When A Battle Is Lost


 
 
“This is what the Lord says to you: “Do not be afraid or discouraged because of this vast army.  For the battle is not yours, but God’s.” – 2 Chron. 20:15

She Speaks Out

God is good and right!

On April 19, 2015, God led me to speak for the sweet people of South Carolina.  He had me lend my voice on the side of right and justice.  I got to stand shoulder to shoulder with Brian Adam’s and his family as he ran in the race for the next Sheriff of Berkeley County.  The outcome was not what I had hoped it would be – he missed the win by only a few hundred votes – but I have no regrets and do not at all feel that Brian Adams​ and his team “lost” the race.  It took huge courage for the Adams team to step forward and stand up against the face of so much injustice.  They were willing to risk all to tell the truth.  That in itself is a huge win!  They also united a community of amazing people who felt they had no voice for so long. This strong team allowed the oppressed to have a voice.

That Sunday in April I was finally able to share the truth of what really happened in Berkeley County, SC in regards to the death of my husband.  However, what was most precious to me was the fact that I got to hug others who’ve never had the opportunities I’ve had to share their own stories.  Living in an area that has been controlled for years by a corrupt regime, it’s hard to know who can be trusted.  Silence had become the native tongue for many – until now.  I had the amazing privilege to be a microphone for others who, some for the first time, needed to unlock a painful place and let out a poison that had silenced them for so, so long.  Feelings of hopelessness had gripped them and fear seemed to have a vice around their tongues, but on April 19, 2015, people began to open up and let the light of truth swallow up the darkness.  When the light is allowed to shine, darkness can no longer reign.

Of course I’m disappointed in the outcome of the race for Sheriff, but I am not in despair.  My hope does not rest in man’s decisions.  My hope is in Christ alone, therefore I am joy-filled today.  God told me years ago, “Just as Able’s blood cried out from the ground, so does Warren’s, and I will vindicate.”  He sees and knows all and already has a plan in place.  Who am I to question or dictate how He unfolds His promise?  My only job is to follow His leading.  God led me to speak on the behalf of the sweet people of South Carolina, and now, He is calling me forward from here.

It appears a battle was lost on May 5th when the number of votes in the runoff election were not enough to put Brian Adams in office, but we never lose when we walked when God says to walk.  Obedience is always a win, even if it doesn’t look that way at first.  I think the people of Berkeley County have a great start in the right direction, and I urge them all to keep standing for truth and speaking out on its behalf.  They are worth it and God is their shield and protector.

Even if all seems lost, nothing is lost when we follow Truth.  There is a much bigger picture that is unfolding.  We cannot stop running and fighting on the side of right when a battle is lost.  Life is the race, and we all must run it to the end.  It is there that God “will vindicate” and all will make perfect sense.

When you know you’ve done all you can possibly do, you can hold your head high no matter the outcome.  God is good and right in all things.  He is sovereign.  Keep moving forward!

~Shannan
 
I will resume my normal blog posts in the coming days.  I’m so excited to talk with you about love – “as the last petal falls…”!

2 Comments

  1. Robert Taylor said,

    05/07/2015 at 11:50

    Love it!

  2. Colleen said,

    05/07/2015 at 11:50

    This is for you, Brian Adam’s and all the righteous people of Berkeley County, SC….. Psalms 34: 15-19

    “The Eyes of The Lord are on the righteous, and His ears are attentive to their cry; but the face of The Lord is against those who do evil, to blot out their name from the earth.
    The righteous cry out, and The Lord hears them; he delivers them from all their troubles .
    The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crusted in spirit.
    The righteous person may have many troubles; but The Lord delivers him from them all.”

    The Father knows all. Continue to pray for the Spirit of truth to be revealed.

    Blessings my friend!!!

    Much Love,

    Colleen


Leave a Reply

