate Brian and his team. If you choose to vote for Brian he will work hard for all the people, and with all the people. THANK YOU FOR VOTING TODAY – for exercising your freedom!

      • Mark said,

        04/21/2015 at 11:50

        I cast my ballot for Brian Adams about an hour ago. I don’t know him personally, but I like what I have heard. Even a former North Charleston police officer at my wife’s work said he was voting for Brian because he had guts and ran against DeWitt last time when everyone else stayed home. Now that DeWitts gone all these others have come out of the woodwork. lol

        Some of my neighbors are supporters of his, so between them and your post here it tipped the scales for me.

      • 04/21/2015 at 11:50

        THANK YOU!!! He has a lot of work ahead of him, but he wants to work hard and serve you all with integrity. He also welcomes your thoughts and ideas. Berkeley County is not a possession of one man or one regime. It belongs to all the law abiding citizens. My prayer will continue for your area.

  7. Myles Holmes said,

    04/22/2015 at 11:50

    Unbelievable, shocking and sad.

  8. Cheryl Barnett said,

    04/27/2015 at 11:50

    This has to be heartbreaking. I don’t know you or Warren personally but, saw you perform at our church in Sylacauga, AL one time and for some reason God has always had you and Warren on my heart. Prayers for you sweet one.

    • 04/29/2015 at 11:50

      Thank you Cheryl. I have great memories from our Alabama trips. Thank you for your continued prayers. If you haven’t already, I hope you’ll subscribe to my blog and stay in touch.

  9. bamanofmars said,

    05/05/2015 at 11:50

    I have also been a victim of the BCSO and have come to realize that there is no justice now. I watched them perjure themselves and walk right out of court. I was the only actual witness and was never called to testify so they continue to rule with intimidation as the SC Supreme court Judge Donald Beatty said. This won’t happen with Brian at the helm. Now to vote in a solicitor that will follow the law in 2016.

  10. 05/07/2015 at 11:50

    […] Sunday in April I was finally able to share the truth of what really happened in Berkeley County, SC in regards to the death of my husband.  However, what was most precious to me was the fact […]

  11. Weed Wacker said,

    06/26/2015 at 11:50

    Hi Shannan,

    Rest assured ma’am, we prey of Berkeley County corruption, and concerned citizen observers remain engaged in this war.

    We intend to motivate and energize the beaten down and absentee local electorate.

    We intend to raise awareness of the local good ole boy adult bully criminals (self proclaimed “strong leaders”.. LOL) to incoming job creators and their employees.

    We intend to restore honor and integrity to law enforcement, and expose the current Berkeley County FRAUD ENFORCEMENT.

    Some of us whose reputations and retirement savings have been consumed by BC government organized crime for their personal financial gain, will now stand, rise, and give our lives to expose the Berkeley County secret society cults who vow to perjure themselves, and conceal each others crimes. Said treasonous cults are responsible for the deception and corruption that has silenced justice in this acutely and recklessly ill government.

    Never trust a freemason or Shriner in Berkeley County. These whores victimize their own children to put money in their pocket.

    Be blessed ma’am. We watchmen have your back. And we vow to take America back!

    • 07/30/2015 at 11:50

      Thank You! I’d be curious to know if a certain few people are members of the freemasons, but God knows.

      • bamanofmars said,

        07/31/2015 at 11:50

        I am a member of ” Concerned Voters of Berkeley County ” and I would suggest you follow it because we are the ones that are going to take this county back from the criminals in office. I hope your doing well and stay in touch so I can give you the info as we get it.

  12. 04/19/2016 at 11:50

    […] in my arms.  There was a whisper that road on her breathless sobs as she expressed her sorrow for her husband’s actions.  In that moment I remembered the gold ring, and our imperfect perfect love.  As I reminisced, I […]


Leave a Reply

